Thursday, August 26, 2010

Track


Title: Track
Author: A. J. Llewellyn
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Publisher URL: http://www.extasybooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-55487-627-3
Genre: {M/M} Fantasy
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Paden wakens to find his lover Track is in bed with him while a tsunami warning is blasting. Track tells Paden they are needed to decipher the mystery of a young man who has broken a sacred taboo and the gods of old Hawaii are angry. Navigating a rainbow, Paden and Track enter into the spirit realm. Paden is surprised when Kimo's two year old daughter, Pele, follows Paden across the rainbow. Goddess Pele’s spirit is evident in baby Pele’s little body as she intervenes by saving a life with her powerful magic.

Track is the first book in the Children of the Rainbow series. The series continues with the main characters from Book fourteen of the Phantom Lover series. The well written plot features the Island of Laysan, an uninhabited northwestern island that is considered sacred and has been declared a bird sanctuary. Track is a spirit walker, a creature of pure light. He spent his time in the spirit world, waiting for Paden. Track fell in love with Paden’s picture years ago. Now that Track has finally met Paden, he visits the earthly realm in human form more often. Paden is Lopaka’s father. Like Kimo, Lopaka’s husband and Sammy, Lopaka’s grandfather-in-law, Paden is a gifted kahuna. On the other hand, because Paden is immortal, he can walk the elements restricted to the humans.

Track is an impressive beginning to this spin-off series. The cultural history is fascinating, the intimate scenes are incredibly sensual. A. J. Llewellyn continues to enchant the readers with this titillating, as well as enjoyable, tale of Paden’s spiritual journey of discovery.

Baked


Title: Baked
Author: Sean Michael
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerepress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-61040-027-5
Genre: [M/M] Contemporary BDSM
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

Clay left the military six months ago and during that time his younger twin brothers, Darius and Devin, have driven him crazy and nearly destroyed his house in the process. He’s at his wits ends and doesn’t know what to do with the two troublemakers and after they wreck his truck, he’s had enough. Clay knows the twins need a strong hand and decides that his Dom friend, Bake, is just the man for the job. To that end he ties up and gags his brothers and delivers the subby boys to The Hammer for the discipline they want and need.

When Bake’s twin brother Bean lays eyes on big brother Clay, it’s lust at first sight. He knows immediately that he’ s found a diamond in the rough when he learns the big man isn’t into the kinky games his own brother plays and Bean figures Clay is just about perfect for him. The brothers flipping households seems like the answer to all their problems but sibling jealousy and misunderstandings make life far more complicated than any of them every imagined. When an unexpected threat endangers one of the boys, it forces the others to rally together, putting their differences aside. Will it work or will the relationships be destroyed?

Baked is the latest release in Sean Michael’s The Hammer series and it’s a bit different from the others. This one is actually two stories in one. The first is a Dom/sub (twincest) and the other is totally vanilla. Bake and the twins were much more interesting characters and I think the book would have been better served if their story was separated from that of Bean and Clay.

The beginning of the story where Clay shoves his bound and gagged brothers off on Bake is totally unexpected and original. The relationships of the men are complicated, especially that of Bake, Darius and Devin, but it didn’t take long for them to settle into living together in a way that worked for them. As with most of Mr. Michaels’ books, the story is heavy on the sexual components of the two relationships—and its hot, intense and frequent.

I liked seeing the jealousy between both sets of twins. These men are used to seeing each other frequently/daily—they have a bond that only another twin can understand and when Bake didn’t see Bean for several days, he was worried and upset. He was a big, bad Dom and he missed his twin. His need for Bean was both cute and endearing and showed an unexpected side to his personality.

I would have liked to have seen more interaction between the two sets of lovers before the end when one of Bake’s boys got into trouble and the other men had to rally together to save him. I admit I didn’t see the suspense element coming - it took me by surprise - so I had my pleasing ah ha moment with a satisfying culmination. I look forward to seeing what Mr. Michael does with the next book in the series and hope to see some of our old Hammer friends again in future.

Courting Kel


Title: Courting Kel
Author: Dee Brice
Publisher: Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419925863
Genre: {M/F}, Sci-Fi
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amazon Nymph

The King of Ondrican and the Queen of Amazonian hatch a plan to end the feud between their two worlds by having Prince Aren and Kel marry. Kel is drugged and sent to Ondrican on the Choosing ship for the mating ceremony.

When Aren sees Kel he can’t wait to make her his, but Kel is very resistant to the idea she is now his wife. Kel is determined to escape and return to Amazonian.

