Saturday, January 4, 2014

Top Bidder

Title: Top Bidder
Author: Sean Michael
Publisher: Torquere Press Publishers
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-61040-623-9
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary BDSM Series
Rating:  4Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Kurt’s hasn’t worked at the Hammer long and he’s a little shy, but he longs for a Master of his own. He’s waiting tables the night of the annual Christmas charity auction and gets talked into acting as a substitute when a sub that’s signed up for the event gets caught in traffic. Kurt’s scared, thrilled and afraid no one will bid on him.

Master August has watched Kurt since his first shift but has yet to approach the timid man. Learning he’s taking another sub’s place gives August the perfect opportunity to test their compatibility. All he has to do is win Kurt’s auction.

Top Bidder is the new release in Sean Michael’s Hammer series.  I always look forward to the annual Christmas charity auction stories. This one is no different. It’s fun, entertaining, light-hearted, gives just enough details and provides a brief peek at several earlier characters.

Some of the previous Christmas stories have featured established couples but this one focuses on a new one. Kurt is shy and such a sweetie, afraid and asking about a ‘pity bid’ that you can’t help but smile. He’s new to the BDSM scene---very new—so August has lots to teach him and since Kurt wants to learn—them getting together is easy. It helps that they have great chemistry too.  

Yes, it’s a fluffy holiday piece but it’s just what I wanted at this time of year. That doesn’t mean I didn’t enjoy getting to know August and Kurt or seeing the beginning of their relationship. So, if you enjoy the Hammer books and shy subs learning about what they need, give this Christmas Hammer release a try.

Prince Magnus and the Carpenter

Author: Lyssa Samuels
Publisher: Siren Bookstrand
ISBN/BIN: 9781627408011
Genre: {M/M}, Science Fiction, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Prince Magnus is not only a warrior but head of his people’s security force.  The fact that he was unable to save his parents weighs heavily on his mind.  Feeling unworthy, Magnus does not plan on claiming his aheri, but he never expected to meet someone like Archer either.

The second book in the Royal Mates, Love’s Diamond series, Prince Magnus and the Carpenter, furthers the story of both the Royal family and the problems on Sanzel.  Prince Magnus has more than the normal issues surrounding the deaths of his parents.  It is easy to understand why he feels the way he does and those feelings lend an air of reality to the story.   Where Magnus is tough, Archer is a gentle soul, the result of brain trauma received after his father beat him.  Archer is the perfect aheri for Magnus, as he helps Magnus realize that he is not to blame for his parent’s deaths.  Archer also lends lightness to the story with his innocence.  The connection between them is just as strong as that felt by Merek and Vance in the first book.  But unlike the first couple, these two did not come together easily and I found myself close to tears when Archer tried to remove Magnus’ name. 

While Prince Magnus and the Carpenter takes place at the same time as the first book, there is only a small crossover scene and it is told by the point of view of Magnus and Archer.  Like the first book, there are many secondary characters in this story and the author also gives you a look at the next couple in the series to get their story told.  New problems on Sanzel are revealed as well, and there is a twist that I am sure not many will see coming. 

Readers should keep in mind that this is a series that must be read in order so that the readers get a full understanding of what is going on. 

King Merek and the Mechanic

Author: Lyssa Samuels
Publisher: Siren Bookstrand
ISBN/BIN: 9781627406581
Genre: {M/M}, Science Fiction, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Merek and his brothers need to find their aheris before they can return home and help their people.  Finding them was the easy part, now they have to find a way to keep them.

Author Lyssa Samuels has brought the readers a new series that fans of this genre are sure to enjoy.   King Merek and the Mechanic is the first book in the Royal Mates, Love’s Diamond series.  This is the story that explains everything the readers need to know about Merek, his family, and the world they come from.  I liked that the author gives the reader all this information up front, rather than building the world as she goes.  This does not mean she will not expound on it as each new story comes out.  I also like that the author lets the readers know up front how many books will be in the series, rather than dragging it out. 

Merek and his brothers look like earthlings, yet that is where the similarities end.  As a member of the royal family, Merek has the ability to call up magic.  Bonding with his aheri will enhance that, giving him the ability to better care for his people.  Vance is a mechanic who lives in the same town he grew up in, hanging out with friends he has had since he was a young boy.  There is an instant connection between these two, partly because of the mating pull that exists.  I like the way the author lets these two move easily from friends to lovers.  I also like that Vance is so easily accepting of what Merek tells him. 

