Wednesday, November 26, 2008

Double Your Pleasure


Book Title: Double Your Pleasure
Author: Mary Suzanne
Publisher: Romance Divine LLC
Publisher URL: http://www.romancedivine.com/
ISBN: 978-1-934446-32-4
Genre: M/F/M
Nymph Rating: 3 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs reviewer: Rose Nymph

In Double Your Pleasure, Jenny Logan is lost in the woods. Her car broke down on the nearby highway so she decided to get help. Although she hadn’t been in the area since leaving for college, she thought she knew these woods well. However, with darkness quickly descending and unfamiliar sounds filling her ears, she begins to panic, aware that no one will know to come looking for her. Nerves already frayed, a loud noise startles her and she bolts. Not knowing which direction she is headed and not being able to see the ground beneath her means it isn’t long before she loses her footing and tumbles to the floor, hitting her head on a rock. A brief flash of light blinds her momentarily before everything turns black…

She awakes in a strange bed and can’t remember a thing about how she got there. More worrying, she doesn’t recognize the face staring back at her in the mirror. Her thoughts are interrupted by the arrival of two males, identical twins Seth & Sam, into the room. She can’t remember a thing about herself but there’s no denying the feelings the twins stir within her. She couldn’t say no even if she wanted to and the twins make sure she doesn’t regret her decision but what happens when her memory returns?

The key here is the freedom Jenny experiences to explore her sexuality without fear, provided by her momentary loss of identity. It is a freedom I envied. The love scenes, while somewhat repetitive at times, were very satisfactory with the journey from strangers acting on lust to lovers caring for each other hinted at. I took pleasure in reading Double Your Pleasure but felt as though certain aspects could have been developed further.

Tuesday, November 25, 2008

Ghost of a Chance


Book Title: Ghost of a Chance
Author: Jade Falconer
Publisher: Phaze Books
Publisher URL: http://www.phaze.com/
ISBN: 978-1-59426-656-0
Genre: Gay Paranormal
Nymph Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs reviewer: Critter Nymph

Ryan has just inherited a title and castle he knew nothing about. Ready for a change, he heads for Scotland. Once he reaches the village where his castle is located, he finds himself stranded at the village train station. When he goes to the nearest pub to use the phone, he meets James, another American. Learning that Ryan has been stranded without a ride, James offers to give him a lift when his shift is over. Openly gay Ryan soon finds himself falling in love with the handsome bartender but rather than lose this new friendship, he keeps his feeling to himself. It isn’t until a nosy matchmaking ghost locks them in a closet that Ryan finds out James’ feelings for him are just as strong.

I enjoyed Jade Falconer’s Ghost of a Chance very much. James’ quiet personality balances out Ryan’s rather flamboyant ways nicely. Surrounded by a homophobic ghost, a matchmaking ghost, and a ghost wanting to make sure Ryan produces an heir so the family retains their title, as well as a nosy reporter, keeps their lives from becoming too quiet. This is a very entertaining read that I would recommend to any reader of the genre.

House of Scandal


Book Title: House of Scandal
Author: Jeanne Savory
Publisher: Cerridwen Press
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 978-1-41991-599-4
Genre: Traditional Regency Romance
Nymph Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Goddess Minx


Ms. Cecilia Burnside is in love with her long time friend Bertram and she wants to eventually marry him without forcing his hand. When he is accused of treason, she convinces her father that they need to be with the family to help in any way. She knows he is the only man for her and will have him whatever it takes her.

Bertram Huntington, Viscount Darling, wants to be somewhere else at the moment and is having a hard time accepting his confinement until he has been cleared of any wrong-doing. With his friends help, they keep him busy along with Cecilia who is staying very close to him. Now that he has realized that he truly loves her there is nothing that will stop them from marrying each other.

House of Scandal is the second book of the Cerridwen Cotillion was a fabulous story, taking me back to the regency era. From the beginning until the end of this book there was always something going on and I was very intrigued by the mysterious way everything was unfolding. The characters were fascinating, along with their personalities that enhanced each other. Just when I thought things were winding down, the adventure started all over again and there was still a mystery man whose name was not given. Jeanne Savory does a wonderful job with this story and I was very entertained by the actions, mostly of two ladies in particular. These ladies were very intelligent and helpful to those they knew.

Moving On


Book Title: Moving On
Author: Addison Albright
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerepress.com/
ISBN: N/A
Genre: M/M contemporary short story
Nymph Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs reviewer: Rose Nymph

Brandt loves Graeme with all his heart, always will and he knows Graeme feels the same way. They had 5 wonderful years together before circumstances out of their control intervened and now all Graeme and close friends Jason & John want is for Brandt to be happy. A Halloween party seems the perfect opportunity for Brandt to take the first step in rebuilding his life, supported by the people who love him the most. Mark, the hot guy clad in the purple pimp costume also seems more than willing to help but does Brandt have the courage to move on? Can Graeme find it in his heart to let him?

Moving On is a Halloween short that really delivers. Written from Graeme’s point of view, the sense of sadness at the situation is palpable. A heartbreaking situation dealt with sensitivity and maturity. However, the pursuit of happiness is a powerful incentive to move on and I was hooked from start to finish. Well-defined characters that elicited an immediate response and a satisfying ending leaves me with no option but to highly recommend this to any fan of the genre.

The Age Of Retribution


Book Title: The Age Of Retribution
Author: Jamie Craig
Publisher: Amber Allure
Publisher URL: http://www.amberquill.com/AmberAllure/
ISBN: 978-1-60272-408-2
Genre: Gay / Dark Fantasy / Vampire / BDSM
Nymph Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx


Gideon Keel is in the mood to celebrate. Emma is still missing but no longer presumed dead. Now that Jesse has returned to Chicago, Gideon has decided to celebrate with a private party at Sangre. Too bad Michelle didn’t get the memo, because she has just put a warrant out for Jesse’s arrest for kidnapping Dominique. Not to mention Foster, a powerful Guardian who still wants Jesse dead, has just arrived in Chicago ready to destroy Gideon’s young lover. Gideon and Jesse already had a great deal to work out with their relationship, and Michelle’s resentment of Gideon is still oozing puss like an infected wound. It will take everyone working as a team to bring Foster down.

