Thursday, May 3, 2012

Games Boys Play

Title: Games Boys Play
Author: Fae Sutherland
Publisher: Amber Allure
ISBN: 978-1-61124-266-9
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Sequel
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx   

Zachary West spends a lot of time thinking up steamy entertaining ways to please his in- the- closet boyfriend, Officer Stephen Miranda. Soon the games turn into love and both men find themselves in over their heads. 

Games Boys Play is the short story sequel to Gambling On Maybe. Zach is an over-the-top gay man, who is very considerate and loveable. However, he fears being a failure when it comes to a long term relationship. Zach and Stephen love each other, as well as being the perfect counterpart in personalities. Because of their mutual love, Stephen is not willing to break up with Zach, so he presents a case scenario convincing Zach of why long term between them would work.    

Fae Sutherland has created a feel good saga that I enjoyed immensely. Games Boys Play is best read in sequence.

The Luckiest

Title: The Luckiest
Authors: Piper Vaughn & M.J. O'Shea
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: www.loose-id.com
ISBN/BIN: 9781611188035
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Series
Rating: Golden Blush
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx 

After driving his sports car through a department store window, it’s apparent that rock star Nick Ventura is out of control. He doesn’t think he has a problem but since his brother’s marriage, his behavior’s getting progressively worse. Now the only chance Nick has of staying out of jail is if a judge agrees to a stint in rehab. 

Luka Novak is a nutritionist at Glenwood rehab facility. He’s determined to provide the medical help that Nick needs but isn’t willing to let the over-privileged rock star walk all over him. Nick’s reputation should have him running in the opposite direction but Luka can’t deny the pull he feels for Nick either. Their rehab friendship soon turns into something more but it doesn’t take Luka long to realize that Nick is uncomfortable confessing they’re a couple and he might always be. Can Nick find the courage to acknowledge his love for Luka to the world or will he lose the man he loves forever? 

The Luckiest is the second release in the Lucky Moon series. It takes up shortly after the first book left off and due to the continuing character relationships, the books should be read in order. 

Nick wasn’t the nicest guy in Moonlight Becomes You. Truthfully he was a total mess then and hasn’t changed much in the first pages of The Luckiest. The opening scenes are big attention grabbers and show how his poor choices are destroying his life. He’s hit rock-bottom, won’t admit it and is angry at everyone but the person responsible. Himself.  Of the two books, this one is definitely my favorite.  Nicky starts off as a jerk and his path to change, even with Luka’s help, isn’t easy but the authors do a great job realistically turning him into a likable guy. Yes, he still has problems but he’s growing and becoming a better person.   

In reality, this book’s a classic tale of recovery and redemption and we get all the volatile emotions that go along with it. The story flow is smooth, the character personalities well developed and the descriptions vivid. I really appreciate that the love between Luka and Nick develops slowly instead of happening instantly. It makes it so much more plausible. There’s plenty of sex and while it’s sizzling hot, it fits into the scene and isn’t overdone. I also loved the addition of the two legged friends to the story, and the scene where Luka gives Nick a puppy for a gift is perfectly done. 

Okay. I’ll cut to the chase. I don’t gush often but I love this book and you should read it. Today. Really. I’m not kidding.

Loving the Enemy

Title: Loving the Enemy
Author: Charlie Richards
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Publisher’s URL: http://www.extasybooks.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-77111-163-8
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph 

When Miach left the military, he never expected his life to take the turn it did.  Getting a job with a group of scientists, he ended up as part of their experiments.  Now a prisoner of the Stone Ridge pack, Miach is beginning to think the scientists lied to him about how bad shifters were.  He especially can’t seem to get one particular shifter out of his head. 

Loving the Enemy is book eight of the Wolves of Stone Ridge series.  It brings together two characters you would never imagine would be paired up, yet the author makes Miach’s transition from enemy to pack member seem believable.  The connection between Nick and Miach is hot, like you would expect to see from this author.  It was their learning period that I enjoyed the most, however, and while Miach does not yet understand the full concept of being mated to a shifter, the protectiveness that he has towards Nick comes through more than once.   