There are some twists and turns in King Merek and the Mechanic, especially once they make their way to Sanzel.   There are also a variety of secondary characters; some of these will get stories of their own, while others just help move the story along. 

I enjoyed this first story and am anxiously waiting to see how the rest of this series will play out. I will also be keeping my eyes open for other stories from Ms. Samuels as this book has put her on my must buy list.

Thursday, January 2, 2014

Switch Master

Title:  Switch Master
Author:  Frances Stockton
Publisher:  Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL:  www.jasminejade.com
ISBN/BIN:  9781419948091
Genre:  {M/F}, BDSM, Series
Rating:   4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Samantha decides to give Taran a chance even though she is nine years older than he is and knows he can have any woman he wants.  Taran has wanted Samantha since he met her, when she saved his two sister-in-laws and his brother’s life.  Samantha isn’t sure he will want to keep her after he discovers her secrets.

The sixth installment of the Ink and Kink series, Switch Master, is about the youngest Maddox brother and the cop who is his brother’s partner.  Part of what scares Samantha is that Taran is a Dom and, even though Samantha has mostly submissive tendencies when she isn’t working, she also likes being in charge at times.

The Maddox clan and some of their very close friends make an appearance in this story, helping both Sam and Taran piece together some of Sam’s past and helping Luke, a young man both have taken an interest in. I was surprised by the few people from Sam's past who showed up causing problems and wanted to slap them. One whose actions impacted Sam directly was her father. There was also a big surprise, though as the story progressed, it was easy to anticipate what happened.

I loved how the Maddox clan rallied around Sam and Taran.  The chemistry between the two is great and the scenes they had were intense.  The way Taran treated Sam melted my heart. 

I am hoping there are going to be more stories in this series as some of the characters are also players for the Alexandria Griffins Football team and players have shown up in past stories.  I recommend readers read the series in order to get the most out of the Ink and Kink series.

Wednesday, January 1, 2014

Defeated by Love

Author:  Samantha Kane
Publisher:  Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL:  www.jasminejade.com
ISBN/BIN:  9781419947827
Genre:  {M/M} {M/F}, Regency, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph.

Harry returns from America with the idea he is going to do what is necessary to win Daniel back.  Complications arise when he discovers his wife is pregnant and running from his family, especially when he realizes she turned to Daniel for help.

The latest book in the Brothers in Arms series, Defeated by Love, brings Harry and Daniel back together after a ten year separation.  Daniel has a lot of resentment about how Harry left.  To find out he even abandoned his wife on their wedding night is not something Daniel is sure he wants to deal with at all.  Circumstances bring changes in, not only Daniel’s and Harry’s lives, but their friends as well.  This was also a departure from the majority of the series where the main characters end up in a poly relationship.

I found some of the situations between Harry and Daniel, Daniel and Christy, and some of the other characters quite humorous at times.  Other times I wanted to slap some of the main characters, as well as some of the secondary characters, because they seemed to be acting like overgrown children. 

Daniel’s feelings regarding Harry are quite understandable because he feels Harry abandoned him for a secret life that Daniel didn’t find out about until right before Harry returns to England.  Harry feels he left Daniel under some major misconceptions.  The author did a good job showcasing both men’s feelings and then going about the resolution.  I loved how Daniel finally decided that he needed Harry in his life. 

Readers should read the entire series in order, though it is not really necessary, to get the most of the stories and relationships of the characters.  I am looking forward to reading more books in this series, especially if Sir Barnabas get his happily ever after.

Wholehearted

Title: Wholehearted
Author: Cate Ashwood
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-62798-237-5
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Series
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx           

Life in Hope Cove is usually quiet but that changes the day Officer Declan Grant finds a beaten Lucas Hale barely hanging onto life when he responds to a call at the town docks. Declan’s shocked by his response to Lucas—he wants to find those responsible for his injuries and to keep Lucas safe while he recovers. Neither is easy. Lucas has a huge chip on his shoulder and even spending hours sitting at his bedside does little to make Lucas turn to him for help.