Courting Kel is full of twists and turns as Kel tries to resist Aren. Keep plenty of ice on hand as you read and know that you will feel like you are a fly on the wall. The give and take between Kel and Aren will remind you of various relationships we all have and the insecurities that come with them. The courting rituals that the author has created keep things hot and heavy between the two. Some of the various rituals may make some readers uncomfortable due to the voyeurism and mention of ménage scenes, but these do nothing to distract from Kel and Aren’s courtship.

Kel and Aren are two very strong people, but nothing like the two main secondary characters that are their parents. The secondary characters add a lot to this story. Through the secondary characters, we learn about both Ondrican and Amazonian and some of the cultural differences that create such a wonderful conflict between Kel and Aren. This is one that will be read again.

Duck!


Title: Duck!
Author: Kim Dare
Publisher: Resplendence Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.resplendencepublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60735-178-8
Genre: {M/M}, Shape-shifter, BDSM
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Ori has never really belonged anywhere. Suddenly finding out he was an avian shape-shifter explained some of that. It also brought him a whole new set of problems and questions.

The last thing Raynard needed was a submissive; unfortunately, that’s exactly what he got after stopping off at the nest.

Duck! is a new look at an old classic. From the moment Ori utters the words, “A rather ugly little duckling”, you know that by the end of the story he will be anything but. Not only does Duck! look at an old classic, it also puts a new slant on the shape-shifter story, as well. Rather than having the usual wolf or feline shifter, Duck!, as the title implies, has gone to the birds. The flock is made up of numerous different breeds, each holding their own place within the flock hierarchy. Unfortunately for Ori, ducks are on the very bottom and no one lets him forget, either. When Raynard, who as a hawk is one of the elite class, comes into Ori’s life, it soon changes. That both Ori and Raynard are confused by the constant changes in their lives comes through clearly. Ori’s need to be a submissive and Raynard’s reluctance to take him on is believable, as well. The reader will have no problem reading between the lines, however, and know way before either man figures it out that these two belong together. Major changes occur, however, once Ori’s true self is revealed. The many obstacles left me wondering if this story would have a happy ending.

If you are looking for a good shape-shifter story, but are tired of wolves and cats, then pick this one up as it will not disappoint.

Killer Designs


Title: Killer Designs
Author: Sherre Pratt
Publisher: Breathless Press
Publisher URL: http://www.breathlesspress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-926771-45-8
Genre: {M/F} Erotic Suspense, Thriller
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Goddess Minx

Release Date: August 27, 2010

Sunny Benning and her brother, Rick have worked hard to build their design company into one of the most sought after in Palm Beach, Florida and they love their work. When Rick’s partner comes up murdered in Sunny’s house, there isn’t much to prove that he didn’t kill him. Sunny has made it her mission to save her brother from being in trouble again and not even Det. Jake Chess will get in her way. From the first time she lays eyes on him, she has the hots for him, but knows that her brother’s innocence comes first.

Detective Jake Chess is on his way out to start a two weeks vacation at his mountain cabin, when he gets a call saying he’s needed on a case and it’s going to be a tough one to solve. His instinct tells him the main suspect is Rick, but he needs to follow protocol and he’s also distracted by Rick’s sister, Sunny. It becomes harder to keep his emotional feelings for her separate and he’s determined to solve his case before he can move forward with her.

Killer Designs is a great story with a thrilling twist, and I’m not sure if the designs or mystery kept me reading. It’s really interesting that the villain is able to keep his true character from those that were around him.

Sunny proved to be quite a strong woman, and there is a lot of history as to why she is that way. I really liked her take-charge personality and her ability to know when to let someone else take the lead in difficult situations.

Jake is a sexy man with a mission to keep the bad guys locked up and he seemed to know what he wanted in a woman too. One things I found odd was that he would get a little off track when he was with Sunny and they did have steaming hot sex when they should have been finding her brother, Rick.

This is a very creatively written story by Ms. Pratt, and she put a spin on the villain’s role very nicely. I really appreciated the research into the fashion design industry and the effort to distract from the real killer. I look forward to reading more from this author in the near future.

