Saturday, January 24, 2009

Matilda’s Song


Title: Matilda’s Song
Author: JoAnn Smith Ainsworth
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 1-60504-195-5
Genre: Historical Romance
Nymph Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Goddess Minx

Matilda is waiting for her one true love to come along but before her dreams can come to past the overlord of the lands wants her to marry a knight who will not treat her well. Now that she recognizes her feelings for Lord Geoff there are only two things she can do and neither is what she wants.

Lord Geoff heard singing and had to see the person himself. When he saw Matilda it was instant love and knowing that she was Saxon was definitely going to cause problems for him. Each time that he forced his attention on her, they spent more time together than planned.

Matilda’s Song is a beautiful historic story with scarifies for more than one person and it only got better. The characters and their clothing were described in great detail and I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. The beginning of the deceit started out harmless but quickly ended up being something much more than either person expected. JoAnn Smith Ainsworth writes of love, mystery and adventure here and the outcome is nothing of what I had even hoped it would be, but a much more rewarding ending.

As Good as it Gets


Title: As Good as it Gets
Author: Zoe Nichols
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerebooks.com/
ISBN: N/A
Genre: Contemporary, M/M
Nymph Rating: 3 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Caen Nymph

Rick really wants some ice-cream and whilst waiting in line, he meets Devon, the cute ice-cream scooper. Rick flirts a little but moves off, wondering what it would have been like to have that slender body in his arms. Fortunately, Rick meets Devon again in his bar and this time he’s decides to take Devon home with him.

Rick is an alpha male but without the arrogance. He knows he’s good in bed – but he wants both his pleasure and his partner’s to coincide. The erotic nature of this story is simply unashamedly hot. The author delves into the sexual play between Rick and Devon, but not so much that the sex scenes become empty and repetitive. However, what I found to be the down side was the author’s need to make this into a love story. The scale for a romance story is much higher and one this story could not play on. The sudden ‘I have fallen in love’ just made this story to be unbelievable and very jarring. The complete turn-around from sex to love was too big to ignore in this story and I felt the author notched down the enjoyment of the story for me.

Whilst As Good As It Gets is a good story, I just wish the author went with the flow, as opposed to making this into something it wasn’t ready to be. The characters were on a brink of a journey, one I would have loved to be a part of; but with the road the author led her characters it is suffice to say this is the premature end to what could have been an interesting path.

However the author’s use of language and characterisation are the redeeming points in this story. I can only have wished for a more believable conclusion for the characters in the end.

Daybreak


Book Title: Daybreak
Author: Keira Andrews
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: http://www.loose-id.net/
ISBN: 978-1-59632-809-9
Genre: LGBT Erotic Contemporary
Nymph Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx


For those who enjoyed Eight Nights, Lucas and Nate have returned to us with a brand new story. The men have decided to make a go of it and live together. For Lucas, Nate is the first man who has ever shown him true passion. Nate is stepping out on a limb himself, because he has sworn off relationships. However, they are determined to give love a try. A moment of weakness leads to duplicity, and it will take love, and forgiveness for their relationship to succeed.

I’ll say right off I loved these characters. They were funny, loving, passionate, caring and most of all, human in their reactions. Their reactions to one other, as well as the complications playing a dramatic role in their relationship, stemmed from human emotion. Who among us hasn’t had their world torn apart by betrayal and hurt? Sometimes, we make rash decisions and lash out at those we love. There were moments during this story that I truly wanted to give both Lucas and Nate shaken-character-syndrome. I mean there is but so much you can take when you know two people deserve one another. However, I got over that thanks to the quick wit of Nate’s brother Sam. If ever a supporting character was a plus in a book, Sam proves it with his banter. When the story ended, I found myself respecting him as a brother, but he’s definitely a man I wouldn’t date. Ms. Andrews brings the hard reality of relationships, family, unfaithfulness, forgiveness and acceptance to us in this holiday story. If you enjoyed the first story, you truly won’t be disappointed when you read Daybreak.

Daybreak


Book Title: Daybreak
Author: Keira Andrews
Publisher: Loose Id
ISBN: 978-1-59632-809-9
Genre: LGBT Erotic Contemporary
Nymph Rating: 2.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs reviewer: Caen Nymph


Meeting for the first time last Hanukkah, Nate and Lucas embark on a new relationship after months apart. Now living in their own apartment, they can finally be together. However, the only thing to damper their foray into sexual bliss is the fact Nate is lying to his parents about who he really is.

Nate and Lucas’s dream finally shatters when they realise living together isn’t all so perfect. Both men go through a period of lies and deceit, but can they find their way back to each after?

Daybreak is the sequel to the author’s first story Eight Nights. The previous book introduced us to Nate and Lucas, and gives a glimpse of their steamy sex life together. Daybreak pushes the envelope showing the life of young adults, maneuvering their way through college life and everything in between. The author delves into a lot of issues in this book; living together for the first time, being in the closet, cheating and broken hearts. All these are great themes to build a very angst filled book. However all the hardships the characters go through, I had a hard time sympathising with either of them. The writing didn’t provoke any passion from me, didn’t evoke any sadness. When the characters went through their troubled times, I wish I could have felt the heartache within the writing, but sadly I didn’t. The passages seemed clinical to me, without any emotion.

I found the story to be too empty at times; it followed a set pattern in the beginning. Some dialogue, sex, some dialogue, sex and so forth until the main drama came along. I didn’t find the sex scenes remotely erotic, and I felt the story was just too bogged down with the main hero’s sexual encounters in the beginning.

I found the issues too neatly tied up, and unfortunately I didn’t believe the story in the end. However the author touches on some great topics in her story, and she has some sporadic moments were I did enjoy the tale, especially within her character Casey. I also liked the fact she centred both her stories on young adults, and attempted to show the life of college students and their life in general.

Holding Holly


Title: Holding Holly
Author: Viola Grace
Publisher: Extasy Books
Publisher URL: http://www.extasybooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-55487-199-5
Genre: Paranormal/Fantasy/Dragons/Shapeshifter/Romance
Nymph Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Goddess Minx


Holly is trying to escape the holidays with family and friends because she does not want to experience the depressing emotions that always follow. So she makes her way up to the mountains for solitude, and is overwhelmed by a dragon named Kevik, who does helpful things for her without her knowledge.

Kevik, a dragon lord of the Northern Waste that can shift from winged man to dragon with some difficulty, has finally found his mate, Holly. He has been the guardian of Underhill portal since it has been open, and was lurking in the shadows of her home when Holly sees him. She is not afraid of him no matter what his form because she is different too and wants him to feel welcomed around her. When he decides to takes her to see Santa, who is a perverted old elf, it wasn’t what she was expecting, especially with him touching her where she did not want him too. Holly was sure to let him know how she felt about his behavior.

Holding Holly is a fabulous short story leading up to a grand finale with the Sisters of Silverwood series. Very soon, it seems, and looks like the ladies will be up for the task too. The fact that the two lovers came together quickly did not surprise me, and when the Lios elf destroyed Holly’s home, it spoke volumes about their bad arrogant behavior that they were known to display. Oh, to be able to fly on a dragon’s back! Viola Grace does this book a lot of justice and gets right to the point that needs to be told.

Sexy Games


Title: Sexy Games
Author: Madeleine Oh
Publisher: Changeling Press
Publisher URL: http://www.changelingpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60521-074-2
Genre: Light BDSM
Nymph Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amazon Nymph


Tom, Jenny’s childhood friend, introduced her to Basil Wallace. At the party later that evening, Basil suggests that they skip out for an evening of spectacular sex. Jenny accepts and they end up in the studio above the garage. After Basil’s talk with Tom about Jenny, he slowly introduces her to light bondage.