Lucas doesn’t want to think about what happened and Declan pushing to tell who hurt him only makes him angrier. Discharge time comes and with the barest of relationships in place, Lucas agrees to go home with Declan. As the investigation continues, the men grow closer. The question is whether their relationship can weather the truth once it’s revealed.

Wholehearted is the second release in Cate Ashwood’s Hope Cove series. Due to ongoing character relationships, I recommend the books be read in order.

We met Declan in Brokenhearted but he stayed in the background. I’m glad he’s the focus of this book and we get to learn more about him. I could tell he’s a sweet guy and the development of his personality in Wholehearted shows that to be true. Then there’s Lucas. The author did an equally nice job developing his personality. Yes, he’s snarky in the beginning but he’s been terribly hurt, so I can forgive his initial unpleasantness. Actually, very realistic reactions.

I expected this book to be excessively heavy but it isn’t. The author took a painful subject, added two likable, well crafted characters and ended up with a story with dark moments that isn’t allowed to become maudlin. The descriptions are vivid, secondary characters are well integrated and loose threads wrapped up by the end. This book, with its gay-beating topic, definitely isn’t for everyone but I don’t think its graphic enough to bother most readers. 
           
My niggles 1.Declan’s instant love of Lucas. What made the relationship believable is the time it took Lucas to get emotionally involved. 2. Declan should’ve been taken off the case immediately, once his involvement with Lucas became known. 3. I felt the reaction by Lucas is over the top and his forgiveness too quick for how angry he is. 

Even so, I enjoyed this entertaining book and getting to know Declan and Lucas.  One of the biggest surprises is the twist for Oliver and Mack, which came out of left field near the end. I can’t wait to see what this change brings in the future for them. As far as Lucas and Declan—these two had a rocky beginning but they do make a realistic couple, once they get past the bad parts. Look for Hayden in Ironhearted coming next. 

Old Loyalty, New Love

Author: Mary Calmes
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN/BIN: 9781627984751
Genre: {M/M}, Shape-shifter, May-December
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Realizing that his feelings for his boss have gotten out of control and can never move past friendship, Quade has come to the decision that it’s time to move on.  Only Quade does not realize that Roman has also decided that it’s time for some changes to their relationship.  Now it’s just a matter of who will win in the end.

Old Loyalty, New Love is the newest story by author Mary Calmes.  This story is not set as a series, yet I am sure that after reading it, her fans are sure to want more from this world.  A shape-shifter romance, this one is slightly different from what we have seen before.  Quade is a jackal shifter.  Kicked out of his pack for being gay, Quade has no desire to ever return to his family’s territory.  A former military man, he is big, tough and scary, everything a bodyguard needs to be.  Roman is a wealthy businessman.  Although pampered as a kid, Roman is not a stranger to tragedy.   While it is not unusual for an occasional hero to have a minor deformity, I do not think I have ever read a book where one of the heroes has had to face the issues that Roman did.  I like that he is not the perfect hero.  I also like that he does not lose his scars later in the story. 

There is a strong connection between these two men, but the age difference and the fact that Quade is a shifter, throws a monkey wrench into the possibility of a relationship between them.  Roman does not plan to let these problems come between them and sets out to get his man.  I had to laugh when he tells Quade that he knows about the bodyguard being a shifter.  It was clear that Quade was unsure how to react with that bit of news.  Of course, their relationship is not meant to be an easy one and soon problems from Quade’s past show up. 

There are many secondary characters in Old Loyalty, New Love.  Not all of them are likeable, but all are important to the story.  The action of a couple of them was really unbelievable and made me want to smack them.  There are a few twists and turns in this book and the author does a wonderful job wrapping them up in a satisfactory manner. 

This was a great read and I really hope that the author has plans for future stories about these two, as well as some as the secondary characters.  

Fire and Air

Title: Fire and Air
Author: Pelaam
Publisher: MLR Press
Publisher URL: www.mlrbooks.com
ISBN: MLR-1-02013-0176
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

A warm tingling feeling coursed through Kenton's body, he knew it was not coming from the smothering fire he was investigating. Moments later Kenton discovered the sensual vibes were coming from a lurking stranger named Conleth.