Wednesday, August 25, 2010

Midnight Unseen


Title: Midnight Unseen
Author: D. McEntire
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60928-119-9
Genre: [M/F] Contemporary Paranormal
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

Tank hasn’t been able to stop thinking about Sonya Brown since the first time he heard the beautiful woman playing the piano in a local hotel lobby eight months before. He’s beginning to obsess over her and every time he closes his eyes to sleep, she haunts his dreams. The problem is the dreams aren’t fun-filled sexy ones, but unsettling ones that warn of danger to come. As each night passes, the dreams turn darker until finally Sonya is crying out—she’s scared, hurt and in pain. When Tank and the other Watchers find her in a rat-infested basement, she’s severely ill and in the midst of a Rogue-induced change. She’s becoming a vampire.

Music was always Sonya’s salvation and she’s devoted her life to playing the piano and teaching her many students, despite her blindness. When a male co-worker’s unwelcome desire changes to obsession, Sonya wakes in a strange place, confused and frightened—thrust into a world of vampires she didn’t know existed. She also not alone. The Rogue who changed her has also abducted two small vampire children, who are just as scared as she is. Can Tank keep her safe and help her through the change or will she turn Rogue and have to be destroyed?

Midnight Unseen is the fifth release in The Watcher’s series. There are a great many components to this series that are ongoing, so while it is possible to read this release as a standalone, it would be easier to understand the plotline and character relationships if the books are read in order.

One of the things that I liked the best about this book was the author’s unexpected choice of a blind heroine in Sonya. It’s not something that I’ve seen done before—in fact, it’s not usual to see a person with any disability as a main character, so kudos to the author for making this decision. I thought the details on how Sonya went about dealing with her blindness was handled nicely without being excessive, but it gave the reader a realistic look into her daily life. I also understood why Sonya insisted on being, and maintaining, her independence, and my only complaint with this portion of the story was her poor decision that put her life in danger near the end of the story. This is what you’d expect a character in a bad “B” movie to do and is what I call—A too-stupid-to-live move.

Tank is a complex and interesting man. He’s determined, dedicated and loyal to a fault, but he plays his cards close to the vest and I never really felt I knew him. Yes, he was a good ma, and a good friend and fighter, but I didn’t know what made him ‘tick’. His relationship with Sonya was intense and started off a little rocky due to the circumstances, making it difficult to understand why they were together as a couple—their relationship just didn’t have the depth or backbone of emotion I expected.

I loved the inclusion of the two vampire children that were found with Sonya in the basement and they’ll make a great addition to the household and to the series as the plotline continues to unfold. The same goes with the return of the characters from the previous releases; they helped to round out the story—they grounded it and gave it depth it needed. I look forward to seeing what happens with the next release featuring Mac and Lanette.

Her Laird, Her Lover


Title: Her Laird, Her Lover
Author: Sable Grey
Publisher: Breathless Press
Publisher URL: http://www.breathlesspress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-926771-70-0
Genre: {M/F} Erotic Medieval Historical, Paranormal
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amethyst Nymph

Affection for the woman she now called Mother and boredom was what launched Katie Stewart into a life of swindling men out of their money. As a woman stuck in medieval times, she really didn’t have a lot of options. However, it would be not only Katie’s choice but her pleasure to offer herself to the tall, dark stranger who discovered her deception.

Robert Shelley, Laird of Dunham, was seeking Katie for advice on defeating his enemy. The sharp tongued beauty was more than he expected and ignited feelings Robert couldn’t ignore. Even during battle, Robert knew he would return to Katie and make her his forever.

Her Laird, Her Lover is the first story in the Scattered series and I have to say that Sable Grey kicked things off with a bang. I love a woman who can outsmart a man while remaining the seductress and Katie is that woman. Getting stuck in the past might have been a breaking point for most, but not Katie. The firecracker in her helped Katie deal with the backwards thinking and poor hygiene of the men of this era and still keep herself amused while doing so. When finally faced with a man worthy of matching her, it’s no wonder Katie falls for Robert in the blink of an eye. Regardless of his complaints, Robert is turned on by Katie’s boldness. He never misses an opportunity to get her riled up, sometimes accidentally; sometimes intentionally. Robert’s jealousy created some torrid love scenes that made me almost pray for an argument between the couple. The witty comebacks and innuendos from Katie and Robert had me reading the scenes again like an instant replay. However, it was the unspoken words between the couple that really moved me. An understanding was forged after their first night together, even though neither could admit it out loud.

Moments of pain and ardor enveloped me like a blanket on a cold night and reinforced what I already knew. Sable Grey is a master at drawing readers into her stories from the very first page and this one will make you a fan of her work, if you aren’t already.