Basil wants more than a one-night stand and he plans to tie Jenny down for the long haul.

Sexy Games is fast-paced and keeps the heat going. I definitely kept the ice handy. This is one for the bookshelf.

A Cowboy Family Christmas


Title: A Cowboy Family Christmas
Author: BA Tortuga
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerebooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-59632-810-5
Genre: Gay, Christmas
Nymph Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Dillon has a lot of plans for this Christmas. His relationship with Coke is going strong, and his man is healing nicely from a major injury. Wanting to spend some time together, the two of them go to Dillon's place where there will be family, sleigh rides, snow, and a lot of loving. When one of their friends needs help, however, the two men drop everything and head out for Texas.

BA Tortuga’s A Cowboy Family Christmas is a small glimpse into the lives of Dillon and Coke, the two rodeo cowboys we met in Roughstock: And A Smile. Picking up shortly after the end of the last book, we get to see the two men prepare for the holidays, surrounded by friends and family. We are also given a look into the future as everyone is called out to help AJ, another rodeo family member. If you love reading about cowboys you will love this series.

Sexation




Title: Sexation
Author: Alice Gaines
Publisher: Changeling Press
Publisher URL: Changeling Press
ISBN: 978-1-60521-089-6
Genre: Humor, Sci-Fi, BDSM
Nymph Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Silver Minx

Carly Osborn finds herself a little green man who thinks she is a professor of sex and he is there to learn! This little green man, whose name is It, the Twenty Third, has come to Earth for Sexation. Sexation is a vacation for sex according to It. Since her husband, Randall and she hadn’t been doing so well in the sex department lately, this was an interesting prospect.

You need a spew warning for this book. It, Carly and Randall have awesome ménage sex that is everything from sex in the water to light BDSM. The language barriers make for interesting conversation between It and the Osborns. “Take me to your vibrator,” is classic. I about choked on my drink while reading it. The story itself was great as well. Sexation shows the conflicts of a normal marriage and how the alien helped Carly and Randall remember the more passionate side to life. Great Job!!!

Santa Please


Book Title: Santa Please
Author: Jade Falconer
Publisher: Phaze Books
Publisher URL: http://www.phaze.com/
ISBN 978-1-60659-103-1
Genre: Contemporary Holiday M/M Erotic Romance
Nymph Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx


Ian has come to terms with his sexuality, but it comes with a price. His usual routine for the holidays has changed dramatically. Ian takes a job as a department store Santa, hoping to fill the lonely void of his new reality but what he discovers is love and a bright future with his elf, James.

I was fortunate enough to curl up with a copy of Jade Falconer’s Santa Please over the holidays. I tell you this author knows how to stoke the coals and keep the fires burning hot. The encounters between Ian and James were passionate, loving, and combustible. James showed Ian that his choice could be positive and lead to a love and happiness. I was proud of Ian’s ability to take the bulls by the horn and just go for it. In addition, some of the scenes between the men had me laughing hard enough to cause tears. Let us just say I’ll never view elf stockings the same. For those who missed reading this book over the holidays, put on a bit of Christmas music, have a cup of eggnog and enjoy the experience. This is definitely a story that will touch readers.

Cry Sanctuary


Title: Cry Sanctuary
Author: Moira Rogers
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 1-60504-215-3
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Nymph Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

Sanctuary means different things to different people, but to Keith Winston, it means going home to Montana for the first time in five long, lonely, dangerous years. After spending months fighting in Europe in the war between the Wizards and Werewolves, he’s tired and in need of a change; a chance to renew his spirit and get reacquainted with his friends and pack. But even coming home to Red Rock Pass has its drawbacks; this world weary pack enforcer is expected to resume his duties initiating newly changed Werewolves. When he rescues a female on the run from her vicious Alpha, Keith knows he’s in trouble, because he can’t deny their attraction, or that his wolf demands he claim the female as his.

Abigail Adler didn’t know Werewolves existed until she was turned into one against her will. The local pack alpha of Helena is a power hungry and corrupt leader who’s determined to make Abby his, whether she likes it or not. She desperately needs help and gets it in the form of her long-time friend, Dylan, a non-dominate werewolf who takes her to sanctuary at Red Rock Pass. Before they can get to their destination, they’re attacked and almost taken prisoner, but are saved by pack enforcer Keith. Realizing that she can’t go back to her home, she tries to make a life for herself with her new pack, except her old Alpha isn’t finished with her. He kidnaps her younger sister in order to get Abby back under his control, and it’s up to Abby and Keith to save her by breaking the very rules Keith swore to uphold.

Cry Sanctuary is the first release in Moira Rogers’s new and exciting Red Rock Pass series, and if the rest of the books are as well-written as this one, its readers are in for a fantastic literary treat. This paranormal gem has it all…great story building with seamlessly placed background information, well-developed, likable heroine and hero Abby and Keith, and strong secondary characters that are essential to the ongoing story line. Truly there isn’t anything about this fast-paced book that I didn’t like. It drew me into the story from the first page and wouldn’t let go as I raced to the end.

I loved Keith’s character. He’s loyal, dedicated and determined to do what’s best for his pack, but the man is more than a little emotionally damaged by events in his personal past. Abby is a normal everyday woman. She’s not a kick-ass martial arts defender of others, but she’ll fight to defend those she loves, no matter what the sacrifice. The human/wolf connection between these two is immediate and something neither can deny, even though they both try…at least at first. And the sex? All I can say is get a fan and keep it handy, because you’re going to need it.

Dylan’s secondary character could have easily been pushed to the background once they reached Red Rock Pass, but I was pleased to find his storyline continuing with his involvement with Cindy. Then there’s the powerful Alphas of their pack, Sam and Gavin, interesting and intriguing wolves both and I’d love to learn more about their story. Lastly there’s Keith’s old friend Joe, a handy man to have around in a fight and one who loves to blow things up. I can’t wait to read more about him in the next installment in this series in Sanctuary Lost.

Francine On Fire


Title: Francine On Fire
Author: Sloane Taylor
Publisher: Aspen Mountain Press
Publisher URL: http://www.aspenmountainpress.com/
ISBN: 9781601680600
Genre: Contemporary
Nymph Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amazon Nymph

Francine Daniels doesn’t trust men and there’s definitely no place in her life for a German hottie…even if she does burst into flames at his touch.

Heicke Brewer has a reputation until he meets Francine. He tries to resist because he already had a very disastrous marriage. His ex-wife tries to get between Heicke and Francine, once they get together.

Francine and Heicke see each other and the sparks fly. Both have some very big baggage that gets in the way of their relationship in addition to an age difference where Francine is older than Heicke. You feel like you are experiencing Francine’s emotions as you read their story. Francine On Fire, the third installment of the Magnificent Men of Munich series. The book had some typos that slowed some areas down, but is a good contemporary romance story.

Baker’s Dozen


Title: Baker’s Dozen
Author: Dallas Coleman
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerebooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60370-588-2
Genre: M/M Contemporary
Nymph Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Caen Nymph

After years of dedication, Bryan is now a master chocolatier but he spends all his time stuck in a kitchen and missing his dead lover. His apprentice James thinks the man needs to live a little; but the old man is wasting away in his bowls and sweets. Can Bryan finally find his happily-ever-after?

Baker’s Dozen is a complex story that does not stop with the main characters. This novel brings a hoard of characters in the name of Bryan’s customers. The story is filled with three-dimensional characterisations, eroticism and overall seductive imagery. The author has pulled out all the stops in this genuine story about love and heartache.