Fire and Air is a fascinating romantic suspense. The characters are creditable. Kenton can identify evidence traits that are invisible to most people, which make him invaluable to the police. His extra sensory perceptions also give Kenton insight to the internal chaos in others. Con is skilled at hiding his emotions as well as his elemental abilities. However, the mutual attraction is irresistible. Kenton and Con take advantage whenever they can to indulge in intimacy. 

Pelaam has created an appealing saga that I enjoyed immensely. The main highlights in this heartwarming plot are perceived betrayal, fear of rejection, intimacy, greed and justice.    

Tuesday, December 31, 2013

30 Days to Syn

Title:  30 Days to Syn
Author:  Charlotte Boyett-Compo
Publisher:  Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL:  www.jasminejade.com
ISBN/BIN:   9781419948596
Genre:  {M/F}, Light BDSM, Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Melina would never have considered answering the ad in the paper if not for her brother. After seeing Melina’s picture and finding out more about her, Syn never considered any of the other applicants to his ad and he suspects she will be the one he is looking for.

30 Days to Syn is an emotional fast paced story.  As readers find out more about both Syn and Melina, they will fall in love with both.  I know I did.  There were times when both were also very infuriating, especially when dealing with each other, but I was glad that Melina stood up for herself when necessary.

Most of the secondary characters are wonderful friends, but there were a few that were just bad.  I hated Olivia, and Jack was the worst kind of friend Syn could have, and it became very clear why toward the end of the book.  I also wanted to know what happened to Jack. As the story progresses, readers discover why Syn’s friends are as close as siblings and I admired their loyalty.

The author created a scenario that allowed feelings to develop without a lot of sex which sometimes clouds judgments. Once Syn and Melina get together, the chemistry burns the pages.  Because of the insecurities each have, I can understand how the misunderstanding happened when it did, and I am glad things finally worked out for the two.  

Even though 30 days to Syn is a stand-alone book, I want to find out what happened to Syn’s friends and more of their stories.  I hope the author is planning some in the future.

Inside Out

Title: Inside Out
Author: Andrew Grey
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN/BIN: 9781627982610
Genre: {M/M}, Contemporary
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Bull is part owner and head of security of a local night club.  He’s a firm believer in not eating where you sleep so when he is in need of sex, he hits one of the other bars in town.  All that changes when he meets Zach, a twink who easily brings Bull to his knees. 

Inside Out is by author Andrew Grey.  I am a big fan of this author and thought I knew what to expect with this story, however I was wrong.  Inside Out, in my opinion, is different from other stories by this author, yet the book is just as good and is on my favorites list.  Well written, the story pulled me in from the beginning.

Bull is a big tough former mercenary and very no-nonsense.  He likes being in control, something that the author brings across very well.  Zach, on the other hand is the opposite of Bull.  On the small side, he works at a job he doesn’t like and dreams of one day making a living as a graphic artist.  After meeting Bull, Zach makes him the hero in his graphic novel.  The two men are drawn to each other, but Bull has never felt this way about anyone before and isn’t sure how to act.  The fact that the author pairs these two different people together means there are sure to be some laughs.  I loved their first meeting and could just see Zach giggling as he is being checked by Bull at the club’s door. 

Of course, not everything goes smoothly for these two as issues from both sides pop up.  This will only keep the reader more engaged in the story as they find themselves eager to see what will happen.    

I loved Inside Out and would like to see some of the secondary characters find stories of their own.  Fans of this author are sure to love this new book and if you have yet to read one of Mr. Grey’s books, this is a great one to start with.

Removing the Gargoyle’s Mask

Author: Charlie Richards
Publisher: eXtasy Books
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-77111-755-5
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Dragon Minx

One night Marty Beakman see’s a bearded but cloaked man at a local coffeehouse and is captivated. He returns numerous times afterwards trying to learn more besides the name of Raymond. Marty’s there so much his brother notices and confronts him about his odd behavior. Marty’s obsessed with Raymond and one night follows him from the coffeehouse and gets the shock of his life when Raymond removes his clothes and flies off. He isn’t human.

At first sight, Raymond knows Marty is his mate. That doesn’t mean he knows how to have a relationship, so starts with the internet to learn all he can about him. Raymond finally contacts Marty and they start communicating online, which leads to friends getting involved in ways he never imagined. Can two guys from vastly different worlds find a way to be happy to together?