Jamie Craig has been bringing action, suspense, and a fair amount of drama with previous installments of the Master Chronicles, and book eight of the series, The Age Of Retribution, is no exception to the rule. Jesse is coming to terms with his new powers, and trying to learn not to overstep boundaries. Michele even now fights dirty to get her way. Gideon’s focus is on Jesse’s happiness and safety. He knows Jesse’s strength is increasing, but being his protector for the past few years is a job Gideon has become accustomed to performing. They team up with JT and David in this installment. In addition, for those who wonder about David and JT’s relationship, an erotic scene shows explicitly how these men like to play. I believe our men are ready to discover who has taken their third. With Gideon involved, we should expect plenty of fighting, blood, and wreaking havoc on those who committed the crime.

Life or Something Scary Like That


Author: TC Blue
Publisher: Torquere Books
ISBN: 978-1-60370-323-9
Genre: Gay Contemporary
Nymph Rating: 3 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs reviewer: Caen Nymph


Jack’s life is on the up, he’s finally got his own apartment which he’ll be sharing with his best bud Paul. But when Paul tells him he’s moving in with his pregnant girlfriend instead, Jack’s party comes to a halt. But Paul has everything figured out; he gives the room to his girlfriend’s younger brother, instead.

Jack is feeling down, he’s stuck with a potential geeky guy - but when Cliff walks through his front door, Jack takes it all back. Cliff is big and beautiful and Jack just wants him, period. But with misunderstandings and fear, will these two figure out each other’s secret before it’s too late?

Life or Something Like That is such a wonderful title for this story. I’ve read many books in this industry and I have to admit, they do publish the oddest book titles at times. At the end of the tale I’m always thinking ‘So why did the author name their book this?’ So once I had finishing reading this tale, I could finally say ‘Yeah that fits.’ The reason why I requested this book is the theme of forbidden fruit. Jack’s best friend Paul decided to move into his long-time girlfriend’s place, which leaves Jack high and dry. But Paul makes it up to Jack by saying his girlfriend’s little brother (Cliff) would take the room. Thus the forbidden fruit theory: ‘I shall not mess with my best friend’s (soon-to-be) brother-in-law’. So I really liked the premise of the story there.

Jack is twenty-four and Cliff is twenty-one, so again another theme I adore because I’m in the same age as these guys, so I enjoy reading stories about people my own age. Overall I found Cliff to be quite interesting. The author describes him as being this big strapping guy but because he’s such a naïve character, he’s so appealing. His physical description and his personality are so different that he appealed to me much more. Jack is what I’d call ‘the nice guy character.’ He was sweet, a lot oblivious and was nice to those around him.

The author introduces supporting characters in the names of Ben, Paul and Melissa. Now these characters are very close to the main heroes. But the author chose to have the supporting characters their own point-of-view’s in this tale. Naturally I find that appealing, but for me the author’s tactic and voice didn’t work. So I found myself jarred every time one of the supporting characters would have their own bit in the story. However I hope the author writes a story for Ben (one day) because he’s someone I’d like to read again in the future.

The plot in itself was quite nicely built. The flow of the story was well-done and while there were quite a few surprises here and there, it just made the tale more enjoyable. However whilst the story was enjoyable, I didn’t feel this was any different from similar other stories I’ve read. It followed a set pattern that I’ve read a few times before, and I just wish the author took a more of a gamble with the tale. I also found the dialogue to be a little too simple. The angst, or the heartfelt ‘I love you’ - ‘I like you’ were quite empty. I didn’t find much emotion in those scenes. Lastly, I didn’t feel the characters actually spoke like men, which is a very subjective matter - because for someone else the heroes’ voices would have worked for them. But for me it didn’t really happen.

In conclusion, I enjoyed this tale. I think the author has a lot of potential here and think the author will continue to do much better with any other future releases.

I Never


Book Title: I Never
Author: Lena Matthews
Publisher: Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.ellorascave.com/
ISBN: 978-1- 41991-713-4
Genre: Menage a trios or More/Gay/Contemporary
Nymph Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Goddess Minx

Skylark is a person who has never had to work for anything in her life except the two men she loves. After Tripp left them a year ago with his hang ups there seemed like no way to reconcile their relationship. When she takes charge of the situation her results are more that she expected and happily take what the two men give her.

Gideon and Tripp have their own lives and were determined to stay away from each other as long as it took. At a friend’s party they all are given gifts for themselves sometimes two or three together and become angry at the attempts to reunite them.

I Never is the sequel to Seven Minutes in Heaven, both of which are in the Naughty Games series, and continues on with one trio in the group of friends. It was very interesting to find out about how they actually became involved with each other and the loving goes very deep for them. This is a story about friends from college into adulthood to live their lives as they see fit and this trio definitely had serious issues that kept them apart. These are strong-willed people who know what they want out of life and willing to sacrifice for the ones they love, which in my book says a whole lot for them. Lena Matthews has written a fabulous story of love that was strained by non-acceptance but the parties involved were finally coming to grips about their true feelings of their partners.

Cajun Magic


Book Title: Cajun Magic
Author: Dana Littlejohn
Publisher: Red Rose Publishing
Publisher URL: https://www.redrosepublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60435-105-7
Genre: Interracial/Multicultural, Paranormal
Nymph Rating: 3 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs reviewer: Silver Minx


Gerald Dixon is a wounded cop recovering in New Orleans from being shot while working. Before leaving to recover, he was asked to retire early. This means he is tired, confused and sore. Then he meets Margarita Malveaux.

Margarita is a ghost who died in the late 1800’s. She was murdered by voodoo and needs help to be set free. According to an old woman Gerald meets, he is the one that Margarita needs to be set free. Can he handle the challenges of setting Margarita free?

Cajun Magic was a surprisingly good story. The idea of a wounded cop who only believes the facts helping a ghost was something I haven’t read before. I liked the new twist on interracial romances. The only issues I had were it was sometimes hard to follow the story because there were things not explained. Other than that it was a good story. Good job!

The Buccaneer


Book Title: The Buccaneer
Author: Nia K. Foxx
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: http://www.loose-id.com/
ISBN: 978-1-59632-788-7
Genre: Multicultural Shape-Shifter Paranormal
Nymph Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amethyst Nymph


The phone was ringing off the hook, thanks to all the bill collectors who keep calling. Joi Jones needs money fast so she decides to take a two day job on a cruise. She would be serving food to people who were there to live out their sexual desires. Joi hoped this would be an easy job, so she was beyond shocked to realize that the handsome captain wanted her on the menu.