Middle Man


Title: Middle Man
Author: Kate Steele
Publisher: Changeling Press
Publisher URL: http://www.changelingpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60521-398-9
Genre: {M/M/M} Futuristic
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Gen Tobry is an amplimentor for a bond-pair on the planet of Sholsa. The planet’s tradition dictates that dominant males not allow being penetrated, so Gen’s position in the household is considered necessary. The only remorse Gen has is that he wishes for love and affection from his bond-pair masters Marin Suga and Cail Gethern.

Middle Man is an excellent well-written short story with developed characters. The plot is from the perspective of Gen. Gen is an Empath who chose the much respected profession of amplimentor because he is an honorable, as well as a compassionate, man. His duty is to physically accept the passion expressed by Marin and Cail during lovemaking, and then mentally transmits their feelings to each of them. This empathic ability provides pleasure for all three men. Gen secretly hoped being physically intimate with his masters would inspire emotional closeness. Marin and Cail treated Gen as a member of the family, he lacked for nothing. Nevertheless, their display of indifference left him feeling empty and alone.

What Gen did not realize is that he is cherished by the bond-pair. Marin and Cail were raised in a society where the showing of affection is considered taboo. It is only when Gen is injured after being kidnapped that Marin and Cail make known their love, along with the esteemed place Gen has in their life. The amazing Kate Steele has created an emotional saga that inspires smiling, crying, as well as an accelerated launch to the libido. Middle Man is a moving, captivating as well as an exceedingly enjoyable, romance.

Dirty Little Secrets


Title: Dirty Little Secrets
Author: Temple Hogan
Publisher: Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419929038
Genre: {M/F} Suspense
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Goddess Minx

Billie finds herself in the wrong place, while trying to take care of a situation she has gotten herself into. She finds that she is in need of help from sexy Detective Dare Stephanos, who is investigating her for a murder he has to question her about. The sexual sparks start flying the minute they lay eyes on each other and both of them know that would not be a good idea to extinguish that fire.

Being a woman, who is used to handling herself without help from anyone, she makes some serious enemies and their only option for her is death. Dare is surprised at his need to protect Billie, because he doesn’t normally feel this way about anyone. She is a constant pain for him, because she kept giving him the slip, and he wonders how she is able to be so elusive. Her headstrong ways will be the death of him before he can prove her innocence, and he needs to clear his own name also, so he could return to his old job in Homicide.

Dirty Little Secrets lead me on quite a chase throughout Detroit City with Billie and Dare’s struggle to survive the death planned for them. I was very impressed with Billie’s persona that she displayed to the world and how easy Dare was able to dispel it with words of kindness towards her. These two found themselves in unbelievable situations, but were able to solve each crime blamed on Billie.

Ms. Hogan really spun a great creative story plot that had me wondering about Billie’s distrust of people and when I found out what was going on, I had to quickly find my way to the end of this book to know the truth about why the villains sought Billie’s death so hard. The history given surrounding the characters are not as much as I would have liked, but enough to get a good impression. This is my first read for this author, but I’m looking forward to reading more from her in the future. Enjoy!

Tell No Lies


Title: Tell No Lies
Author: G.H. Worth
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: http://www.loose-id.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60737-839-6
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Dr. Winston Morgan, a pediatrician living in Colorado Springs, drove sixty miles to Denver’s most popular gay club, The Batting Cage. Divorced for five years, his daughter soon-to-be-married, Winston decided it was time to live a life of his own choosing. Shortly after entering the club, Winston is drawn to D.J. Faulkner, who was sitting alone at the bar. Locking eyes with Winston, D.J. wasted no time staking his claim on the sexy doctor.

Tell No Lies has a well constructed amusing plot. The storyline features Winston and D.J’s expedition through the dating ritual, as well as the pitfalls they encounter. The developed characters are believable with great interaction. Winston is intelligent with an openly friendly personality and he’s not afraid to ask for what he wants or voice his opinions on any subject concerning him. Winston’s only flaw is his indulgence of his daughter’s whims. D.J. is similar in temperament to Winston, with the exception of his little bouts of jealousy when anyone gets too close to Winston. Winston and D.J. face the same issues most people must endure regardless of their sexuality; the mini family chaos, prejudice, jealousy and loneliness. However, Winston is bisexual and D.J. is gay, which adds another layer to the emotional turmoil.

What I enjoyed most is the humorous heated discussions between Winston and his ex-wife, along with the reality check he finally delivers to his daughter. G.H. Worth has created a splendid and incredibly sexy love story in Tell No Lies.