Removing the Gargoyle’s Mask is the newest release in A Paranormal’s Love by Charlie Richards. With all the recurring characters, I strongly recommend the books be read in order.

What a fun and entertaining addition to this series. Once again Ms. Richards has created a great couple, so different on the outside but a perfect match at heart. I like these two and how their relationship develops. We learn bits and pieces about them throughout the story, which rounds out their personalities pretty well. It makes me hope for more of them in future releases, particularly since we don’t get to see Raymond in his human form at book’s ending. Maybe he’ll molt in the next one. 

I enjoyed the previous characters—and there are a lot—but they’re a good addition to the plot, not a distraction. They make me smile and give a good sense of family, loyalty and camaraderie. Now to the stalker/villain. His part of the story is important to the overall plot but his actual part of the story is resolved quickly (my niggle). The results of his actions—what happened to Marty—are believable and continue to the story ending. There are several new characters I hope to see again in future books—maybe as mates?

Apple Mead

Title: Apple Mead
Author: West Thornhill
Publisher: Totally Bound Publishing
Publisher URL: www.totallybound.com
ISBN: 9781781848425
Genre: {Six Male Ménage} Fantasy Series
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs  
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

I’m nothing special; this is how Xeno always thought of himself until the five men from Delectable Vines found Xeno again months after a night of their first love fest. Not only is Xeno special, he is necessary to complete the guardian’s circle.

Apple Mead is the first book in the Delectable Vines series. The setting is a small community outside of Charlottesville, Virginia. The plot is a succession of intimacy scenes; I assume this is the primary element of the storyline. The characters are somewhat interesting but lack depth. Five fae men are guardians for the Tuatha de Danaan treasure as well as the owners of a vineyard. Xeno is a graduate student of medieval studies. He has distinguishing tattoos that could possibly indentify his true linage as Fae. Xeno is also the essential bond that connects all the men together. 

Overall, West Thornhill’s Apple Mead is an enjoyable saga that instigates more questions than the plot answers.  I look forward to a more developed storyline in the next episode. 

Brac Pack Halloween Murder Mystery

Author: Lynn Hagen
Publisher: Siren Bookstrand
ISBN/BIN: 9781627407533
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, Holiday, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Maverick feels his life is in a rut and he’s ready to shake things up a bit.  To do that, he, and the three other family leaders, decided to throw a big Halloween party.  Things turn crazy from the get-go, but what would you expect when the mates are involved.

Brac Pack Halloween Murder Mystery is the thirty-second book in Ms. Hagen’s long running Brac Pack series.  This story is more of interlude, yet it was one of the best additions to the series in some time.  I thought this story took the series back to its lighter moments, before all the families had enemies and crises to battle.  Mate centered, Johnny, Nero, Keata, and Gabby find themselves in the limelight. 

During the party (wait until you find out what their costumes are), Gabby finds Cecil lying dead on the floor.  What follows will leave you laughing.  More than once I was glad I was reading this book at home so no one could see me cracking up.  The interrogations are over the top, and I loved the case notes Johnny was taking.  When the ‘case’ is solved, Johnny and his friends decide a little revenge is in order.  These four can be evil when need be and it’s a good thing their mates know just how to handle them.

There is also a bit of a side story going on that opens up the possibility of new books in the series.  I am sure fans of this series will love this little side story.  Many former characters show up, all of whom add a wealth of flavor to the book. 

Monday, December 30, 2013

At Heart

Title: At Heart
Authors: A.J. Llewellyn & D.J. Manly
Publisher: Silver Publishing
ISBN/BIN: 9781622320875
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Sam Channing has quit his bad-boy ways and is now on the side of the law, enduring a seventeen week training program with the US Marshals. He doesn’t tolerate authority well and thinks about giving up but can’t disappoint Marco. As Sam deals with another trainee who’s being aggressive, he’s worried about his lover and the danger he’s in with a crazy Canadian actor and then in a hostage situation gone bad. Then the danger escalates at his graduation ceremony and Sam gets to see Marco and other rangers in action when they’re attacked. Can Sam, Marco and the ranger friends he and Marco love find the people responsible before they can hurt anyone else?