Whilst the introduction of numerous characters is dealt with amazingly, some characters shone brighter than others. However the wealth of characters in this story never showed any repetition and each character’s story was original and told achingly well. What also made each story connect was it always went back to the two main heroes James and Bryan. Each story inked to Bryan’s and James’s well-loved chocolates.

Baker’s Dozen is a daring novel, and one that may require a specific audience because it deals with a lot more than just one couple. However Dallas Coleman has done a great job with this story, and it’s a story that really made the start to the New Year that much sweeter.

I Married a Demon


Title: I Married a Demon
Author: Beverly Rae
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60504-245-9
Genre: Paranormal Romantic Comedy
Nymph Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

Jennifer Randall is a Level 10 Protector who works for a secret society bent on ridding the world of all the dangerous creatures that go bump in the night. She’s good at her job, but hasn’t taken a vacation in years, and lately she’s been making a few mistakes…actually five serious mistakes. Forced on a paid leave by her boss to beautiful St. Thomas, she meets and falls in love with hunky Blake Barrington. Her previous problems of juggling her real estate day and protector by night just got worse, because now she has a new husband to add to the mix. How’s she supposed to explain to Blake that she needs to go out hunting werewolves, demons, and gargoyles, instead of staying home for a little newlywed nookie? And if that wasn’t bad enough, her Protector boss just assigned her to find the Bracelet of Invincibility before a demon lord does.

Blake Barrington would like nothing more than to regain his mortality, so he can spend the rest of his life with his new, sexy wife. Unfortunately, before he can do that he needs to find the Bracelet of Invincibility, created by Satan for Hitler, and turn it over to his demon high lord. The only problem with this little plan is that part of the contract means killing his wife. Getting around this stipulation is made more difficult by fact that Blake’s cursed brother is also looking for the bracelet.

I Married a Demon is a fast-paced, fun and often silly look into the world of defending mankind from the creatures of the underworld. Jennifer might have been a successful agent for the Society for the Protection of Mortals and Control of Supernatural Being for years, but she actually reminds me more of Maxwell Smart in the old Get Smart television show. She’s full of good intentions, but her instincts are a little off kilter for her to be an effective agent. Jennifer has her share of wacky gadgets, and lets not forget about the strange little house that’s actually society headquarters…hiding in plain site. You’ve got Satan, demons, ghouls, zombies, imps, a good friend, an annoying boss, an aging Marilyn Monroe, and numerous attempts on Jennifer’s life. How she manages to keep from getting killed by every underworld creature she runs into, is an absolute miracle.

The story is told in a first person viewpoint…Jennifer’s, and while I liked knowing what was going on in her head, I would have loved to know what Blake was thinking. His actions are saying that he loves his wife, and the sex…well, let’s just say it’s lusty and frequent, and happens all over the house. Theirs might be a case of true love, but a protector and a demon couple will need all the help they can get, because her job and the underworld are against them.

Die Slowly For Me


Book Title: Die Slowly For Me
Author: T. L. Gray
Publisher: Cerridwen Press
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 978-1-41991-536-9
Genre: Romantic Suspense
Nymph Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Goddess Minx

Since Nikki Jones is the only woman in the Special Forces branch of the Army, she has a lot to prove to stay in that position and the men are not making it easy on her. With her past problems re-surfacing to haunt her and Marshall crowding her, the situation escalates beyond their belief. Nikki has to keep everything under control and Marshall is not a man that she can do that to so they end up angry at each other most of the time.

Marshall Eastwood has had to take care of others most of his life and it carries over into the job he has now. When he meets Nikki, there is instant electricity between them and it never stops even when things go bad. After seeing what had been done to her while growing up sets him on edge. It makes it harder for him not to smother her with his caring, without her temper flaring knowing that he could not tell her what he knew already.

Die Slowly for Me is a beautiful story about a young woman overcoming abuse, along with the help of a very strong man’s understanding. This book kept me reading to find out what was going to happen next, and talk about hot sex scenes between Nikki and Marshall! Through this story, the cat had my vote and I was kept laughing, wanting to cry or root for the characters that were always on an emotional roller coaster ride.

There was a lot of in-depth research done on the Special Forces and I was very impressed by T. L. Gray’s writing. From the beginning of this book until the end you did not know what to expect to happen, and I was not disappointed at all by the author. What stands out more for me is the fact that love won out regardless of any adversities that came about.

Wednesday, January 21, 2009

Taste Test: Archangels Unleashed


Title: Taste Test: Archangels Unleashed
Author: Kiernen Kelly
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerebooks.com/
ISBN: 78-1-60370-536-3
Genre: M/M Paranormal
Nymph Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Caen Nymph


Earthbound (2 Nymphs)

Gabriel has come to Earth to see if there is anything worth saving. With the atrocity of Earth’s smells and violence, he believes that the world should end its horrid existence. However, when he meets a young man named Tommy, Gabriel’s views change dramatically. Earthbound is a story about a typical angel who thinks Earth is a disgusting place. The characterization of Gabriel was pretty sub-standard and I felt the author didn’t take initiative and instead used a very stereotypical view of what angels may be. I didn’t believe the romance between Tommy and Gabriel. Going from saving someone to falling in love in a space of a few minutes didn’t make me believe the romance between the heroes. The author could have made Gabriel help Tommy with his ordeal first, then move onto friendship and then love. I felt it went from start to finish, without making any sense at all. Overall the story lacked any spark for me.

Healing Hands (3 Nymphs)

Archangel Raphael has come to Earth to save Archangel Michael’s progeny from the pits of Hell. However, Pistol is a little bitter and jaded, which makes Raphael’s job a lot harder. Healing Hands was a lot better in terms of characterisation, especially with the character of Pistol. He was hard-headed, bad-mouthed and a tad sexy. He brought a lot more humour and action into this story. But again I felt the angel brought down the story, the stunted dialogue was a little jarring; and at times Raphael seemed like a damsel in distress. Whilst these things did bother me in the story, I did find Raphael to be a sweet character to read.

Dominion Quod Obsequium (5 Nymphs)

God has sent Archangel Michael to Earth; he needs a vacation and some time away from being the rigid and domineering angel that he is. However his vacation leads to be more exciting than he imagined. WOW! This story may cause some controversy and it’s something that can’t be mentioned as it is considered a spoiler, but hot damn, was this one hell of a story. The author took initiative, dared and in the end produced one hot steamy story. This is imagination and this is originality. The author’s characterisation of Michael was spot on, the dialogue in this story was not stunted and flowed pleasingly well. The clincher at the end had me fanning myself. Dominion Quod Obsequium really is the best story in this paranormal anthology.

Ilfayne's Bane


Title: Ilfayne's Bane
Author: Julia Knight
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60504-364-7
Genre: Fantasy Romance
Nymph Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

Hilde has been shunned, feared and ridiculed her entire life by the people of her small village and all because of her strange eyes and prophetic dreams of the future. After killing one attacker and wounding another, Hilde flees into the wilderness where she wanders alone for days, only to be attacked again but this time by a large, clawed shadowed creature. Her rescuers are men from a dream, the legendary wizard Ilfayne and his warrior companion, Regin. These two men change her life, leading her from one dangerous adventure to another, finally giving her an understanding of what she is…half Human and half Kyrbodan. Despite Ilfayne’s surly disposition and cynical personality, Hilde finally has a friend for the first time in her life…a man who doesn’t recoil from the sight of her and that means everything to her.