Several past characters show up to lend the men a hand and past enemies return to be dealt with.  With each new addition to this series, the author continues to entertain the readers.  Loving the Enemy will keep you turning the pages from the first page.  If you have not yet given this author a shot, I would strongly recommend that you start this with this series.

Savage Hunger

Title:  Savage Hunger
Author:  Shelli Stevens
Publisher:  Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL:  www.samhainpublishing.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-60928-590-6
Genre:  {M/F}, Shape-shifters, Series
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph  

Sienna is kidnapped after discovering that the lab she works for is conducting experiments on shifters and she tries to free them.  Warrick is part of a unit that is also trying to free the shifters and Sienna’s childhood friend.  Warrick makes a decision that changes all their futures. 

The first book in the Savage series, Savage Hunger, has lots of intrigue and emotional ups and downs.  The author keeps you on your toes as you read this story.  Knowledge of the shifters is kept to a very small group of humans, of which Sienna’s father is one, and is the only one that can help the shifters. 

Trust is a big issue for all concerned and there is a very big surprise about Sienna toward the end of the book.  The characters are ones you will either love or hate, but your feelings may change as you read.  All the shifters live under a very strict code that can result in some harsh penalties if broken.  Warrick breaks two of the most critical, which results in some interesting soul-searching among the shifters. 

The author created some very realistic scenarios that I could actually picture in my mind. She also threw in quite a few twists that kept you wondering at times. The heat factor between Sienna and Warrick is intense, though there are times I wanted slap both of them to knock some sense into them.   

This is the first book by this author I have read and I am looking forward to the next book in this series.

Sinders And Ash

Title: Sinders And Ash
Author: Tara Lain
Publisher: Amber Allure
ISBN: 978-1-61124-270-6
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Fairy Tale
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx   

Eligible females descended on the New York resort like hungry predators in search of fresh prey. Word had spread through the social circles that Ashton Armitage is seeking a wife.   Mark Sintorella, referred to as Sinders, the hard working weird guy, does his best to stay under the radar at work while secretly designing women’s clothes at night. However, big shake-ups happen when Carstairs Pennymaker decides to do a little matchmaker. 

Sinders And Ash is a wonderfully amusing, well-written romance with creditable characters. On the surface, Ash appears to be a shallow wealthy man with no real purpose in life. This was the opinion Sinders had before they actually met. Yet there is a depth to Ash few people are allowed to see. Ash is in-the-closet gay because his public and family status demands being what is considered acceptable by society. He’s intelligent, as well as considerate of the needs of others. Ash has no wish to marry a female; nevertheless he feels compelled to honor his grandfather’s wishes.  Sinder is openly gay, talented and outspoken. He wears a disguise to discourage unwanted attention from bullies. Carstairs is a master at plotting; he aligns all the key players, set the stage then watches as the scenes develops into his desired plan. 

Tara Lain has created a splendid heartwarming saga with sizzling lovemaking. Sinders And Ash is an extremely enjoyable happy-ever-after modern day fairytale.

Darcy Burke

Title: Darcy Burke
Author: Joyee Flynn
Publisher: Siren-Bookstrand Publishing
ISBN/BIN:   1-61926-627-X
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph 

Ayden Magee is a wolf shifter, one so traumatized that he has been in his animal form for over a year.  When Darcy Burke shows up at the home of his friend Zane and Zane’s mates, the vampire knows immediately that the wolf, who has been roaming the vineyard, is his mate.   Now he just has to save Ayden, his brothers and a variety of other shifters. 