Ari Yngvar didn’t appreciate his sister trying to trick him into working on her sex cruise because she lost a bet. Just as he was about to tell her exactly what she could do with her captain’s job, Ari was stopped dead in his tracks by the glimpse of a new crew member. Now all Ari could think about was getting the sienna-skinned beauty in his bed as quickly as possible.

Joi was finding it difficult to fight her attraction to the Norse looking hunk, and impossible to avoid his advances. Ari knew that Joi was his mate and he was growing extremely frustrated with her attempts to avoid him. He was trying his best to give Joi time to adjust, but Ari could only take so much before he snapped. Having a she-male wolf on the ship trying to seduce him only made matters worse.

The Buccaneer is a hot read about lust at first sight. This couple had enough sparks to bring a dead man back to life. Joi didn’t stand a chance, once Ari made up his mind that she was his, but I sure enjoyed watching her trying to duck and dodge him. And the description of Dara, the female wolf, had me gasping in horror. I hope there is a follow-up story because I am dying to know what happens next. Nia K. Foxx delivered another must read.

Phantom Lovers - Watchkeeper


Book Title: Phantom Lovers - Watchkeeper
Author: Debra Glass
Publisher: Ellora's Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.ellorascave.com/
ISBN: 9781419917288
Genre: Paranormal
Nymph Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx


Gwendolyn Wyse wants to reignite the passion in her marriage. A romantic weekend in Charleston, South Carolina turns into anything but when her husband gives her divorce papers. He has an accident that leads to his death, and Gwen decides to use her knowledge to bring his spirit back from the dead. However, it isn’t Gwen’s cold-hearted husband who answers her call, but the ghost of the gentleman pirate – Stede Bonnet.

Stede has been in a state of limbo since dying, but his spirit hears Gwen’s call and cannot resist coming to her. Not ready to claim another wife, Stede prepares to leave Gwen until his nemesis delivers an ultimatum. They will need to work together for the sake of those they love.

Phantom Lovers – Watchkeeper brings a bit of Low Country folklore and superstition together creating a wonderful story. Stede is a pirate who lost his way until he met Gwen. Gwen had a painful past also, and it was a barrier against giving unconditional love and allowing her husband access to her deepest secrets. The time they spent together proved that love can heal all forms of hurt. Debra Glass presents a side of my home state that few get a chance to see, and I thoroughly enjoyed walking the streets of Charleston during Gwen and Stede’s adventure.

Covenant in Blood


Book Title: Covenant in Blood
Author: Ariel Tachna
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Publisher URL: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-935192-27-5
Genre: Fantasy/Sci-Fi/Paranormal M/M
Nymph Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

The war with the dark wizards is still raging, and the newly forged alliance between the good wizards and vampires is trying to turn the tide in their favor. The vampire-wizard pair made up of committed lovers Alain Magnier and Orlando St. Clair is by far, the most successful partnership formed. Many others are struggling to learn how to deal with their counterparts, while some are openly hostile and uncooperative, as they deal with misconceptions and resentments, often leading to arguments and dissention.

One man that’s determined his partnership be successful is Alain’s best friend, wizard Thierry Dumont. Despite the recent death of his long estranged wife, he finds himself drawn to his new partner vampire Sebastien Noyer, and they are soon devoted to keeping each other safe. But that’s not all, because each time Sebastien feeds, their bond strengthens, drawing the two ever closer together. It’s a bond Theirry doesn’t understand, as he’s never been interested in a man before, but he can’t deny their attraction, and he’s tired of being alone.

Covenant in Blood is the second release in Ariel Tachna’s four book series Partnership in Blood and this one takes up where the first left off. While the first book dealt mostly with the new relationship between Alain and Orlando, this equally well-written second installment branches out in numerous directions, touching on many different partnerships and the type of relationship each one experiences, whether good or bad. Unfortunately, most are not operating either smoothly or efficiently, and Ms. Tachna does a great job describing their problems and discords. She does an equally nice job in developing the relationships that do work, showing how they are growing and changing as the partners draw closer.

What I really liked was seeing more of the black wizards…who they are, what they want and to what lengths they’re willing to go to reach their goals. I also appreciated the introduction of one specific bad guy…a vampire known for his mercilessness. This particular vampire is one that you will love to hate and he’ll undoubtedly appear in the last two books, and I look forward to seeing what happens to him in the end. Something bad and painful, I hope!

Timeless


Book Title: Timeless
Author: C.B. Potts
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: http://torquerepress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60370-531-8
Genre: Contemporary
Nymph Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs reviewer: Rose Nymph

Timeless tells the story of Justin Howard; self-taught artist and slave to his talent. He puts his work before all else in life, a fact his best friend Darlene has certainly taken note of. It’s even been known for him to lose friends because of his art, so consuming is his passion. Everyone needs to pay the bills though and with an expensive talent, Justin sets up a stall at the local faire to cash in on the pet portrait market. It’s not what he wants to do but it pays the rent and lets the public see his work.

When Justin spots Wayne Ryers slowly headed toward his stall, he sends up a silent prayer of thanks. Bypassing the stalls more popular with the local clientele, Wayne seems drawn to Justin’s display. He sees something that cannot be ignored. He’s willing to point Justin in the right direction but Justin is uncertain, mainly due to the fact that he can’t stop dreaming about Wayne. It’s clear that Wayne is serious. He brings Justin back to the city to see Ryers gallery and introduces him to some very influential people. More importantly to Justin, his glimpse into Wayne’s life has solidified his feelings. He wants Wayne badly and is finally willing to accept his help but just what does Justin have to give back in return?

Well defined characters and a vivid backdrop, Timeless is about instant attraction that quickly turns to love. Both men fall quickly and I empathized with the fear created by the speed in which their emotions develop. Running parallel with their growing love is the relationship Justin has with his “other lover”; how the people in his life inspire him to paint, while at the same time acting as a tool for the author to develop Justin’s character. I finished reading this well-written piece with a real sense of optimism for their future. They realize that things will fall into place eventually as they learn more about each other. All they need is time.