Ilfayne has been alone and feared for over four thousand years, so when he finds Hilde, its like a breath of fresh air to his withering soul, opening his heart to friendship and love for the first time since before the Mage Wars. He’d do anything to keep her safe and just when he thinks he has a chance of making a life with her, her Kyrbodan blood throws a wrench in his plans when she suddenly finds herself bound to a man she doesn’t know and doesn’t love. As fate would have it, Kyrbodan’s only mate once and to deny the bond means her certain death. Either way he’s lost her. Things only get worse when an enemy from Ilfayne’s ancient past resurfaces, determined to destroy him and anything or anyone he cares for. His feelings for Hilde make him vulnerable…she is his bane.

Ilfayne’s Bane is the first in an exciting and complicated fantasy series, Oathcursed, by author Julia Knight. Its intricate plot is filled with vivid details, sound world building, and seamlessly integrated background information vital to understanding why the characters react as they do, thus moving the tale ever forward. It has multiple intriguing primary and secondary characters that are important to a storyline that moves through cultures and kingdoms, and who range from peasants and kings, to warriors, wizards, and various creatures who bring pain, death and destruction.

Hilde is an interesting woman caught between two cultures, neither who wants to claim her. She starts off a frightened young woman who’s scared of her own shadow, and over the course of the book changes into a determined woman capable of fighting at the side of her companions. Ilfayne is by far the most complicated person in the book, and you learn little tidbits of information about him and his past as the story unfolds. He’s much more than he appears on the surface, and most of his actions serve to save his heart from pain. Regin is an honorable warrior…a dependable and loyal friend who would just as soon end his long existence. Hunter is in pain, the death of the woman he loves nearly crippling him. These are just a few examples of the complex personalities Ms. Knight has brought together to battle evil in this fantasy epic.

Add to this betrayal, abuse, murder, fear, suspicion, and hopelessness and you have the elements needed for a page turning keeper that you won’t want to miss. I look forward to the next installment of this new series.

Del Fantasma: Winter Break


Title: Del Fantasma: Winter Break
Author: Dawn Montgomery
Publisher: Aspen Mountain Press
Publisher URL: http://www.aspenmountainpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60168-164-5
Genre: Paranormal Erotica
Nymph Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amethyst Nymph

Here Nicollete Snow was, in a California hole-in-the-wall bar, looking for a little toe curling sex. Though she liked her job as a QA Technician for adult toys at the North Pole, it was extremely lonely and she needed a change of pace.

When a mysterious motorcycle rider shows up and introduces himself as Jack Frost, Nicollette can hardly believe her luck or the lust that quickly spreads through her body. Jack might turn out to be more than Nicollete bargained for.

To say that opposites attract would be an understatement for Del Fantasma: Winter Break. Nicollete and Jack bring their own issues to the table, but the irony is that their issues are linked. I enjoyed the way that each were able to save the other and how destiny played a role in their union. Some parts of the plot could have been a bit more developed, but the ending made things click right into place. If you enjoy an intense holiday hook up with passionate sex, then this story is for you. Dawn Montgomery always delivers more heat than a forest fire.

Playing For Keeps


Title: Playing For Keeps
Author: Michelle Houston
Publisher: Phaze Books
Publisher URL: http://www.phaze.com/
ISBN: 9781606590232
Genre: Fantasy ménage erotic romance
Nymph Rating: 3 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amazon Nymph

Playing For Keeps is two stories about Greek Gods in modern times. The gods have integrated themselves into society. The prologue piqued my interest, which few books have before.

Worshiped (4 Nymphs) is about Alicia, who is a former battered wife that ended up in Athena’s shelter for abused women. Athena has her invited to Aphrodite’s annual weekend party. The gods, Pathos and Himeros, offer to take her on a journey through the maze and end up seducing her. Alicia thinks that this is only for the weekend, but both gods let her know it does not have to end if she doesn’t want it to.

I really liked this story because it flowed very smoothly and you could feel Alicia’s self-confidence growing.

A Wish and a Threesome (2 Nymphs) is about the goddesses Athena and Nike. They have been lovers for hundreds of years. Nike has always wanted Athena to join her when she decides she wants a male lover, but Athena has always resisted. Alicia’s friend Chris is the young man who brought her to the shelter. This piqued Athena’s interest and she set up a scene with Nike, Chris and herself. Afterwards, she offers Chris the chance to stay.

The story line itself is good. However, it was spoiled by typos as well as words which tended to jar the story.

Both stories bring all the parties together for long-term relationships. Those that like ménage will probably enjoy Playing For Keeps.

Crash into Darkness


Title: Crash into Darkness
Author: Suzanne Perazzini
Publisher: Wild Child Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.wildchildpublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-935013-36-5
Genre: Romantic Suspense/Paranormal
Nymph Rating: 1.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Sphinx Minx

Amber is a carrier of the Cleaven gene. She slashed her stepfather’s face, was incarcerated, and has progressed to level eight as a counselor on a prison ship. She believes she caused her mother’s death by being a wild and unmanageable child.

Jaden is a hunky transport guard, bringing prisoners to the ship.

The story starts with a science fiction atmosphere. The mysterious genetic makeup is never explained. Those who have it and commit crimes are automatically placed on prison ships in the Atlantic. They are treated and move up to new “levels.” Many of them have highly developed senses. Some have a heightened sense of smell; some, like Jaden, can read emotions.
There’s a lot of action. Two sinister characters manage to enter the ship with devious motives, causing death and serious damage to the vessel.

Yet things are resolved in a rather simplistic motion, and the story ends happily ever after in a homey contemporary mode. It left me a bit confused, with several unanswered questions. I did not find the characters believable, and much of the futuristic setting seemed inconsistent. I would have appreciated a more definite time frame and an explanation of how these prison ships came into existence. Author Perazzini has some creative ideas, but the tale needs more specific direction.

Deadly Dreams


Title: Deadly Dreams
Author: Rie McGaha
Publisher: Noble Romance Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.nobleromance.com/Default.aspx
ISBN: 978-1-60592-002-3
Genre: Mystery/Suspense
Nymph Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Goddess Minx

Lea Reynolds started having nightmares at a very young age and was always terrified when she came face to face with the people from her dreams. Because nothing about this gift had been explained to her, she was floundering around lost and willing to resort to drugs and alcohol to dull her mind. When she goes to see Chase after her latest dream, she hopes he will not think she is a basket case, and instantly falls hard for the man.

Chase Montgomery is an ambitious law enforcement officer, and never lets an unsolved case go. He is a man without attachments, including women, but he has met his match in Lea. Now that he has her in his arms, there is nothing that he won’t do to keep her with him forever.

Deadly Dreams is a fantastic mystery/suspense story that had me trying to figure out when the police would get smart enough to solve the murders, even though there were very few clues. In the midst of all the killings, the lovers are still able to find a little happiness with each other. What Chase does special for her had me in tears (I won’t give that away…you have to read the book). There is a lot of silliness on the part of the young ladies, even after being warned to be careful, and that was their downfall. Ms. Stone had done a beautiful job of bringing this story to a very happy ending, but she leaves you with the impression that there might be more to come, and I surely hope so.

Special Content Alert: Graphic sexual content, graphic violence, strong sexual violence (not for titillation purposes)

An Innocent Proposition


Title: An Innocent Proposition
Author: Jamie Craig
Publisher: Amber Quill Press
Publisher URL: http://www.amberquill.com/AmberHeat/
ISBN: 978-1-60272-388-7
Genre: M/F Contemporary / Voyeurism
Nymph Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs reviewer: Rose Nymph

Amanda Stevenson’s parents have always been overbearing but she’s been able to keep the peace, mainly by giving in to their every demand. This time however, her parents are using the thing most precious to Amanda as ammunition – her education. Her parents may not like her choice of college but Amanda won’t budge this time, especially with friend and former professor Jack Navis in her corner.