Bear Necessities


Title: Bear Necessities
Author: Dana Marie Bell
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60928-117-5
Genre: {M/F} Paranormal
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amethyst Nymph

Even though she is accepted in a community of Puma shifters, Tabby Garwood is still an outcast. The green-haired wolf shifter has easily settled into town life as a tattoo artist, except for her constant confrontations with her nemesis. As if this isn’t enough to make her hyperventilate, Tabby’s motorcycle mate rides into Halle and turns out to be a bear shifter.

Alexander “Bunny” Bunsun can’t shake the strange feelings and tension he’s experienced since coming to town. All he wants to do is help his little cousin sort out her personal problems, which probably involve a man, and head home. And that would have happened if Bunny hadn’t been assaulted by an impulse that had him standing at attention. One of the women Bunny spied in the window of a tattoo parlor was about to change his future forever.

Building a relationship is complicated for a man and a woman, but for a wolf and a bear, complicated is an understatement. Things get heated, and not just in the bedroom. Bunny’s cousin is nearly killed, and it’s becoming harder for him to repress the rage that even yoga can’t contain. Add in the continued attacks against Tabby and the involvement of every shifter in town.

Bunny is a gentle giant but he is far from harmless, if you mess with anyone he cares about. Laying a finger on his mate, Tabby, is the equivalent of signing a death certificate as far as Bunny is concerned. Tabby doesn’t realize how much her friends care about her and it angers Bunny that Tabby can’t see this. I was outraged over the circumstances surrounding Tabby being outcast, and couldn’t believe that so much time had passed with her living alone. From just the description of her appearance, I knew Tabby would be a strong woman but she turned out to be made of stronger stuff than I guessed. Her friends make excellent supporting characters, but I can easily imagine them cropping up again in their own stories. The author does a fantastic job of giving readers the feeling that they know each character personally. Tabby’s best friend, Julian, has definitely caught my eye so I pray his story is in the works.

Bear Necessities is the first book in the Halle Shifters series, but hopefully not the last. Dana Marie Bell laid the perfect foundation with the right amount of mystery, danger, hot sex, and passion. This story has something for everyone, so get a copy of it now.

Sins Of Affection


Title: Sins Of Affection
Author: India Harper
Publisher: Amber Allure
Publisher URL: http://www.amberquill.com/AmberAllure
ISBN: 978-1-60272-729-8
Genre: {M/M/M} {M/M} Contemporary, Mystery, Suspense
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

The last person Carver Eliot expected to call on him for assistance was Lucas McAndrews. He remembers the handsome gigolo and the chain of events that occurred after he submitted to his attraction to Lucas. Carver’s only regret is that they were interrupted.

Lucas gets more of a response than he expects. Not only does Carver come to his aid but also Carver’s lover, David Logan. Under David’s tutelage, Carver has become a better man. He’s more focused and loyal than anyone gives him credit. The danger surrounding Lucas has the men scrambling to connect all the dots before it’s too late.

Bringing Lucas into their home creates a sticky situation that has David and Carver reevaluating their relationship. Will the men decide to make Lucas a permanent part of their relationship, or will they call it quits and look for greener pastures?

Sins Of Affection is the third book of the Creatures Of Sin series and touches on the subjects of trust and commitment. It’s been two years since David and Carver initially met. You can see how much they’ve grown individually and as partners in this latest release. David has come to terms with his past and how it impacts his relationship with Carver. Carver is fearful that David hasn’t had enough experience with relationships to allow what they have to become more than just a rebound affair. I was actually shocked by both men. I could clearly see their love, as well as their devotion through small actions. I believe while including Lucas did add spice to their sex live, it also added confusion to their overall feelings for one another. It was nice to see that their foundation is as strong as ever, allowing them to work past most of the harder issues. Did they end up with Lucas? Well you’ll just have to read the story to find out. There is a juicy tidbit about the Commander that is sure to raise a few eyebrows and may leave readers hoping for a future story with more detail and a possible romance.

Sins Of Affection has a nice balance of action, suspense, and erotic encounters to keep you on the edge of your seat. Pick up a copy and enjoy.

Schism


Title: Schism
Author: D.J. Manly
Publisher: Total E Bound Books
Publisher URL: http://www.total-e-bound.com/
ISBN: 978-0-85715-245-9
Genre: {M/M}, Contemporary
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Xander never expected that the love of his life would be a detective, or that they would meet while the man was looking for someone else, but what the hell, at least they met. Then he finds out Sundar is straight and all Xander’s dreams go out the window.