When Darcy and Ayden meet, their connection, as can be expected, is strong from the beginning and although Darcy fails to heed the warnings concerning Ayden, he wastes no time making love to his mate.  This leads to some serious problems for the warrior vamp and I couldn’t help but feel for him.  It’s also because of this that Darcy and Ayden end up at the infirmary where a variety of Marius’ and their mates show up.  It is here that we learn just what makes Ayden’s Kappa wolf so different from all the other shifters.  I must admit I was more than a little curious about Mr. and Mrs. Marius’ hidden desires, but in no way surprised by who the alpha vampire was in the family.  While things start out good for our two main characters, they change fast.   In some ways, I was surprised that Darcy did not understand why Ayden was upset about being made immortal without his knowledge, yet at the same time I can understand Darcy’s confusion over the whole thing.  As you might have guessed, the author introduced several new characters, two of whom are Ayden’s younger brothers.   While the middle brother is close to being claimed, it is the younger that I am most curious about and can’t wait to see what Ms. Flynn has planned for him. 

Darcy Burke is the second story in Joyee Flynn’s Beyond the Marius Brothers series, which takes place in the same world and at the same time, as the Marius Brothers series.  There are many intersecting story lines and because of that, previous characters show up as secondary characters.  For this reason, I would strongly recommend that you not only read the stories in order, but read the Marius Brothers and The O’Hagan Way series, as well

Legal Tender

Title: Legal Tender
Author: Andrew Grey
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-61372-437-8
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx 

When he was a teenager, Timothy’s mother turned into a drug addict. Her behavior almost destroyed him and he moved out of the house to escape.  It didn’t, however, stop him from visiting his beloved grandfather in the nursing home.  Now Grampy’s dead and Timothy has to move on with his life. Discovering his grandfather left him the house and contents as his legacy changes Timothy’s life in ways he never imagined. 

Hidden inside the attic playroom, built by Grampy, Timothy finds a bag of gold coins, including a 1933 Double Eagle that isn’t supposed to exist. He’s determined to keep the government from confiscating the special coin and that mean finding a lawyer. Timothy meets Joiner, a young attorney in the office and they hit it off but he has painful secrets that keep him from opening up. Secrets he’s afraid to share with the man that becoming the most person in his life. 

Legal Tender is the latest release in Andrew Grey’s Art series and while reading the other books would be beneficial since there are returning characters, it can be read as a stand-alone. 

I’ve read any number of books written by Andrew Grey but the ones in this series are some of my favorites. I can always be assured that any new addition to this family of book is likely to be another winner and Legal Tender definitely is that. It’s well-written, has good personality development, an interesting premise with wonderful historical facts, vivid but heartbreaking personal details, some great conflicts and a legal battle with the US government. What more could you want?  

Timothy was hurt and he’s afraid. Joiner likes Timothy…a lot, but he’s kind and caring, and willing to go slow. It’s takes time and there some surprises along with way but eventually, they get together. For Timothy, it’s a journey of recovery and redemption, so he can move on and that fear no longer rules his life. Mr. Grey excelled in handling Timothy. His problems are so varied…the legal battle, his addict mother, the secret in his past, his new relationship with Joiner, his job. The list goes on and Mr. Grey juggles all of them, weaving the ends into an organized and believable whole without any dangling threads. And he got Timothy and Joiner in a healthy and happy relationship. Read and enjoy! I did.

Wednesday, May 2, 2012

Irish Dreams

Title: Irish Dreams
Author:   Tony Kelly
Publisher:  Lyrical Press
Publisher URL:  http://www.lyricalpress.com
ISBN/BIN:  9781616503581
Genre:  {M/F} Contemporary
Rating:  3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amethyst Nymph 

Maggie is happy to be in Ireland for her best friend’s wedding, but she feels a bit down.  Finding out her ex-fiancé was cheating on her has dampened her spirits and killed her trust in men.  Maggie meets a new man, who seems to show up when she needs help the most.  The attraction to him is strong, even though Maggie isn’t sure that Ethan is available. 

The ink on Ethan’s divorce papers isn’t even dry before he finds himself kissing Maggie.  The last thing he wanted was to get involved in a relationship of any kind, but Ethan knew his days as a single man were going to be very few.  Maggie was too tempting to ignore from the moment he laid eyes on her.   

The explosive sex between Ethan and Maggie and the intrusion of their exes complicate things more.  In a short time, their feelings had grown deeper than either wanted to admit,  especially to each other.  Maggie’s time to return home was quickly approaching, but she was torn. 