Monday, November 24, 2008

Acacia II: Blindsided


Book Title: Acacia II: Blindsided
Author: L. Shannon
Publisher: Changeling Press
Publisher URL: http://www.changelingpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-59596-952-1
Genre: Futuristic, Paranormal
Nymph Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx


Dr. Blake is a high-ranking member of the Acacia Medical Division and the man Dash loves with a passion. Dash would do anything to protect his master Med Blake, and wishes he would stop thinking of him as the child rescued from a harsh existence. The discovery of donated tainted blood has everyone worried. If consumed, it is lethal enough to destroy the race of vampires. Will they discover a cure and the culprit before the colony is done in?

Acacia II: Blindsided is the second story in the Acacia series. Dash has grown into an intelligent, smart, and loving man. He has longed for Blake to look past his status as a slave and see him as a desirable potential lover. Blake has known Dash for so long, he walked around with blinders on when it came to his slave. But when they finally came off, Blake’s body knew whom it wanted. L. Shannon delivers suspense, mind-blowing sex, and true love in Acacia II: Blindsided.

Holding Her Own


Book Title: Holding Her Own
Author: Marie-Nicole Ryan
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 1-60504-068-1
Genre: Contemporary Romantic Suspense
Nymph Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

FBI Special Agent in Charge Caitlin Chaney is smart, sexy and dedicated…and she’s an accountant. She’s struggled for years to get out from under the shadow of her famous political father, who just happens to be the Secretary of the Interior. She believes in doing things strictly by the book so when she’s assigned Lead Agent in an important casino money-laundering case, she’s determined to do a job which will prove she’s earned her rank. When she finds out her undercover mission partner is Agent Jake LeFevre, who’s known for operating by his instincts…his gut feelings, and not by the rules, she wants to scream in frustration. She’s certain of one thing…Jake is a screw-up who could ruin not only her mission, but her career.

Jake is used to running an undercover mission his way, and when he meets his new by-the-book partner, Caitlin, who also happens to be in charge…well, he’s none too happy. He wants an experienced partner he can depend on, not an accountant with limited field experience and he isn’t counting one night of posing as a diplomat’s wife. Then when he discovers they will be acting as a newly married couple in a casino, he can’t believe his bad luck. Working with a beautiful, sexy woman who annoys and irritates him, and stuck in a gambling establishment when he’s had a gambling addiction in the past, is not what he wants to do. It’s not long after getting to New Orleans Jake discovers that the casino CFO is a woman he knew as a teenager, and he gets an unexpected complication that could change his life forever.

The first thing I’m going to say is that I loved Holding Her Own, Ms. Ryan’s sixth release. It’s a sexy and entertaining romantic suspense, and the sparks fly between Caitlin and Jake from the moment they are introduced, and not in a sexual way. These two are like oil and water…polar opposites in backgrounds, methods, attitudes, expectations and reputations. When they’re assigned an undercover mission posing as newlyweds, the two are nearly at each others throats. It was fun watching Jake and Caitlin grow slowly closer as they work to find a killer and expose the culprits behind a money-laundering operation. Ms. Ryan did a wonderful job in expressing the fears, desires and hurts of our characters, both personally and professionally. Caitlin’s disappointment in her father and Jake’s pain at the death of his adopted dad was particularly well done, showing them as real people with normal, every day problems.

There’s really nothing about this well-written story that I didn’t like. The writing is excellent, the plot believable and fast-paced, and the primary characters sexy, likable, and dedicated. The secondary characters…well, they fall into several categories: dedicated fellow agents, quirky casino workers, voodoo practitioners, dangerous and malevolent villains, and a high-functioning autistic child. Add all these together and you have a unique and well-constructed plot that keeps you guessing from beginning to end. This book is well worth the read, and an excellent example of the genre that I wish other authors would strive to emulate.

Beautiful Disaster


Book Title: Beautiful Disaster
Author: J.M. Snyder
Publisher: Amber Allure
ISBN: 978-1-60272-418-1
Genre: Gay / Contemporary / The Arts / Series
Nymph Rating: 3 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs reviewer: Caen Nymph

2ICE is the biggest pop duo around, made up of best friends Cory and Ian. They’ve got the life many dream off; sold-out tours and platinum albums. But both men know something is missing from their lives.

Corey spends his time having as much sex as he can, with all his female fans. Ian drinks himself to oblivion as he watches the man he loves give himself away freely. But when Corey finally wakes up and realises the only person he truly cares about and trusts is his best friend, he decides that it’s time to change his life.

What I found interesting about Beautiful Disaster is how co-dependent Ian was. He was the sole reason for why I enjoyed the story as much as I did. J.M. Snyder has a knack for writing broken characters, which make you want to psychologically analyse them. Ian was so dependent on his love for Corey that he couldn’t see anything beyond that. He had a life as a pop star that many could only dream off, but he could have cared less. He spent more time getting drunk than anything else.

The premise was largely about not always getting what you want or need, and whilst this story does end with a happily-for-now theory; the author really does make her characters work for their happiness. Arguably I did find Ian to be too melodramatic at times, and the dialogue to be a bit stunted with the over-cliché ‘I love you’ sentiments. But the author did a good job with this story, and I enjoyed it quite a bit.

Del Fantasma: Unicorn


Book Title: Del Fantasma: Unicorn
Author: Jet Mykles
Publisher: Aspen Mountain Press
Publisher URL: http://www.aspenmountainpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60168-145-4
Genre: Erotic Paranormal, M/M
Nymph Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Jack is a unicorn doing his best to avoid virgins and Del Fantasma is the perfect place to indulge his sexual appetites without the risk of virginal bonding, or so he thinks. Summoned by his stranded brother Bryan, Scott drives to the bar. Never comfortable in a crowd, Scott is ready to leave immediately when he finds his brother but Bryan insists that Scott sit and have a drink. In the meantime, Jack returns to the bar after a brief sexual encounter with a cat shifter. The moment Jack meets Scott, he knows that their bond is formed and that Bryan is being controlled by vampires.

Unicorn by Jet Mykles is another exciting addition to the Del Fantasma series. Scott never believed unicorns existed until he met Jack and it is Scott’s purity that bonds Jack to him to command. Jack’s attraction to Scott goes beyond the bonding. For the first time, Jack has found true love and that love is returned by Scott, making the bond stronger than ever. Unicorn is an impressive tale that I greatly enjoyed.