At Heart is the newest release in the Orgasmic Texas Dawn series by AJ Llewellyn and DJ Manly. With the recurring characters and the ongoing plot line, I recommend the books be read in order.

Sam’s a great character and his old life as a gang leader adds an interesting edge to his new life as a Marshal. I can’t wait to see what the authors have in mind for him in the next book since he’s already used it to his advantage in this one. The melding of the two worlds—crime and law—is handled well, making his transition into Marshal Service believable. Good going authors.  I also find his long history with Marco intriguing and their chemistry is sizzling. Then there’s Marco himself. I’ve liked him since his introduction and his personality only gets richer with each book. Now as a full-fledged Marshal, he’s a well rounded, interesting guy. A perfect match for Sam. 

There’s plenty of action and danger in At Heart but that doesn’t mean there aren’t funny moments too. Some of my favorites are the antics with the psycho Canadian actor.  They’re good scenes—entertaining, creative, exciting and believable, despite how nutty they seem. Best of all we get to see beloved characters from previous books working as a team to solve the graduation day attack. I can’t wait to see what happens with these guys in the future. Watch for the next book.

Once Upon a Prince

Author: Jambrea Jo Jones
Publisher: MLR Press
Publisher URL: www.mlrbooks.com
ISBN: MLR-1-02013-0174
Genre: {M/M} Fantasy Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Prince Ember Coruscate never thought much about freedom until his freedom is taken away by a couple of delusional wizards bent on revenge. Nevertheless, captivity is short lived when Roar Sliger, along with a few magical folk, come to Ember’s rescue.

Once Upon a Prince is the second book in the Ever After series. The plot is a romantic comedy with a dash of drama. Ember is a fun loving dragon shifter. The only thing Ember takes seriously is the discovery of his mate. Ember and Roar have been friends for years, yet Ember never really noticed Roar’s appeal before magic opened his eyes. Roar has spent years tormented by unrequited love as well as the fear of Ember’s rejection. Kissing Ember immediately altered all of Roar’s dread to optimism for their future together. 

Jambrea Jo Jones has created a wonderfully steamy and particularly enjoyable friend to lover short story. I look forward to the next episode.    

After the Rain

Author: Daisy Harris
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
ISBN/BIN: 9781619219793
Genre: {M/M}, Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

ARC – not due to be published until Feb. 2014

Logan thought that once he came out to his girlfriend, everything else would flow smoothly.  Only meeting someone isn’t as easy as he thought and the one guy he is interested in already has a boyfriend.  When he gets invited to go on a campout with a group of possible hook ups, he goes.  Unfortunately, that’s when he meets Henri and Logan can’t decide whether he wants to strangle the guy, or get him into the sack.

After the Rain is the second book in the Fire and Rain series by author Daisy Harris.  The characters are interesting and readers will find it easy to like Logan from the beginning.  A young firefighter, Logan is not even 21 and has already had to make one life-changing decision.  Unable to deny the fact that he is gay, he comes clean to his girlfriend.  As the reader would expect, that does not go over very well and results in some unforeseen issues for Logan.  I liked that little twist the author threw in as most would have glossed over the problems Logan had regarding sex with his ex and how that would, or could, relate to having sex with a man.  Then there is Henri.

Henri is only a year or two older than Logan, yet surpasses the firefighter when it comes to gay sex and relationships.  However, Henri’s relationship choices have not exactly been the best, so he is a little jaded.  This makes him the perfect foil for Logan’s innocence.   It was interesting seeing these two come together, especially given the circumstances Henri is currently living under.  The chemistry between them is strong, though neither is sure what to do about it.  Once they come together physically, however, they really heat up the pages. I liked the way Logan persisted with Henri, going out of his way to let the other man know that Henri’s possible health issues would not be chasing him off.   While their growing relationship causes Logan to grow more confident, it also causes Henri to grow up a little, as well. 

After the Rain is a fast-paced read with a majority of the story taking place over a weekend.  The characters are engaging and I loved the way Henri handled his final meeting with Preston.  While this story is part of a series, it can be read as a stand-alone.