Irish Dreams is what can happen when you least expect it.  Two people find love when they didn’t want it.  Both had been burned and were unsure about the opposite sex.  Maggie’s ex was far worse than Ethan’s.  Not only was he a complete jerk, but he also seemed delusional and dangerous.  I was disappointed that he wasn’t dealt with in a more severe manner.  I get the fact that Maggie wanted to move on with her new life with Ethan, but it was difficult to believe.   If you love a good happily-ever-after, you will enjoy this story.

Lust & Found

Title: Lust & Found
Author: Jayden Knight
Publisher: Siren-BookStrand
Publisher URL: sirenbookstrand.com/
ISBN: 978-1-61926-338-3
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx   

When earth caller Gabriel Brown opened his eyes, several facts immediately came to his mind; there was a little girl studying him and his clothes and memory were missing. Gabe was in for another surprise when he met air caller Derek Jones and sparks began to fly. It seems explosives happen when opposites are drawn to each other. 

Lust & Found is the third book in the Dark Horse series. The plot exhibits how grief can cause the brain to become dangerously unbalanced. Temporarily stripped of his memory, Gabe has flashes of information until he, along with the Dark Horse agents, is able to piece together Gabe’s skills and recent background. However, the revelations expose a deadly plot to eliminate the agency. Working together to find the villain, Gabe and Derek develop a shaky relationship marred by jealously, guilt, trust issues as well as near disaster for the agency.  

Jayden Knight’s Lust & Found is a thrilling and enjoyable saga that illustrates intimacy scenes, emotional turmoil, lethal action as well as a degree of sadness.   

This series is best read in sequence.

Face Value

Title: Face Value
Author: RJ Scott
Publisher: Silver Publishing
Publisher URL: spsilverpublishing.com
ISBN/BIN: 9781614955511
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Suspense Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx 

Becket Jamieson’s known he was adopted since age ten but on his twenty-first birthday, he gets a big shock.  A lawyer provides details about his birth mother and he’s told his original name was Robert Bullen. Learning the truth isn’t a good surprise since the prominent Bullen family is associated with the mob and they’re very dangerous. He gets caught gathering incriminating evidence against them and it leads to a horrible beating and temporary blindness.  

Sanctuary Agent Doctor Kayden Summers is a man of action and being cooped up, while Becket heals, is driving him nuts. But that’s not his only problem. When Beckett regains consciousness, he doesn’t trust Kayden but even worse is Kayden’s attraction to his charge. The question is whether Kayden can keep Beckett safe from the men after him, while they explore a relationship that’s taken then both by surprise. If they survive the assignment, do they have a future? 

Face Value is the newest release in RJ Scott’s Sanctuary series and it begins shortly after The Only Easy Day left off. Because of the continuation of some characters and the story line, I recommend the books be read in order. 

The story is well-written and it begins with an emotional scene where Beckett finds out about his past. It’s very well done, making you feel sorry for what he lost as a child and the horror of realizing what happened all those years ago. There’s really a lot going on in this story. The romance between Becket and Kayden is the heart of the story but finding out about Beckett’s mother and his past and keeping him safe from the Bullen family is just as important. Weaving together the numerous story threads is done with finesse, pulling all the parts into a cohesive whole.   

The relationship between Beckett and Kayden is a little rocky in the beginning but once it gets going, it works well. The suspense part of the story permeates everything and the scene near the beginning where Beckett is beaten…well it’s pretty horrific.  The characters are well developed, the plots flows smoothly and there are a few twists and turns for added action, including a nice one at the end. The attraction between Beckett and Kayden is intense but there isn’t lots of sex, so please take note. Watch for the next release, Still Waters, coming in May.

After Dark

Title: After Dark
Author: Luisa Prieto
Publisher: MLR Press
Publisher URL: www.mlrbooks.com
ISBN: 978-1-60820-644-5
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal Series
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx  

Andrew Sutter thought the danger to himself and his lover, Devon Forsythe, died with Andrew’s older brother, Tyler. However, a late night phone call from Tyler’s son changed Andrew’s normal life into a deadly nightmare. Magic, werewolves, vampires, as well as a sadistic corpse really did exist and Andrew, along with Devon, was caught in the middle of a supernatural world.  