Servicing Rafferty


Book Title: Servicing Rafferty
Author: Janie Mason
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 1-60504-077-0
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Nymph Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

Auto mechanic Heidi Callihan has loved her boss, Joseph “Rafe” Rafferty since she was sixteen years old, and he’s always treated her like one of his little sisters. At the age of twenty-three, she’s sick and tired of being his ‘sister’ and employee. Heidi wants their relationship to change to that of lovers, except she’s not certain how to go about it. It’s not until the local ‘black widow’, Barbara Murillo, sets her sights on Rafe, that Heidi realizes she needs a plan to make him see her as a woman, and quick.

Rafe has loved Heidi like another kid sister for years, and it’s only recently that he’s grudgingly acknowledged that his feelings for her have changed. There’s a nine year difference in their ages and he wants her to enjoy her youth, but their mutual attraction is slowly driving him crazy. He’s willing to overlook his feelings until the day he agrees to help Heidi with her cat, and ends up hand-cuffed to her sofa.

Servicing Rafferty is a fun and light-hearted romance that’s perfect for a quick afternoon read. This sexy little novella is an excellent example of an intelligent woman taking the initiative to get what she wants, in this case Rafe, and it almost blows up in her face. Heidi and Rafe have cared for each other for so many years, that their attraction and love snuck up on them, when they weren’t looking. Mr. Know-it-all thought he knew what was better for both of them and just about messed up the chance they had at happiness. He was willing to overlook his feeling and if it wasn’t for Heidi…well, you get the idea.

Overall the plot is pretty straight-forward for a contemporary romance, and there wasn’t much in the way of surprises…with the exception of when Heidi hand-cuffed Rafe to the frame of her new, it-weighs-a-ton sofa couch. That scene was my absolute favorite in the entire story, and it had me grinning at the visual running through my head. Then add in the blistering hot sex after Rafe is released and you have a nearly perfect scene finish.

If you’re looking for an entertaining, cute and fun read, give this one a try.

Leave Me Breathless


Book Title: Leave Me Breathless
Author: Trista Ann Michaels
Publisher: Loose ID
Publisher URL: http://www.loose-id.com/
ISBN: 9781596327290
Genre: BDSM, Suspense, Ménage
Nymph Rating: 2.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Amazon Nymph

N.C.I.S. officers Mitch Robbins, a former Navy Seal and Jake Bradley, a computer specialist and M.I.T. graduate, have shared everything including women. Now they're guarding Tessa Williams, the civilian scientist in charge of a massive military project. Tessa is the woman they both loved in the past, that got away. Now they want her back. Together they seduce Tessa but she will have to decide which one she wants in the end. She wants them both is the problem.

At the start when Tessa is talking with her assistant, a reference to “father-in-law” is made. I had to go back to the beginning to reread to that point because I thought I had missed something. This reference is actually referring to Tessa’s father. I also noticed some procedural errors that Mitch didn’t do that would have been second nature to him as a SEAL.

The danger of Tessa being kidnapped is the plot that brings Tessa, Jake and Mitch together. I felt that this plot was not well developed and was actually an afterthought. It was disjointed at times. I sometimes lost the thread when the story bounced back to the threat.

The author gave just enough background to lay the foundation of the relationship between Tessa, Jake and Mitch. She did an excellent job conveying Tessa’s guilt about loving both men. Part of Tessa’s dilemma was guilt about her feelings for both men. She received added stress when Jake and Mitch let her know that she would have to make a choice between them after the threat to her was past. I felt I was actually there witnessing Tessa’s turmoil. Ms. Marshall’s description of the strained friendship between Jake and Mitch is good as well. Jake and Mitch slowly come to realize they are hurting Tessa by insisting that she choose between them. Ultimately all three accept a ménage relationship.

Ms. Marshall developed this part of her story very well. The title, Leave Me Breathless, is very apt as the sex was so hot I found myself going for ice cubes, fanning myself and breathing heavily at times. Readers that like ménage will definitely want to read this one.

It Takes a Hero


Book Title: It Takes a Hero
Author: Lynn Lorenz
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: http://www.loose-id.net/
ISBN: 978-1-59632-797-9
Genre: LGBT Erotic Contemporary
Nymph Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx


Tony Richmond has always dreamed of being a Marine and being gay didn’t stop his pursuit. Tony’s courage and willingness to work hard made his fantasy a reality. Twelve years into his career, Lt. Richmond’s dream job becomes a nightmare in the blink of an eye. Tony loses part of his leg, his lover, and the will to move forward.

Physical Therapist Marcus Jamison doesn’t see a crippled man but someone his heart longs to love. He sees Tony wallowing in self-pity and knows there is a stronger man beneath the hurt and disappointment, and decides to help him regain his life.

What a fantastic story! A war hero back home and in need of love and a not so gentle push back on his feet. I’ve gotten so used to reading stories about military personnel, and I’ll admit this was a nice change of pace. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not happy to see a man lose part of a limb. What makes this story a step up for me is the fact that the hero didn’t come back perfect, but he found the perfect supplier of love. Both men are strong and capable, and Lynn Lorenz gives them that much more of a human factor by showing their flaws and allowing them to wear them as badges of honor. Tony doesn’t believe anyone could love him because he doesn’t feel whole. Marcus wants to love him, but has his own fears to contend with while protecting Tony from a commitment he wasn’t prepared to deal with. The love is evident and encases you in a warm feeling. If you like your heroes not so perfect, but willing to take a chance at love, then you will enjoy It Takes A Hero.

Jackass Flats


Book Title: Jackass Flats
Author: Julia Talbot
Publisher: Torquere Books
ISBN: 978-1-60370-518-9
Genre: Gay Contemporary
Nymph Rating: 2.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs reviewer: Caen Nymph


When cowboy Tate meets Army brat Dave, he’s drunk out his gills. But when Tate runs into Dave again, he figures his lonely life is about to start picking up. Dave has no issues with his own sexuality and doesn’t bother to hide it from his military friends. But when he runs into trouble, he’s willing to take them on as long as he gets Tate at the end of it all.

Jackass Flats is a good story if you’re looking for two very different men who come together despite their differences in upbringing and jobs. The author set the story very well, and the characters were pleasant. However I had a hard time with the dialogue, and that has to do with the geography from where the characters were from. I enjoyed the experience of learning about the setting and the obvious dialect of the characters but the story, in the end, just wasn’t for me.