Fingerprints and Muddy Feet

Author: Carol Lynne
Publisher: Totally Bound Publishing
Publisher URL: www.totallybound.com
ISBN/BIN: 9781781848852
Genre: {M/M/M} Contemporary Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Nate Gills became estranged from his family at age eighteen when they discovered he was gay. He left with hush money in hand, made a successful life for himself and even found love but has never completely gotten over the feelings of betrayal. When Nate learns his younger brother and sister-in-law have died in a plane crash, all his unresolved family emotions coming crashing around him. The biggest shock is learning he’s been named guardian of his young niece and nephew—two children he’s never met. It’s a lot to deal with…and his stuffy senator father is furious. Nate’s other concern—Rio and Ryan didn’t bargain on raising kids. Can their relationship survive adding two kids to the household?

Fingerprints and Muddy Feet is the newest release in Carol Lynne’s Cattle Valley series. Due to the ongoing relationship of Nate, Rio and Ryan, I recommend you read the other books featuring them first.

I couldn’t be more surprised with the direction the lives this committed threesome takes with the release of this newest Cattle Valley book. Ms. Lynne came up with a twist with the potential to unsettle their relationship and sets them up for all kinds of changes. I couldn’t be more pleased with this turn of events. Not only does it give a good look into Nate’s past with his parents but it brought two great kids into the storyline. *Chuckle* I can’t wait to see what trouble they cause as they grow older.

Another thing I like is how the addition of the children affects Rio and Ryan and the emotions that surface. I appreciate their initial honesty of not wanting to share Nate but enjoyed how they came around to care for the kids. It’s nice seeing the ‘parent’ side to all three guys, and it’s handled realistically. 

Because I love the Cattle Valley stories so much and Nate, Rio and Ryan in particular, I always want the length to be longer. My niggle—the ending seemed abrupt.

A Happy Christmas Ending

Author: Christiane France 
Publisher: Amber Allure
ISBN: 978-1-61124-525-7
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Drew has the uneasy feeling that something is terribly wrong in his relationship with Michael, but what could it be?

A Happy Christmas Ending is an exceptionally touching holiday sequel to Raindrops And Roses, the first book in the London Calling series. Drew and Michael are still in the getting-to-know-each-other phase. Drew is a Canadian transplanted to London by his job. Michael’s home has always been England. The main theme is lack of communication, which is imperative in a successful relationship. Michael, who is very independent as well as stubborn, has a stressful problem that is interrupting his life. Nevertheless, Michael refuses to reveal any of the details to Drew, who has become a little impatient with Michael’s silence. Finally discussing the disastrous proceedings in progress, Michael and Drew are able to find an agreeable solution for the future.   

Christiane France’s wonderfully enjoyable A Happy Christmas Ending is just as the title implies. 

Promises of Mercy

Author:    Vella Day 
Publisher:  Erotic Reads Publishing (sold by Amazon Digital Services, Inc.)
Publisher URL:  www.amazon.com
ISBN/BIN:   978-0-9899759-0-2
Genre:  {M/F/M}, Suspense, Cowboy, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Amber comes under suspicion for being an Angel of Mercy after several patients die.  Amber meets Stone after her brother is in an accident, but she had met Cade when he questioned her after the first murder.

Promises of Mercy is the first book in the Montana Promises series by Vella Day.  This is the first book by Ms. Day I’ve read and I was not disappointed.  Ms. Day wove the romance of three people into a very good suspense mystery.  The romance part of the story comes together gradually, but the reader very quickly gets caught up in the mystery.

Amber and Cade both have issues getting close to other people, but Stone comes from a very affectionate and loving family.  As the relationship between the three evolves, there are several bumps along the way including finding time for the three to be together.  The scenes between Amber, Stone and Cade are hot and the chemistry is apparent, even when it is Amber and only one of the men.

All the staff at the hospital are under suspicion until Cade is able to clear at least Amber. As things progress, the reader starts to get an inkling which one of two people is probably the guilty party.  I was surprised how the actual guilty party was disclosed.  It was totally unexpected.

Friends and family play a big part in how all three interact with each other, as well as other secondary characters.  Amber’s interaction with her weekly ‘girls night happy hour’ was funny at times.  

I am looking forward to reading the Montana Promises series and Promises of Mercy was a good start.