After Dark is the first book in the After Series. The illustration of fiction distorting into reality adds a psychological element to the plot. The characters are especially intriguing. Andrew is an organized well-dressed family oriented businessman who owns a coffee shop. Devon is an intelligent former journalist, researching the paranormal for his future book. Andrew and Devon live together in a loving relationship. As the story unfolded, I began to understand the alliance between the plot and the title, which relates to Andrew and Devon’s ancestor’s secrets. Both Andrew and Devon grew up ignorant of the magical powers bred into them; each man thought of himself as just an average human. Andrew had latent gifts that did not surface until he was attacked. The same for Devon but with Devon, he had no memory of what occurred during the heat of battle; only that he and his love ones survived the attacks. Now that the darkness of ignorance has been lifted, Andrew and Devon seek to accept what they are and continue to be honorable men.

Luisa Prieto’s After Dark is an enthralling, thoroughly enjoyable dark supernatural action saga eased by moments of sensual intimacy, a touch of humor and a desire for more of these exciting characters.

Dragon Hunts

Title: Dragon Hunts
Author:  Lizzie Lynn Lee
Publisher:  Total-E-Bound Publishing
ISBN/BIN:  978-0-85715-919-9
Genre:  {M/F}  Paranormal, Rubenesque, Older Woman/Younger Man
Rating:  4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amethyst Nymph 

Jessica Knapp doesn’t have esteem issues, she’s just realistic.  She’s a single mother who works as a secretary for one of the most attractive men walking the planet.  Having more than enough meat on her bones and a few years on her boss, Jessie knows there’s no way a man like him could desire a woman like her.  Still, that didn’t stop her from secretly hoping.  When an unexpected business trip throws the two together, Jessie finds out how wrong she is.   

Either she didn’t like him or she wasn’t taking his advances seriously.  Declan Cairne couldn’t figure out which of these issues was keeping Jessie away from him, but he was determined to fix the problem.  She’s the one and Declan’s dragon accepts her as his mate.  Once he convinces Jessie of this and deals with her abusive ex-husband, they can start their new life together. 

Jessie and Declan get better acquainted on their dream trip, which quickly turns into a nightmare.  Jessie’s ex-husband has returned for Jessie and her son.  After all she’d gone through to protect her son,  Jessie finds it hard to turn to Delcan for help.  She’s afraid to bring harm to Declan’s doorstep, even though Declan wants to take control of the situation.  Jessie’s fear caused her to make a rash decision which almost gave her ex-husband the upper hand.  True to his word, Declan handled everything and mother and son were saved. 

Declan took his sweet time letting Jessie in on the secret that he’s a dragon and man, was the timing bad.  Jessie’s son helped soften the blow.  It was easy to like Jessie because I could see myself in her and my heart also went out to her.  After all she endured to keep her son safe, I wanted her to wind up with a strong man who knew how to take charge.  Declan is that man.  He is everything Jessie deserves.  I ended Dragon Hunts  wishing dragons were real.  Give this book a read, and I bet you will agree with me.

For The Living

Title: For The Living
Author: L. A. Witt
Publisher: Amber Allure
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-61124-269-0
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx 

Jay Warren has a secret. He’s gay and the guilt of not telling his wife is driving him straight to the bottle. For months, he’s tried to confess the truth and just when he gets up his courage, she’s killed in a car accident.  

Working as a funeral director means Scott Warren sees people grieving every day. When he offers to help a distraught Jay, he doesn’t expect to hear the widower’s guilt over being in the closet. It’s surprising how much they have in common and in a few short weeks, his empathy and concern blossoms into a deep emotion Scott didn’t expect. Are Jay’s feelings sincere or is he using them as a distraction for his grief? What’s the truth? 

For The Living is the newest release by L.A. Witt. Some readers may have problems with the idea of a funeral director getting involved with a grieving husband but since their friendship progresses slowly, it works.  