Partners


Book Title: Partners
Author: Mary Suzanne
Publisher: Divine Romance
Publisher URL: http://www.romancedivine.com/
ISBN: 978-1-934446-35-5
Genre: Contemporary Gay Romance
Nymph Rating: 2.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

The local watering hole, the Corral Bar, draws scores of men and women every night hoping to meet their special someone and Josh Braslet isn’t any different. Except he isn’t interested in any of the women, he’s interested in one tall, good-looking man dressed in denim, Jake Talbot. Both men know what they want and they find it in each other’s arms…passion, companionship and love. But will family tragedy, lies and betrayal keep them apart and prevent them from experiencing the happily ever after they’ve been looking for?

Partners by Ms. Suzanne is very short at just over 5,500 words and is written entirely in Josh’s viewpoint. The author does a nice job describing the Corral Bar, and the seeming desperation of both men and woman to meet someone…anyone who’s interested in them. This is particularly true of the interaction between Josh and one such woman, and how he goes about trying not to hurt her feelings with his disinterest. Ms. Suzanne lost me once Jake and Josh arrived back at Josh’s home for a night of intimacy. I’ll be honest and say that it drives me absolutely crazy when authors use ‘purple prose’ type words to describe a man’s genitalia; tool, steely rod, tumescent shaft, and delicate piece of equipment, for example. These and others such as, serpentine dance of lust and man-steam, turn me off and don’t really describe the events, or what’s going on between the characters. Make me know what’s happening in the scene and the characters heads, not fancy words that don’t help the story along. Then there’s the little problem with a hospital giving out a patient’s condition, as they did with Josh, because in today’s HIPA (Health in Privacy Act) governed world, I can almost guarantee it’s not going to happen.

Gemini


Book Title: Gemini
Author: Jade MarQueen
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Publisher URL: www.extasybooks.com
ISBN: 978-1-55487-108-7
Genre: Gay, Series, Romance
Nymph Rating: 3 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Fire Nymph

Casey is a theatre actor who has always been in the back of the pack or on the sidelines, producing a play. Now his chance of being the lead in a different version of Shakespeare’s Twelfth Night is hanging in the balance when the new director of the board shakes things up with new rules of right and wrong

Polk tries hard to please Casey, never missing a line and always professional. However, it is getting harder to hide his feelings the more they hang out together. Jealousy pushes him forward when an old flame, now the director of the board, comes back into Casey’s life.

Who will win in this game of the heart? Who will lose? Find out in the pages of Gemini.

Ms. MarQueen has done it again in the third installment of In The Stars. The Gods tell another story of mayhem and debauchery of the mortal race. An interesting tale in Gemini albeit a little hard to follow at times with all the different characters playing some sort of lead role in the story, but none the less a good read.

Sunday, November 23, 2008

Kegs & Dorms


Book Title: Kegs & Dorms
Author: Kiernan Kelly, Stephanie Vaughan, Jane Davitt & Tory Temple
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerebooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60370-526-4
Genre: Contemporary M/M
Nymph Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs reviewer: Rose Nymph

In Secui Domus by Kiernan Kelly (4 Nymphs) we meet Aiden Barrows, friend to Bobby Hatcher since freshman year and currently studying for his Bachelor of Fine Arts. It was Bobby who first introduced Aiden to the “stripping to earn a little extra cash” gig and he just so happens to be a natural. However, a crisis at the dorms leaves the male students seeking refuge at FUBAR, a local gay bar run by Hank. When Wes, the School dean threatens to get Hank closed down, Aiden’s future is on the line. It’s a race against time to find a solution to all their problems. If only he wasn’t so distracted by Bobby…

I thoroughly enjoyed this story. Lovable characters and an interesting plot had me eager to find out what was in store. Lots of fun moments and some very steamy scenes but it is the back story of Hank & Wes that really captured me. Their powerful emotions bubbling under the surface left me wanting more.

Another Believer by Stephanie Vaughan (4 Nymphs) delivers a more immediate, needy experience. David Sato is returning to college after the break. He got to the station early so that he could get a window seat; maybe get a bit of reading in between taking in the beautiful scenery. What he hadn’t planned on was Jonah Simpson. Tall, tanned and athletic, David is mesmerized and what’s more, Jonah seems just as interested. Deep-seated insecurities threaten to spoil Jonah’s fun but David is just what he’s been looking for. If this is going to work, he has to move fast.

By regularly switching perspectives but spending almost the entire time in one location, there is a sense of urgency for the characters that I couldn’t help but get caught up in. For once, I wasn’t interested in the characters’ back story, nor where they were headed. I was completely immersed in the here and now, hoping they could grasp the opportunity in front of them. I wasn’t disappointed.

Bringing a slightly darker, more complex feel is Reading Between the Lines, by Jane Davitt (4.5 Nymphs). It hasn’t been a good start to the school year for Seth Brookes. An emergency appendix operation made him two weeks late and threatening his spot on the soccer team. What’s worse, he’s been moved to a new dorm with a new roommate; transfer student Gabriel Rossiter. It’s clear from the start that Gabe can’t stand Seth. His immediate hostility has Seth puzzled, so he decides to find out just why Gabe transferred. As things reach boiling point and Seth learns just how deep Gabe’s scars run, he wishes his hunch had been wrong.

I related to Seth Brookes as I was as intrigued by Gabe’s behavior. Seth views Gabe as a mathematical equation; he just needs to figure out all the components before he can solve it. At first put off by his aggression, I soon became concerned for Gabe, justifiably so. Seth forces Gabe to face his demons and it is satisfying when the two finally surrender to the complex emotions they are feeling.

What It’s All About by Tory Temple (3.5 Nymphs) rounds off this anthology with a tale of good old fashioned, unexplainable lust. On a fraternity pledging exercise, Max Tisdale & Devin Page meet. Granted they couldn’t really see each other; it was dark and they were hiding in the bushes in nothing but their underwear. Still, who’d have thought the sight of that strong back and cute ass as Devin made a run for the frat house would create such problems for Max in the coming months? When Max see’s Devin in bed with his roommate Erik, he figures he’s missed his chance but then, Devin doesn’t “do” relationships, does he?

I couldn’t help but feel for Max. He just couldn’t say no to Devin and even though it was soon apparent that Devin wasn’t going to be there for him in the morning, I still felt Max’s disappointment and rejection, every single time. The sex was very hot but it doesn’t take long to realize that both characters were just using it was a way to ignore what was going on. When Max has finally had enough though, it seems Devin might just understand what it’s really all about.

Characters with depth, intense emotion, long term romance and short term lust, Kegs & Dorms has a little of everything. If you enjoy powerful emotions mixed with the raging hormones of youth and a big helping of heat, this book is definitely the book for you.