When Jack sees the hold Amanda’s parents have over her, he has to do something to stop her from throwing her promising future away, just to please them. He makes her an offer she can’t refuse - he proposes! It was only ever supposed to be a way of keeping his dear friend close to him until she finished her education, then they planned to get a divorce and go back to the way things were. However their plans fly out the window when they have to put on a show for the in-laws. Kissing a friend shouldn’t feel this good…

An Innocent Proposition is just my cup of tea. An interesting plot that moves along at the perfect pace and very likable characters made this story a very enjoyable read. The inexperience of both Amanda and Jack is portrayed well and it led to some very intimate moments that I felt privileged to witness. I really was rooting for them to make things work, despite their misunderstandings. They were both trying so hard to think of what’s best for the other that they were winding themselves up in all sorts of knots and it was wonderfully frustrating at times.

The initial premise was somewhat difficult to accept; the phrases “uh oh” and “this can’t end well” spring to mind as Amanda and Jack decide their only option is to marry. Jack’s family background seemed to be brushed aside too as we are teased with the trouble Jack has had with his father but this is never really resolved. It might have been nice to explore Jack’s family a little more so that I could form an opinion of them. These are minor complaints however and as the relationship progressed, I couldn’t put the book down.

A Family Secret


Title: A Family Secret
Author: Cassidy Ryan
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerebooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60370-573-8
Genre: M/M Contemporary
Nymph Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Caen Nymph

Roan and Sebastian have been together for a year now. They love each other dearly but are afraid to come out to their families. When they return home for Christmas, Roan finds out the truth about his life, which leads to heartache. But Sebastian stands by his side, knowing there’s nowhere else he rather be but in the arms of his lover.

A Family Secret has a feel of an old English monarchy. The characters, for some reason, felt like they walked out a production of a classic novel by the BBC. Cassidy Ryan’s language is very smooth and sexy. The characters of Roan and Sebastian were lovely, their escapades were very daring - but the actual sex left a more of an anti-climatic feeling. The anxious feeling of them finding a moment’s peace during Christmas was much hotter than when they actually came together and I think that’s what left me a little empty at times; their lovemaking didn’t make me feel anything. If anything, the sex was a little bland. However, the angst and the heartache were developed well in the story. The author did a good job, and I enjoyed this new twist of a plot very much.

Teddi Turns On


Title: Teddi Turns On
Author: Sloane Taylor
Publisher: Aspen Mountain Press
Publisher URL: http://www.aspenmountainpress.com/
ISBN: 9781601681157
Genre: Contemporary
Nymph Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amazon Nymph

Teddi flies to Germany to confront the tour operator that reneged on a contract. On the plane, she meets David Stiefle. David is a German businessman, whose cousin happens to be the tour operator that Teddi is trying to confront.

There are several misunderstandings between Teddi and David. David is under the impression she is married because she is still wearing her ring, though she is a widow. Teddi has to overcome several insecurities and open her heart to a new love.

David’s problems involve an audit by the German government, but also the fact that his cousin is embezzling from David’s companies. David’s cousin, Claus, also tries to stir up a lot of trouble between Teddi and David.

Teddi Turns On is the first book of the Magnificent Men of Munich series. Ms. Taylor transports you to Germany and gives you a fly on the wall view of Teddi and David’s relationship. It is well written and I actually resented being interrupted while I was reading this. Teddi Turns On is one for the bookshelf.

The Gallery on Main Street


Title: The Gallery on Main Street
Author: Christiane France
Publisher: Amber Allure
Publisher URL: http://www.amberquill.com/AmberAllure/
ISBN: 978-1-60272-419-8
Genre: Gay / Contemporary
Nymph Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx


Martyn Cole is not a happy camper. He was expecting to inherit his uncle’s portion of the gallery, but he didn’t anticipate there being stipulations. Stipulations that make it impossible for him to walk away without losing everything. When he confronts his new partner, Simon Deschamps, he soon discovers that Simon had a hand in the arrangements and the strong feelings he already has for the man seem to kick him in the head like a pack mule. What is a gay man to do, when he’s not sure if the man who makes him harder than diamonds is interested, or for that matter gay, himself?

Christiane France brings us love and discovery in The Gallery on Main Street, and tells this story in Martyn’s point-of-view. We take a ride through the gambit of emotions Martyn must travel before he finds love and a commitment with Simon. The men have known each other for a while, which provides a stable background to build the story on. I appreciated this fact because sometimes the “I fell in love instantly” concept is quite unbelievable. From listening to Martyn, I believe it was easier to dislike Simon instead of allowing his true emotions to take root, and perhaps fear of Simon’s reaction dissuaded him from jumping headfirst. The realization of daily contact and no true alternative means of escaping seemed to be an undeniable motivating factor. The men built false impressions of one another, but as they spent time together, they saw the truth for themselves. In a matter of months, this love affair is firmly established and while we don’t watch their every move the couple makes, we glimpse enough to understand their attraction. There were times when I wished I could climb into Simon’s heart to examine what existed there, but his no-nonsense approach to their relationship and adept manner of expressing his affection for Martyn clearly took care of that in a matter of moments.

The Gallery On Main Street


Title: The Gallery On Main Street
Author: Christiane France
Publisher: Amber Allure
Publisher URL: http://www.amberquill.com/AmberAllure/
ISBN: 978-1-60272-419-8
Genre: Gay, Contemporary
Nymph Rating: 2 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph


Since the death of his uncle, Martyn Cole has been thinking of a way to stop the job carousel he has been on. Knowing he will be left half of his uncle’s antique business, Martyn plans on selling it and using the money to start a small business. Unfortunately, things do not go as he plans. Simon Deschamps owns the other half of The Gallery, and is the reason Martyn’s plans have gone to hell. Following advice from Simon, Uncle Jack has rewritten his will forcing Martyn to decide if he wants to keep his inheritance and work at The Gallery or see everything go to charity.

Christiane France’s The Gallery on Main Street deals with the death of a relative and the building of a relationship. While I found the book to be readable I also felt a little short changed. The story covers a short episode in the lives of Martyn and Simon and while this is not an unusual concept I feel as though the characters are not given the time to build any real chemistry between them. The men already know each other and have a history of sorts when the story starts which left me feeling as if I stepped into the story in the middle.

The Ghost Wore Yellow Socks


Title: The Ghost Wore Yellow Socks
Author: Josh Lanyon
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: http://www.loose-id.net/
ISBN: 978-1-59632-810-5
Genre: LGBT Romantic Suspense
Nymph Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Perry, a shy young librarian, thinks he has met the love of his life on-line. Going to California to met his love turns into a disaster and Perry returns home. The dead body he finds in his bathroom surprises him and when he goes for help, he is even more surprised to find the body has disappeared. Nick is a former Navy SEAL currently living in the same boarding house as Perry. Already dealing with a bad day, the last thing he has time for is some kid claiming to have seen a dead body. While no one, including the police, believes Perry in the beginning, the two men soon find themselves tracking down clues that will not only solve this mystery but also one from the past.

I loved Josh Lanyon’s The Ghost Wore Yellow Socks. The characters are great. The lead characters are perfectly matched for each other, complementing each other’s strengths and weaknesses. Moreover, while the secondary characters read like a list from some pulp fiction book, the mystery grabs you. I spent the whole time thinking I knew ‘who done it’ only to change my mind a few minutes later. Of course, since I picked every character at least once I turned out to be right. This is a must read for any mystery lover.

Dare’s Christmas Gift


Title: Dare’s Christmas Gift
Author: AKM Miles
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerepress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60370-565-3
Genre: Gay Contemporary
Nymph Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

It’s been several months since Dare moved in with Ryan and his son, JC. They’ve settled into a happy and fulfilling life together that includes next door neighbor, Jackie, and her son, Brandon. The two small families are looking forward to the upcoming holiday season, until the boys tell their parents that the bad man, who is supposed to be in jail, is watching them again. Needless to say, Dare and Ryan are reluctant to believe their old enemy, Mitch, is out of jail and frightening the boys.