The story’s filled with guilt, anxiety, pain, drinking and Jay’s near crippling emotional fear of confessing to his family that he’s gay. I’m happy to say the author handles these issues with finesse and care. Jay and Scott make a good pair and they have a lot in common. I like Scott a lot. The guy’s caring and thoughtful and oftentimes, I thought he was a saint for putting up with Jay’s wishy-washy attitude toward their relationship. The middle of the book is full of this and at times I wanted to scream to get on with it. Still, I can’t deny the chemistry between these two. It’s intense…sizzling hot and passionate.  

I really appreciate that Jay’s wife, Misty was a good person instead of a shrew. We learn a lot about their courtship and marriage over the course of the story and meet the in-laws. There are parts in these sections that are more predictable than others, but it doesn’t mean I didn’t enjoy them. The conflicts with Misty’s family are understandably angry and those where Jay tells his family that he’s gay are heart-wrenching.

Overall, I enjoyed the story and felt it was well thought-out and nicely written. The emotions are handled well, the pace flows smoothly and the personalities of the characters are well developed. If I could have wished for anything, it would have been some resolution of Jay’s relationship with his mother-in-law. It was left dangling and would have made a great scene.

Fangs over America

Title: Fangs over America
Author: Wynn Wagner
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-61372-424-8
Genre: {M/M}, {M/M/M}, Vampire, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph 

Marten has gone through a lot in his life.  He went from a small Texas town to fighting Germans in World War I.  He became a vampire, an assassin and a husband to two beautiful vampires. Now it looks like he’s just become the King of Europe’s vampires.   

Fangs over America is the fourth book in Wynn Wagner’s Vamp Camp trilogy.  Yes, I know that does not make sense but wait until Marten explains it to you and everything will become clear.  Like the previous books, this story is told in the first person from Marten’s point of view.  From the beginning, you will be pulled into the story and, almost from the start, the author throws twists and turns into the book that I am sure the readers will not see coming.  When Marten’s big mouth results in him becoming King of Europe’s vampires, I was actually surprised that it was the least Queen Cecile did to him.   

While this is an excellent book, it is also hard to review without giving away any spoilers.  Let’s just say that Marten has a lot to come to terms with in this new story.  Not only must he figure out how to handle the responsibilities his new position carries, but he has to face betrayal, love, uncertainty and fear.  

I was up late into the night reading Fangs over America.  Wait until you meet Snarkly and I can’t wait to see what else the author will be putting Marten through, as this story opens up a whole world of possibilities.

Natural Evil

Title:  Natural Evil
Author:  Thea Harrison
Publisher:  Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL:  www.samhainpublishing.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-61921-110-0
Genre:  {M/F}, Shape-shifters, Series
Rating:  4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph 

Claudia saves a dog that turns out to be a Wyr.  She realizes that something is wrong in the town she goes to for veterinary services.  Luis has to convince her she is his mate. 

Natural Evil, the second e-book in the Elder Races series, brought some interesting people together.  A woman with issues from the Iraq/Afghanistan wars ends up in the middle of an operation by the Edler Tribunal’s Police force.  The author has created an interesting group of Wyr’s and an alternate world attached to ours. 

Claudia is a very strongly written character that has some major issues.  Luis is also a very stubborn character and some of the exchanges between the two are funny and made me laugh out loud.  Ms. Harrison either is familiar with military tactics, or did a lot of research, as the ones in this book are very true in some of the scenarios. 

The books in this series can be read alone and I am looking forward to reading more about the various Elder Races.

Tuesday, May 1, 2012

Keepers of the Night

Title: Keepers of the Night
Author: Nikki McCoy
Publisher: Total E-Bound
Publisher URL: www.total-e-bound.com
ISBN/BIN: 978-0-85715-920-5
Genre: {M/M/M} Paranormal Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx 

It was during the fight against Mikel, the son of Death, that Malen and Turek met Xilonen, their mate. Before the battle ended, he ran and they’ve been hunting him since. The months of searching are frustrating and just when they’re at their wits ends, a phone call changes everything. 