With or Without You


Book Title: With or Without You
Author: KyAnn Waters
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 1-60504-200-5
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Nymph Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

Tessa Brooks is stuck in1988, the year she graduated from high school, and her nineteen year-old daughter, Brianna, wants her clothes, make-up and hair style to be attractive, current and trendy. Unbeknownst to Tessa, her daughter contacts the Jade Star television show and arranges for her to be part of a makeover episode, which she reluctantly agrees to. But there’s an ulterior motive, which she wouldn’t like, if she knew. The show isn’t just a chance to make over her image, it’s also meant to give her a chance to be reunited with the high school sweetheart who got away. Enter Matt Toler, her graduation evening one-night stand. A man who she hasn’t seen in nearly twenty years…a man who doesn’t know he has a grown daughter.

With or Without You by KyAnn Waters is a cute tale of old love reclaimed, brought about by a *shudder* daytime television make-over show. The characters of Tessa and Matt are charming, and Ms. Waters did a nice job describing Tessa’s fear and uncertainly in meeting Matt again, and her understandable concern if/when he and Brianna learn the secret she’s been hiding from them. The sexual tension between them is hot, and it was nice to learn that they had both been interested all those years ago, even if they only acted on their attraction the one night. So as adults, the passion and desire made them both a little reckless. I wasn’t surprised when they ended up in bed with each other. In fact, I wasn’t really surprised by the plot at all, it pretty much flowed along as I expected, but that didn’t take away the enjoyment I got from reading it. If you’re looking for a little light, pleasant reading, this love story might be just what you’re looking for.

Interlude


Book Title: Interlude
Author: Vivien Dean
Publisher: Amber Allure
ISBN: 978-1-60272-420-4
Genre: Gay / Contemporary / The Arts / Interracial / Multicultural
Nymph Rating: 3 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs reviewer: Caen Nymph


Best friends Tyrone and AJ share the same passion. Both are ‘duelling pianists’ for one of the hottest bars around. Tyrone is sexy, social and commands attention both off stage and on. AJ loves his music but is nothing like his confident self on stage. When AJ and Tyrone get scouted, they head to Las Vegas to live their dreams. However, something is simmering beneath the surface and both men are about to find out what exactly they really want from each other.

Interlude has a very Cinderella theme to it. The happily-ever-after is there and you want to yell at the characters to open their eyes. But the process is sweet torture building up till you get your perfect ending. Not to be mistaken, the author makes her characters work for their happily-ever-after. The premise of two pianists was very interesting, and the whole music scene set-up seemed very realistic and more over interesting. However I felt something missing from the heroes; I didn’t feel any real connection with them. On the other hand, I liked how the author built-up her story and allowed her characters a real journey.

His Gift


Book Title: His Gift
Author: Clare London
Publisher: Aspen Mountain Press
Publisher URL: http://www.aspenmountainpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60168-144-7
Genre: M/M Paranormal
Nymph Rating: 3 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Seriously injured and lost, Steven Mackin struggles to pull himself out of the cold wet ditch and find shelter from the rain. Willing his battered body to walk, Steven comes upon a lone house with the door unlocked and a stranger inviting him in but Steven collapses at the door. When he awakens, Eliot is there to greet him. Steven has no memory of his life or how he got to wherever he is now, but Eliot’s only answer is “I have been waiting for you Steven. You are my gift”.

His Gift is a spooky tale with a passionate twist. Clare London holds you spellbound as the mystery unfolds. His Gift is an intriguing puzzle that I enjoyed fitting the pieces together.

If Wishes Were Horses


Book Title: If Wishes Were Horses
Author: Sarah Leslie
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 1-60504-058-4
Genre: Gay Fantasy Romance
Nymph Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

As a Forge Master, Alaric is a metal artisan, capable of crafting items of both beauty and death and members of his craft are supposed to be considered neutral in any military conflict. This doesn’t save him from attack and near death, leaving him both physically and emotionally scarred. So scarred that his refuses to see or talk to his lover and betrothed, Lord Valerian, Captain of the Queen’s guard. Already concerned about the differences in their station, he now sees his injuries as an even bigger hurdle in their relationship and refuses to see him. Alaric’s friend, Lily, is afraid the two lovers won’t work out their problems and sets out to play matchmaker at the Queen’s Reconciliation Ball. Everyone is to be granted one wish, and she hopes that chance will once again pull the wounded lovers back together. If real life was only that easy.

If Wishes Were Horses by Sarah Leslie is the first release in the Land of the Fey series, and hopefully only the first of many stores set in this creative fantasy world. In this new series, Ms. Leslie has managed to skillfully incorporate many of the creatures normally found in a Fey-based fantasy world and done it in a way that makes it interesting and believable. I just wish the story had been longer.

In some ways, Lily is the catalyst for this tale, but the love between Alaric and Valerian is its angst-ridden backbone. These two were perfect for each other until Alaric allowed his fear and disgust with his horrific battle scars to drive a wedge between himself and his lover. He’s a wounded soul whose pain and self-loathing pulls at the heart-strings, and I kept wishing he’d give Valerian a chance to show his love and tenderness, scars and all. Their connection is special and I loved finding that Valerian wasn’t fooled by the wish granted to Alaric by the wish fairy at the beginning of the Reconciliation Ball. Their love and passion, when they come together, is nearly as hot as the fire burning in Alaric’s metal forge.

The secondary characters in this tale are interesting on their own. This is especially true of Lily and Raven, and I look forward to the next book in the series which I believe, deal with these two individuals.

'Til it Bleeds


Book Title: 'Til it Bleeds
Author: Stephanie Burke
Publisher: Changeling Press
Publisher URL: http://www.changelingpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60521-063-6
Genres: Paranormal/Action Adventure/ Daemonum/ Horror
Nymph Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx


The Guild protects the humans from themselves, by sending bonded fighting units to summoning demons and other occult practices. When they discover a plot to gain the Hands of Fate, relics with innumerable power, they send Vice and Faith in for a reconnaissance mission. They will have an uphill battle trying to dissuade or destroy power hungry humans, demons, and the control of the Guild. However, if any two can have success, it’s Vice and Faith, for they will fight until the bitter end. They will fight ‘Til it Bleeds and beyond.