The three adults keep the boys together for safety, while still trying to have fun as they prepare for Christmas Day. They’re waiting for Santa at a church party when disaster strikes and the boys are kidnapped. Dare, Ryan and Jackie are frantic as they and the police search for the boys. Will they find the boys in time, or will they loose them forever?

Dare’s Christmas Gift is a follow-up story to AKM Miles recent release Dare To, and it picks up a few months after the last one left off. As you can guess by the title, this story takes place during the Christmas season, with all its gifts, holiday preparations, and the usual uproar with excitable children in the house.

Dare and Ryan are still madly in love and making the most of the limited time they have together during the hurried holiday season. JC is still cute and loving, not only of his parents, but Jackie and Brandon, as well. AKM Miles did an excellent job expressing the fear a parent has when his child is threatened, while still trying to maintain as normal a life as possible. Her description of the boys fear is spot-on, and the holiday chaos well described and realistic.

My two favorite portions of the story is the fear and panic Dare and Ryan experience when JC and Brandon are kidnapped, and the gift giving between them on Christmas morning. These two parts of the story are polar opposites…fear and hope for the future. Dare’s gift (which shall remain secret, but which is totally sexy) is two-fold. It’s an expression of his love for his partner, and it’s also a special gift to get JC back safe and whole (did you actually think it’d be any other way…not likely).

Skin Tight




Title: Skin Tight
Author: Adrianna Dane
Publisher: Amber Quill Press
Publisher URL: http://www.amberquill.com/AmberHeat/
ISBN: 978-1-60272-389-4
Genre: Contemporary M/F / BDSM (Light) / Voyeurism
Nymph Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Rose Nymph

Karli Logan keeps to herself, quietly going about her business preferring to operate behind the scenes than being center stage. She lives her life as ordinarily as possible but she will not deny herself one of her greatest passions. Ever since she tried on a pair of her grandmother’s gloves, Karli hasn’t looked back. She loves the silk against her skin and delights in the snug fit; gets a sexual and spiritual charge out of them and only truly feels alive when she has them on. She spares no expense in fulfilling her desires but she does so with great caution. The last thing Karli wants is to draw unwanted attention for she has a secret; a painful, tragic secret that Karli can’t stand to face. Yes, Karli Logan is in hiding.

Poised with such elegance and beauty, it wasn’t long before she caught the attention of Zach Fontaine. From the moment they meet, Zach whisks her off her feet. She feels dizzy from his sudden outpouring of affection and before she knows it, she’s spending time in his company. When Zach admits to having watched her from afar, she starts to panic and his inquisitive nature has her fleeing. Not before he kisses her though; a blisteringly hot kiss that has her knees buckling and her heart pounding.

Zach doesn’t want to scare Karli off, not after he’s finally got close but he can sense her trepidation; knows she’s hiding something. He grudgingly lets her go, in the hopes that she felt the bolt of electricity that passed between them as strongly as he did. Karli promises she’ll call but can she bring herself to let him in?

Skin Tight is one of the most erotic books I’ve ever read. It’s wonderfully decadent, packed full of intrigue and a hint of melodrama, truly a delight to read. The characters grabbed my attention and I was mesmerized by Karli as she indulged in her fetish. The description of the gloves, the clothing, music and dancing all added to the vintage feel and I was swept away with it all. The heat between Karli and Zach set me on fire; it was a whirlwind attraction but Zach’s need was completely believable in the rich setting the author created. I was desperate to discover Karli’s secret heartache and equally desperate for Zach to heal her pain. I wasn’t disappointed in the slightest.

St. Nacho's


Title: St. Nacho's
Author: Z.A. Maxfield
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: http://www.loose-id.net/
ISBN: 978-1-59632-829-7
Genre: LGBT Erotic Contemporary
Nymph Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx


Everyone deals with their past in a different way. Cooper has spent the last three years running from his. He stops over in a town for some rest and hopefully a quick bathroom break and gains more than he expected. A few minutes turns into a much longer stay where Cooper finds friends, acceptance, and love. It’s been a tough road filled with painful memories, but Cooper finds something good to focus on. Someone accepts him regardless of his emotional or physical scars. That someone is Shawn.

Shawn is a deaf college student and one of Cooper’s co-workers. His expressive eyes and heartwarming smile tear down Cooper’s walls. This will be Cooper’s first experience with truly unconditional love. With their eyes shining brightly and focusing on their future together, Cooper gets a wakeup call from someone in his past, bringing his euphoric existence comes to an abrupt halt. Will they find their way back on the road to happiness, or is Cooper doomed to wallow in the pain from his past?

Z.A. Maxfield takes us on a journey in St. Nacho’s. Cooper has so much baggage that I was surprised he was able to finally relax for a moment and just breathe. At one point, I felt his pain and loneliness, his desire for love and his fear that he didn’t deserve it. And, I was thankful Shawn had the tenacity to hold on tight and fight for their love. Regardless of Shawn’s handicap, he was truly the stronger of the two men. He always shows Cooper his worth, lending strength, and removing the crutches that Cooper used to keep himself mentally crippled. This is a fantastic story and I have definitely added Z.A. Maxfield to my must read list. St. Nacho’s will touch on your emotions and with characters that will make you smile, laugh, dance, and cry.

Hawk’s Woman


Title: Hawk’s Woman
Author: Madeline Baker
Publisher: Cerridwen Press
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 978-1-41991-759-2
Genre: Historical Romance
Nymph Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Goddess Minx


John Walking Hawk, who is going by Clayton at the moment, is a wanted man. He’s also a half breed on a mission to avenge his dead Indian wife without thought of who he was leaving behind, namely his daughter Anna. After killing five of the six men in a fair fight that he picked, he is searching for the last man and then he can go home. In the meantime, he is captured by a bitter sheriff whose plans include long bouts of suffering and that is not something Hawk is looking forward to. Now that he has escaped from the jail and is the run with a bullet wound, he ends up at a convent on the outskirts of town. When Hallie finds him lying half dead, she is not sure what to do but immediately feels the attraction between them.

Hallie McIntyre has always lead a very quiet life; first with her parents and then grandmother. Now at the age of seventeen, she is about to become a nun. Her father deserted them when she was very young and her mother died from grieving over a husband who was not what he should have been. Being around Hawk did nothing for her peace of mind, only had her thinking of what it would be like to be loved by him. What she does to help him goes against everything she has been taught. Because of her promise to him not to tell anyone at the convent she was helping him was causing her a lot of distress with her faith in God, along with keeping it from the Reverend Mother.

Hawk’s Woman was not what I expected at all from the description of the genre but I was pleasantly surprised. This was a plus novel that kept me reading every opportunity to see what would happen with the two main characters and I was not disappointed. There was a lot of deceit on the part of others in telling Hallie the truth about her father and she was able to forgive him for deserting her. When the two lovers finally come together it is very explosive for them each time, and the end results were not what they wanted or expected.

Madeline Baker had done a fantastic job of telling this story about two very different ways of life among the Lakota and white families. More often than not, there were a lot of similarities in the lifestyles that will have you wondering about it if indeed being the same. This book had me laughing and hoping that bodily harm was done to one or more of them but overall I would not change the innocence of a young girl blossoming into a new life.