Schism is a great read. Both the characters, and the story, will pull you in. Sundar has recently made detective and feels he still has a lot to prove. He’s also so deep in the closet even he doesn’t know it. Xander lives with his brother and sister-in-law while going to school. He’s also openly gay. To say these two are polar opposites is an understatement, but put them together and sparks fly all over the place. The chemistry between them is just that HOT. The author rings some intense emotions out of these two and had me on the verge of tears almost through the whole book. As the story progresses, there seems to be no way that the author would be able to wrap this story up in a satisfactory way. However, once again, D.J. Manly does a wonderful job bringing one of his stories to an end. This one is a definite reread for me.

Unexpected Guest


Title: Unexpected Guest
Author: Andy Eisenberg
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Publisher URL: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-61581-548-7
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Dan Anderson temporally moved home to revive the family house so it could be put up for sale. Dan’s mother had moved into a retirement community and is happy with her new life there. Recently divorced after a ten year platonic marriage, Dan’s life takes a pleasurable turn when he meets the new neighbors, Brendan and Jaden along with their friend Ethan Marshall. Dan and Ethan immediately become friends, emerging into a loving relationship months later.

Unexpected Guest is the captivating sequel to Patient Eyes. The well paced plot is set in Virginia. The developed characters are charismatic. Dan is still haunted by the emotional turmoil of his high school years. However, after becoming friends with Ethan, Dan is determined to put his painful past behind him. Dan’s marriage was a shield he used to hide his true sexuality. Dan was considered an excellent employee until his boss discovered Dan is gay and the narrow-mindedness of a few threatened his career in the IT department at the area hospital. Ethan is attracted to Dan upon their first meeting. However, Ethan is uncertain whether Dan is gay or straight. Rather than push the issue, Ethan waits for Dan to reveal his nature. Ethan is very supportive of Dan in all things. Ethan and Dan’s easy camaraderie while remodeling Dan’s kitchen opens the way for them to steadily build the friendship into a passionate, exclusive relationship. The secondary characters are an enchanting addition to the storyline. The love scenes are exceptionally sensuous. The talented Andy Eisenberg has produced a heartwarming, incredible romance that I enjoyed immensely.

Prince of Dragons


Title: Prince of Dragons
Author: Cathryn Cade
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publishing URL: http://www.samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60928-154-0
Genre: [M/F] SciFi-Futuristic, Shape-shifter
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

Sirena Blaze enjoys the company of men and she’s left a string of satisfied bed partners scattered across the known galaxy. Her life isn’t perfect professionally. After two thwarted attempts to destroy her ship, the Orion, there isn’t any reason to believe that the person behind the attacks has given up. It forces her to call for assistance from a member of the elite Serpentian Guard’s new co-commander, Slyde Stone.

Slyde is taller and bulkier than is typical of one of their race and Sirena’s ready to spend hours indulging in mutual sexual pleasure, when he does something unexpected—he refuses her. It’s not that he doesn’t want her, but he’s far from what he appears. He’s actually part of a race considered myth, a dragon-shifter and unlike others of the Serpentian race, dragons mate for life.

Sirena’s fury knows no bounds but when saboteurs release two deadly serpents aboard the ship, she and Slyde must work together to find the creatures before they kill someone. Then he offers a wager she can’t refuse. If she finds the serpents he’s hers to do with as she wishes and if he wins —she’s his for life.

Prince of Dragons is book 3 in the Orion series. There is an ongoing terrorist storyline, but you don’t have to have read the previous releases to enjoy this one as a standalone.

The prologue on how the origins of dragon-shifter race known as the Dragolins was nicely done and set the historical backbone of what made Slyde who he was within the first pages. Chapter 1 starts in a spaceport bar and it sets the story up for an action packed initial encounter that starts off the story with a bang; the first of many. There’s nothing boring or slow about the plot of this release. It’s go, go, go from beginning to end.

Sirena and Slyde’s attraction is immediate, as is her annoyance at being turned down. The passion between them runs hot and then burns hotter, but these two don’t have a true relationship—they have phases of confrontation. They have so much miscommunication, misunderstanding and hurt standing between them that it’s a wonder they don’t turn into enemies instead of lovers, yet their chemistry is undeniable. Both are strong-willed, determined and dedicated officers and finding a killer is just another obstacle to working through an association that has more dangers than an exploding star system.