You can always count on Stephanie Burke to write a story that’s out of the box, a fact that’s more than evident when you read her latest story ‘Til it Bleeds. Faith and Vice aren’t your average characters or heroes. Their coming into existence is as unique as their style of fighting. Truly, humankind couldn’t ask for better protectors against the evil waiting to claim more innocent victims. Vice and Faith are the perfect couple in battle and bed play. They feed off one another emotionally and literally. When it’s time to slay a few demons, you better hold on to your hats! They don’t fight fair, they fight to win. Ms. Burke delivers a well-written story that takes over your senses. And while this story isn’t slated as a series, I have a feeling we haven’t seen the last of the Guild or the bonded men who work for it.

Giving Thanks


Book Title: Giving Thanks
Author: Maura Anderson
Publisher: Aspen Mountain Press
Publisher URL: http://www.aspenmountainpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60168-151-5
Genre: M/M Romance
Nymph Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Arriving home after working a double shift, Troy finds his lover Derek in the kitchen, preparing a turkey. Knowing Derek was scheduled to work at his family’s restaurant until later and that they had plans to have dinner at Derek’s parents’ home, Troy is confused. When Troy turns Derek away from the sink, he sees that Derek had a nasty bruise on his cheek. Troy learns that Derek told his father that he was gay. Angered by this news, Derek’s father struck him and declared him divorced from the family and fired from his job as head chef.

Giving Thanks is a story of love and the wish for acceptance. Derek has never come out to any member of his family, for fear of rejection. During a heated quarrel with his father, the truth comes out and all Derek’s fears have come to past. With nothing else to hide, he examines his life with Troy and realizes that the love they share is more important than family approval. Because of his love for Derek, Troy is willing to do anything to protect and support him, including punching out his father. The talented Maura Anderson created a captivating plot of realistic concerns and the emotional impact on everyone involved; include two very sensual characters plus a touch of humor and you have a very impressive story that I greatly enjoyed.

Rough, Raw and Ready


Book Title: Rough, Raw and Ready
Author: Lorelei James
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60504-230-5
Genre: Western Romance
Nymph Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

With her marriage to Trevor Glanzer, Chassie West’s tragedy filled life has turned to one of happiness and contentment. They have a strong marriage filled with love, passion, sizzling hot sex and lots of hard work as they struggle to make their small ranch prosper. When Trevor’s old rodeo partner shows up expectedly, she welcomes him into their home, never imaging that his arrival will threaten her marriage and change her life forever.

When Chassie came into his life, Trevor left his bad boy cowboy image of drinking, sex and fighting behind. He also left behind the love for his former roping and traveling partner, Edgard Mancuso. At least he thought he’d left it behind until the day Edgard rambled up his driveway and back into his life. He’s shocked to see his old lover, who left for Brazil over three years ago, when he couldn’t give Edgard what he needed to be happy. Trevor’s crazy about his sweet wife, but Edgard is the missing piece of his heart.

Edgard isn’t sure what to expect when he arrives at Trevor’s ranch. He doesn’t expect to be attracted to his old lover’s charming wife. The problem is, he still wants Trevor in his life, but he also doesn’t want to hurt Chassie to get it. But that’s exactly what happens when she walks in on Trevor and Edgard in a passionate embrace. She’s shocked, hurt, angry, and afraid of loosing her husband, but it would be worse if Trevor stayed with her out of duty, not love.

Rough, Raw and Ready is the fifth release in Lorelei James’s lively, entertaining and sexy series revolving around the men and women of the West and McKay families, and while I have enjoyed all four previous releases, this one is now my new favorite.

After meeting Trevor and Edgard in Long Hard Ride, I was thrilled to learn that these sexy cowboys would be at the center of this newest release by Ms. James. When Edgard came looking for Trevor, it was only a manner of time until their desire pulled them back together. Ms. James did an excellent job describing Chassie’s pain, anger and hurt when she found them kissing, and the only concern I have regarding this is the seeming speed in which Chassie accepted their past relationship and moved on as their third. After they become a threesome, the passion only escalates and becoming a blazing inferno.

The story is well paced, the descriptions of the land and relationships nicely done, and the incorporation of characters from the previous books seamless, making for great overall series flow. Ms. James snippets of new info regarding Cam and Colt made me want to hear their stories…and soon.

Congratulations on another well done book, Ms. James, and I look forward to the next release in this wonderful series.

Warning: this book contains unbelievably explicit sex, including multiple cowboy/cowgirl/cowboy ménage scenes, juicy, hot, male on male action, a bucketful of politically incorrect situations and true Western ideology.

Black Star United


Book Title: Black Star United
Author: Marteeka Karland
Publisher: Changeling Press
Publisher URL: http://www.changelingpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-59596-679-7
Genre: Futuristic, Sci-Fi
Nymph Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx


Nani is ready to unite her family. She has a daughter to save, a lover to free from his prison and a former tyrant of a husband to bring down to size. If anyone can do it, Nani can, because hell hath no fury like a woman wronged!

When you see Nani’s strength, determination, loyalty and love, it’s clear how she has survived for twenty years. Marteeka Karland delivers an action packed story filled with one surprise after another in Black Star United. Twenty years of intricately intertwined lives will be more than Nani could have anticipated, and will blow readers away. Having Darion reunited with her was a touching moment that brings this family full circle and cements the hope for uniting the empires. I’ve thoroughly enjoyed the Black Star series and could only hope there is more to come. Fans will be cheering from their seats, and newcomers will discover a reason to begin the series from book one.

A Haunted Love


Book Title: A Haunted Love
Author: J. M. Snyder
Publisher: Aspen Mountain Press
Publisher URL: http://www.aspenmountainpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60168-147-8
Genre: M/M Paranormal
Nymph Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Nicholas Wiley works as an American Colony re-enactor for tourists. Waiting for the bus that would take him home, Nick falls asleep. When he awakens past midnight, Nick realizes that he is stranded until he meets David Henry, who invites Nick to spend the night with him at the Inn. The attraction between the two leads to more than one night in each other’s arms, but every morning when Nick awakens, David is gone and the Inn has transformed back into decay.

A Haunted Love transports you into the Twilight Zone where reality and fantasy blend into a realm where time and space have no meaning. The creative J.M. Snyder lures you into the minds of Nick and David, two lonely gay men from different times finding a loving connection, but is it real or fantasy? Step into the intriguing world of A Haunted Love and draw your own conclusion.