Monday, January 19, 2009

My Fair Monster


Title: My Fair Monster
Author: Lila Dubois
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60504-265-7
Genre: Fantasy Romance
Nymph Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Screenwriter Jane Darby is a woman in tune to her craft. After meeting three handsome men who are really Monsters, it’s up to Jane to help bring their story to the big screen. Writing screenplays takes more work than most would understand. Part of that requires insider information that will set their story apart from the fiction Hollywood presents to the public. Michael’s job is to assist Jane with this task, but he has trouble opening up. He has issues with his monster form, and hasn’t allowed any of the women to view him as he truly appears. Michael has tried to gain Jane’s attention since their initial meeting. Keeping Michael at arm’s length has aided Jane in keeping him out of her bed. While he is nervous about her reaction to his true form, Michael can’t help but want Jane and her affection. Maybe a bit of negotiating will give Michael a chance to prove he’s the perfect mate for Jane, and Jane a chance to allow passion to rule.

My Fair Monster is the second book in the Monsters in Hollywood series. It’s funny, while I read this story I kept saying Michael is probably the kinkiest of all his friends, and low and behold I was right! The man could definitely teach a few high-level classes in erotica. Then, to discover his true form had me bent over in laughter. I refuse to even hint at what that is, but it definitely added a twist to the story. Ms. Dubois has combined a great setting, believable characters and spice to this well written story.

Lakota Love Song


Title: Lakota Love Song
Author: Madeline Baker
Publisher: Cerridwen Press
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419918476
Genre: Historical Romance
Nymph Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Blue Hawk has watched his people being slaughtered, betrayed, neglected, and left to starve. He has watched outsiders come in and take over the sacred land of his ancestors. While the essence of his life pours on the ground, he receives a vision of the one person capable of showing him the way, Kaylee Matthews. Kaylee is an Eastern woman who has adapted to a Western way of life. Her kind heart won’t allow her to walk away and leave Blue Hawk to die. That one moment of gentleness and one act of kindness will change her life forever.

Lakota Love Song is a story about love, devotion, family, forgiveness, and retribution. Madeline Baker brings us a heartwarming love story, set in a period when Indians were trying to keep what was rightfully theirs. Through the struggle, Kaylee and Blue Hawk found something most never get a chance to experience. They found love. This is an impressive story sure to please those who enjoy Wild West romances. Ms. Baker gives us a generous portion of history, and then adds sweet erotic encounters, suspense, and action to give Lakota Love Song and wonderful balance.

The Promise of Kierna'Rhoan


Title: The Promise of Kierna'Rhoan
Author: Isabo Kelly
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60504-243-5
Genre: Romantic SciFi-Futuristic
Nymph Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

With the death of her parents, the sheltered and pampered life led by Kira Farseaker disappeared forever. In her grief she turned to her husband, only to find out later that he was part of the very society she’d come to hate and fear. Now she uses her vast fortune and position of power to fight for the survival of the shifters, an intelligent and evolving species threatened with certain extermination by the ruling government of the planet Narava. Her mission is as straightforward as it is dangerous, and a legacy left to her by her far-thinking family is the answer. Get as many of the shifters transported to the secret planet of Kierna’Rhoan as possible, before the location of their secret complex is discovered. Her plans are further complicated by her attraction to a brown-eyed man who could be a spy.

Officer David Cario is more than just as officer of the guard unit involved in the extermination of the shifters. He might have been sent to Kira to act as a spy, but he’s also a man with his own deeply personal and painful agenda. David is determined to discover the truth behind the execution of his idealistic sister, who supported the same political cause as Kira. What he doesn’t know is that in becoming part of Kira’s world, he’s going to open himself up to truths he didn’t want to know, and those unwelcome truths will change his perspective on Naravan society, and his life forever.

The Promise of Kierna’Rhoan starts out with a bang, when Kira and a small group of shifters are almost captured. This scene shows what a strong willed and determined woman Kira is and to what lengths she’s willing to go through for what she believes. Ms. Kelly does an excellent job of introducing most of the characters in this first chapter, and she does a great job building tension between the primary players.

I loved the shifters and would have loved to know more about their background and what their initial interaction with the humans had been; why the humans feared them and how their extermination got pushed through the government. I have to say that this portion of the plot reminded me of Hitler, the SS and his brown shirts, and the oven extermination of millions of innocent victims during WWII. In Kira’s ex-husband, Ennoren, you have the perfect villain, willing and able to abuse his power without any guilt that his actions and deeds are wrong.

David was an interesting character, and when I learned what in his past fueled his need to bring Ennoren to justice, I had my ‘ah ha’ moment, but I never thought I could trust him. Kira I found to be rather cold, so much so that I couldn’t really care much about what happened to her. The shifters of the other hand…them I wanted to survive and because Kira was the instrument that allowed that to occur…that fact alone made me like her.

Pawprints 3: Giving and Taking


Title: Pawprints 3: Giving and Taking
Author: Anne Cain
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: http://www.loose-id.com/
ISBN: 978-1-59632-801-3
Genre: LGBT Shape-shifter Paranormal
Nymph Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx


Adrian and Lal, along with their friends Marty and James, have decided to spend Christmas together on a Caribbean cruise. Both Marty and Adrian are prepared to show their lovers just how much they mean to them. Their plans may be different, but the outcome will be the same, bliss on the high seas.

Anne Cain brings us a nontraditional Christmas celebration in Pawprints 3: Giving and Taking. Adrian is having a hard time getting Lal to understand the depth of his feelings, and Marty is upset over a situation brewing in James’ world. However, that doesn’t stop the men from loving their partners; it reinforces their efforts to get their point across. Ms. Cain’s scene settings make this book pleasurable. And, the quick wit of not just the main characters, but the supporting cast made me giggle. As always, Adrian and Lal know how to heat up the pages with erotic paradise passion laced in love. I found the story to be an enjoyable quick read.

In Their Own Skins: Shifting Sands


Title: In Their Own Skins: Shifting Sands
Author: Kiernan Kelly
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerebooks.com/
ISBN: 978-4-60370-577-6
Genre: Paranormal, M/M
Nymph Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Dakota is on vacation at a ski resort and his agenda is to meet and have intimate greet in the bedroom with anyone interested. Sitting at the bar, Jax gives Dakota the interested look and the two retire to the bedroom for the best intimate greeting either of them has ever had. By the end of their vacation Jax and Dakota have discovered that they are both shifters and mated to each other. Pooling their resources together, they buy a isolated ranch in Wyoming surrounded by woods and plenty of room to shift and run free, naming the ranch Shifting Sands. Over time Dakota and Jax found other shifters and offered them a home at the ranch. Things are going well for the little family of shifters until they learn of a nasty tempered shifter out to destroy them.

The leader of the Ultimate Predators gang gives a whole new meaning to the expression “let’s do lunch”. “Live and let live” is not a motto adopted by the gang leader. The residents of the ranch are not exactly lightweights and their combined talents are a force to be reckoned with, but even they have doubts about whether their shift and fight will be enough against the ultimate predators.

The Sound of Home - 5 Nymphs
Sebastien Gaston Orignaux is on the run from his former friend, who turned rogue, when he meets Shiloh Thunderfoot in the small town’s café. Both men are attracted to each other and are both shifters. Shiloh invites Sebastien to stay with him until Sebastien is ready to move on, but over time, they fall in love. Sebastien realizes that he has found a home with Shiloh and his running days are over.

Mother Blue’s Bar and Grill - 5 Nymphs
It was a full moon and Mother is expecting the usual fights in his bar from the regulars, but Mother was not worried because he was big and tough enough to handle any situation that came up. When a stranger comes in, there is an immediate attraction and after the bar is closed, Mother and the stranger named Bull realized they had more in common than just lust.