The author does a nice job working Sirena, Slyde and the other characters through the hunt for the lethal serpents, and the scenes where he shifts into dragon form are some of my favorites. I must admit I liked Slyde much more than Sirena, whom I really could never warm up to. She left me with a feeling that Slyde could have done much better for himself in finding a different mate.

Tuesday, August 24, 2010

Crook


Title: Crook
Author: Michael Gouda
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Publisher URL: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-61581-537-1
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Ned Fickler seems to attract trouble when he least expects it. He hasn’t found a job he likes, but that doesn’t mean Ned is willing to go poor. Besides, he needs a bit of adventure in his life, or rather misadventure, to keep his days exciting. Each action causes Ned to create a new layer of lies designed to hide his secrets from his boyfriend. To be a Crook in love with a policeman seems unlikely but Ned, in his own way, does love the handsome Detective. While he juggles the good and bad parts of his life, Ned has to figure out how to stay alive and slightly ahead of the criminals who are capable of ending his young life without a second thought.

Michael Gouda’s Crook takes us on the unbelievable escapades of a criminal with just enough common sense to stay ahead of the eight ball. He does a wonderful job of showing Ned’s maturity level by addressing his inability to keep his knickers on and see the blessing he has in his boyfriend. Thank goodness over time Ned begins to slow down and starts to take the Detective’s love for him seriously.

I liked Ned’s tenacity. He had a good mind but seemed to lack the drive to use it for a more legal venture until he finally found a job that he felt comfortable with. His ability to piece some of the puzzles together showed he was smart, but I don’t think he gave himself the chance to see just how brilliant he could truly be. That and the outside influences of criminal elements sent him on a downward spiral for a time. I don’t think I’ve ever seen such a lucky criminal in all my days. There were points in this story I expected him to be found in a gory mess.

Then we come to the portions of this tale that I wasn’t mentally prepared to read. The derogatory names Ned was called by various characters snuck up on me. I personally like to be warned when the race card comes out to play in a not-so-nice fashion.

Mr. Gouda knows how to twist a story in more knots than a super rollercoaster. Just when I thought, ok he’s reached his limit, yet another event occurs and Ned sank deeper into the quicksand surrounding his young life. The author does a great job of cleaning up all the confusion in Ned’s life, but I couldn’t help feeling sorry for the Detective. By the end of the story, I was wondering which part of his anatomy was making the decisions when it came to Ned. I believe his heart and an organ down south overrode his brain on quite a few occasions.

Crook is an entertaining story that will definitely leave your head spinning.

Monday, August 23, 2010

The Reluctant Prince


Title: The Reluctant Prince
Author: Candice Gilmer
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60928-054-3
Genre: {M/F} Comedy/Suspense
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Goddess Minx

A free woman after divorcing her husband, Sydney Martinson is on her way to Vegas for a hair stylist convention and she intends to enjoy herself. The only thing is she keeps getting the feeling that someone is watching her. While debating whether to throw the coin into the hotel fountain, she hears a sexy voice tell her pray to Ra first and she reacts with an elbow to the gut.

Hadrian Drake is on his way to Vegas for some down time from his Television Show “Pasta Prince”, and the Luxor hotel is his preferred place to stay, because he feels a connection to his heritage there. He manages to avoid his overbearing personal assistant, who so far has controlled his life, and she is the only one who knows that he is third in line to the Koros throne. Hadrian loves his royal family but doesn’t want anything to do with them aside from a visit from time to time. The royalty part he wants kept secret.

This is a modern day fairytale and it was a treat for me to read The Reluctant Prince. There is so much going on in this story, I really had to pay attention to keep up with everything that happening. Ms. Gilmer has created a great realistic “today” story about how someone from the royal family. They wanted to have a life of their own outside of the public eye and not have to worry about being in line to the throne.

Sydney is a very sweet person, who is always ready to forgive a wrong-doing but she wants to move on with her life. The one thing that hindered her was her ex-husband, who found pleasure in stalking Sydney, and in trying to force her to take him back. Her strength during each incident came though Hadrian, who was her support when she needed it, and allowed her to overcome her fears.

I really loved Hadrian’s determination to focus on his job and personal life, separate from the royal family. He is just as sexy off camera, as he is in front of the public, and his willingness to believe in Sydney’s innocence is a plus with me.

There are a lot of secondary characters involved, and each one had a large contribution to make this story complete. Ms. Gilmer really put a spin on all the plotting that went on, and left a lot to the imagination working out who the villain is. This is my first time introduction with this author, and I am hoping for more from her in the future.