In Their Own Skins: Shifting Sands is a side-splitting, well paced, entertaining plot with the most surprisingly distinctive characters and hilarious dialog. Jax is outrageously cocky who only pays attention to his easygoing mate Dakota. The dealings between the well defined characters are comical. The sexual scenes are very exciting. The very gifted and witty Kiernan Kelly has produced an outstanding and exceedingly enjoyable tale. Shifting Sands is the featured story; but there are two more, each with a reference to the predator gang, an added bonus that I found intriguing. I have grown fond of Jax and Dakota and hope to visit with them again in the future.

Taming the Madam


Book Title: Taming the Madam
Author: Anna J. Evans
Publisher: Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.ellorascave.com/
ISBN: 978-1-41991-527-2
Genre: Vampire/Light Bondage/19th Century Historical
Nymph Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Goddess Minx


Amelia Bouchette, mistress of Maison de Filles, is out of her element when she wanders into a drinking establishment owned by vampire Jacob who, right away, mesmerizes her. Now she is trying to figure out how she got herself into a position clasped to a wall being tortured, when she should have the upper hand. She regrets the moment of being a coward by not showing her feelings and running away from him because of her forbidden love for him.

Jacob Forester only wants to be left alone by everyone, so he can continue to care for the vampires under his protection. From the minute he sees Amelia, there is no turning back from all of the emotions that flares up between them. While he is rescuing her from his former owner, she speaks to him with her mind telling him she is totally committed to becoming his mate and does so during the rescue while the fighting was going on around them.

Taming the Madam is a very intriguing story that continues the Dark Pantheon series, and you have to pay close attention so as to not miss anything being said. The characters come alive very quickly and talk about very hot sex between them! There is a lot of mystery surrounding the two lovers and their beginnings, but they are able to overcome any adversaries together. Anna J. Evans has done a wonderful job of writing about vampires and sirens, and she takes you away to a very different lifestyle, which made this book a very enjoyable read.

The Fury


Title: The Fury
Author: Sloan McBride
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60504-213-8
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Nymph Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

Archeologist Reese Whittaker had been interested in Babylonian and Sumerian culture and artifacts for years. She leads a boring academic life until she’s attacked by a horde of demons and rescued by a big, black-leather clad man. She doesn’t know what to do or what to believe aside from the terrifying reality that someone or something is trying to kill her. Being told what to do by a gorgeous pureblood warrior is almost more than her mind can comprehend, but being jerked into his world enlightens her to the stuff of myth and legend, that just happens to be true.

Dagan is a Time Walker, a warrior sworn to protect humans and one human female in particular…Reese Whittaker. He’s the son of the Air-God Enlil, and Ninmah, the Earth-Mother Goddess and he travels through time defending the human descendants of his ancient race. When he’s assigned to protect Reese, he can’t deny their nearly overwhelming attraction, despite the prohibition against contact, but when her life is threatened he’s forced to physically intervene. Being with Reese triggers his fury, the intense sexual need to bond with a life mate. The problem is that another is interested in Reese, and not in a good way. Underworld leader Kur is attracted to her powerful life force and would like nothing better than to drain her dry, thumbing his nose not only at Dagan, but the deities of the Dilmun as well. Dagan’s risking everything to be with Reese, because if the pantheon discovers his mate is a human, it could mean torture for him and death for her.

The Fury is the first release in an exciting new paranormal series, Time Walker, by Sloan McBride. This entertaining story mixes ancient myth and legend with contemporary life, turns old concepts of Babylonian and Sumerian cultures and history on its ear, and comes up with new and intriguing ideas that race this story forward at breakneck speed. It’s clearly written, with great background descriptions that never feel like an information dump, instead leading the story often in a new and surprising direction.

There have been times in the past when I’ve read a book that interjects words that I needed to refer to the provided glossary to understand, but Ms. McBride didn’t leave me feeling the need to stop what I was doing, to refer to its definition. No, instead the flow here is smooth, giving me a story understanding that I appreciated, without being preachy or long-winded.

As far as I’m concerned the pacing for this story is perfect, leading the reader on a rollercoaster thrill ride of demon fighting, cultural understanding and the blossoming of new and forbidden love. Reese is a little hard-headed and reckless considering that demons are out to kill her, but that doesn’t make her less likable…and Dagan…he’s a hunk. Get out a fan for their love scenes because the sexual tension only gets hotter the longer they’re together. Add in great secondary characters, and you have all the things needed to propel this wonderful series into the future. I look forward to the next release. Read and enjoy!

Perfect Man


Title: Perfect Man
Author: Shawn Lane
Publisher: Ellora's Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419918018
Genre: Contemporary, Gay
Nymph Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx


Craig Fontaine was Alex Nichols' first crush. Unfortunately, he was clued to this fact and made Alex’s high school existence painful and awkward. Now years later, Alex finds himself on a blind date with the man who gave him nightly wet dreams followed by daily schoolhouse torture. Craig is unsure of why or what brought Alex back into his life, but his attraction comes roaring back to life. The old youthful puppy love has been transformed into the lust and desires of a grown man. And while Alex is trying to figure out if Craig is playing a cruel joke, Craig is trying to figure out how he can gain and maintain Alex’s love and trust, while battling a few demons of his own. Because, to Craig, Alex is truly the Perfect Man.

I found myself remembering my painful high school days while reading this book. Shawn Lane not only took me back, but she helped me gain perspective from the other side of the looking glass. While Alex was going through his own drama, Craig was living a hell from which there was no escape. I was happy these men were able to gain friendship after so many years. Alex truly found a source to help him move his life in a positive direction. Ms. Lane doesn’t just give us a good story with some hot sex. She also thrusts the hard-hitting topics such as abuse and mental illness in the pot; giving me time to reflect on how they could affect people, and what it would take to survive when they are a part of your daily existence. It’s not a light read, but it’s not heavy enough to weigh you down. It has a great balance between reality and sensuality. I was impressed with Ms. Lane’s writing style and recommend reading Perfect Man.

Rough Justice


Title: Rough Justice
Author: KyAnn Waters
Publisher: Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419918551
Genre: Contemporary M/F/M
Nymph Rating: 3 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs reviewer: Rose Nymph

When will Roxie learn? She’s stuck on the side of the road 5 miles from home having run out of gas, too far to walk at this time of night and what’s worse, she can’t get in touch with her best friend, Jay. She’s got no choice but to call for help and when the cavalry arrives, she sends up a silent prayer of thanks when she sees sheriff Ivan Soto step out of the cruiser. Ivan presses all her buttons and when he starts to dish out a little rough justice of his own, she can’t believe her luck.

When Jay hears Roxie’s calls for help on his answer machine, he rushes to check she’s okay. They may have an “open” relationship now but that doesn’t change the fact that he cares deeply for her. It may be late, but he wouldn’t be able to sleep until he knew she was safe. When he gets to Roxie’s place though, he sees that she is more than okay with the sheriff’s unique form of questioning. He’s known Roxie has a thing for Ivan for a while now but he just can’t let her go. If Ivan wants in, he’ll have to accept the both of them because Jay isn’t going anywhere.

Rough Justice is an enjoyable read but doesn’t quite deliver fully on what it sets out to do. The attraction between Roxie and Ivan is palpable at times and the relationship between Roxie and Jay believable. However, all three of them come across as slightly selfish; too focused on satisfying their individual desires, which isn’t a particularly endearing quality. The writing flows smoothly and is quite humorous at times. The sex scenes are extremely erotic and the author is successful up to a point in communicating the deepening connection between the characters through these scenes as Roxie and Jay invite Ivan into the relationship. However I found myself wanting to skim through the sex to find more substance. Although there were definitely quality moments, I didn’t quite find enough to leave me completely satisfied.