May Day


Title: May Day
Author: Bryl R. Tyne
Publisher: Changeling Press
Publisher URL: http://www.changelingpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60521-452-8
Genre: {M/M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 3 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Ed is expecting nothing more for his forty-ninth birthday than a stiff drink and hopefully, a round of anonymous sex in the back room of Yancy's Crossings. However, Ed’s plan for the evening changes when two young men, Ryan and Kyle, desire to spend a night of lovemaking with Ed.

May Day is a well constructed short story with an interesting storyline. The characters exhibit realistic emotions. At his age, Ed feels that Ryan and Kyle were altogether out of his league. Ed would be hard-pressed to keep up with just one of them. Kyle is brash as well as the spokesman for Ryan who is quiet and more emotionally in need of an empathetic lover. Ed loved kissing and both Kyle and Ryan are great kissers. Bryl R. Tyne has created an enjoyable saga with a hint of a future together for the three men.

Anarchy in Blood




Title: Anarchy in Blood
Author: Carol Lynne and T. A. Chase
Publisher: Total E Bound Books
Publisher URL: http://www.total-e-bound.com/
ISBN: 978-0-85715-248-0
Genre: {M/M}, Thriller
Rating: Golden Blush Award
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Aaron loves his job at the White House. Working as the assistant to longtime family friend, President Douglas, means there’s little time for a personal life. When a scandal hits the White House, Aaron knows the only one who can help is former secret service agent Grayson Mills.

Anarchy in Blood is the second story in the Dracul’s Revenge series. Once again, authors Carol Lynne and T. A. Chase have knocked the story out of the ball park. Since I have a big mouth and the possibility of me spilling some secretes to this story is strong, the only thing I will say regarding the political thriller aspect of Anarchy in Blood is OMG! The story is so outstanding that I could very easily see it turned into a movie.

With regard to the romance, once again the reader will be drawn in by the characters. Grayson is a major alpha. He’s strong and capable of taking care of himself and those he cares for. Before starting his own security company, he was a member of the Secret Service where he guarded the Vice President. To keep Grayson from being too perfect, the authors gave him a major flaw; he is an alcoholic. Although recovering, temptation still lingers and many of the little things that Grayson does in order to get through his day are realistic, as those who know someone facing this problem can attest.

Aaron has been involved in politics in some way since he was a teenager. For him, it was only natural to take a job at the White House when his mentor and family friend asks him. The loyalty Aaron feels for those he cares about and works for comes through clearly. When Aaron has reason to contact Grayson, the attraction between them is so strong that it seems natural for them to fall into a relationship.

I do not know how many more books the authors have slated for this series, but I do hope they are not planning to end it anytime soon

Dracul’s Blood




Title: Dracul’s Blood
Author: Carol Lynne and T. A. Chase
Publisher: Total E Bound Books
Publisher URL: http://www.total-e-bound.com
ISBN: 978-0-85715-168-1
Genre: {M/M}, Thriller
Rating: Golden Blush
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

When New York City experiences a series of gruesome murders, Detective Bobby Marks is called in to investigate. He never realized that one sick case would lead him to the love of his life.

Professor Nikolay Radin’s specialty is Eastern European History and when Detective Marks comes to him for help, he can’t help but say yes; anything to keep seeing the sexy detective.

What do you get when you pair two outstanding authors, like Carol Lynne and T. A. Chase? You get Dracul’s Blood; book one in the Dracul’s Revenge series, and one hell of a story. The two aspects of this story are evenly matched so that neither the romance side nor the thriller side overshadows the other.

The men, Nik and Bobby, are attracted to each other from the moment they meet. While both men are openly gay, neither has had any luck in the relationship department. As they get to know each other, the attraction only grows. The passion between them is hot, just like fans of these authors expect.

With regard to the thriller aspect of the plot, it is sure to keep you on the edge of your chair. The murders are bloody and gruesome. Although the first murderer is revealed right away, the identity of the other is kept secret till the end. In fact, when the murderer was revealed, it was a total surprise. While the mystery of the murders revolve around an ancient cask of wine and it’s connection to Vlad the Impaler and his step-brother, do not let the title fool you as this is not a vampire story.

While it was impossible for me to figure out which author wrote what, I was surprised by how smoothly the story flowed. Not only am I looking forward to the rest of this series, I also hope these two plan to do more stories together.