Xilonen’s life is a mess. He’s had to betray his fellow Keepers and leave his mates behind to keep his younger brother safe. It means he and Shayne have been running for months, but now he needs help. Xilonen needs his mates. If he and Shayne are to survive the plans of their mother, the Goddess of Night, they’ll need a safe place to hide.  

The question is whether the three mates can get past the pain of betrayal and find a way to bond their lives together? Xilonen also must learn how to defend himself against the mental assault threatening to drive him mad. It’s a lot to work through and they have to keep Shayne safe, too. Can they do it? 

Keepers of the Night is the latest release in the Keepers of the Gods series and Xilonen is one of the most intriguing characters to come out of the books so far. It’s obvious he loves his brother and is willing to do anything to protect him. Xilonen’s a difficult guy to get a fix on. His personal history and what lead to his decisions come out slowly and often painfully as the plot progresses. I thought the author did a great job with both his personality and emotions. I could really feel for what he’d gone through and the pain he’s suffered. I also like his little brother and enjoyed his part in the plot and how he relates to Collen.  

Turek and Malen are interesting men…warriors. The development of their personalities is nicely done but it’s their tender care for Xilonen that really made an impression; that and their willingness to believe in him despite his past actions. Yes, there are problems at times but Ms. McCoy balanced it just right…to hear him out and understand…not condemn. There are plenty of other characters, whether Keepers or Gods, villains or friends, and they all play important roles…and none are boring.  

I have no idea who’ll be featured next, but I can’t wait. 

Reader Advisory: This story is best read in sequence as part of a series but can be a stand-alone and contains scenes of light bondage and BDSM and has one scene of dubious consent.

Through Dagus’s Eyes

Title: Through Dagus’s Eyes
Author: Charlie Richards
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Publisher’s URL: http://www.extasybooks.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-77111-117-1
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph 

Dagus is tired of being treated with kid gloves.  Ever since he was kidnapped by the crazy scientist out to destroy the shifters, Dagus’s brother Drake, and a variety of shifters, have been smothering him and he has just about had enough.  When a big, bad biker comes into the local bar and soon claims to be Dagus’s mate, the young blind author is ready to take a ride on the wild side. 

Fans are sure to enjoy this newest addition to the Wolves of Stone Ridge series.  Dagus is a character that we met a few stories back and I wondered at that time if he would end up getting a shifter mate.  Brad is not only a new character for this series but the rest of the bikers he rode with are part of a spin-off series.  Brad is a polar bear shifter.  I loved the gentleness he used with Dagus, while allowing the young man to retain his hard-won independence.  While the passion between the men runs hot and intense, it was the scene in which Brad’s bear protects his young mate that just seemed to pop off the pages. 

The Stone Ridge pack faces new challenges in Through Dagus’s Eyes that gives the series a fresh feel and allows the author to take the series in new directions, keeping it from becoming too predictable.  As can be expected with a series, many previous characters show up to lend the new mates a hand and I love how this allows the readers a chance to catch up on past favorites.   

This has become a series that I love to read and can’t wait to see what more the author has planned.

The World is a Stage

Title:  The World is a Stage
Author:  Tamara Morgan
Publisher:  Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL:  www.samhainpublishing.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-60928-953-9
Genre:  {M/F}, Contemporary, Comedy, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph 

Publication Date:  6-5-12 

Michael is always there for his friends, which is why he ended up keeping Rachel out of Eric’s and Molly’s way.  Rachel has always taken on the task of trying to keep her sister out of trouble that she has forgotten how to take care of herself. 

The second book in the Games of Love series, The World is a Stage, had me laughing and crying at different parts of the book.  The fact that Rachel has to learn some hard lessons if she is to keep her relationship with her family is so true, even though there were times I wanted to slap her and tell Michael to just walk away. 

The reactions of the various characters to each other and the circumstances were so true and funny at times.  Michael also has to come to terms with a life-changing injury as well, because professional athletes are sometimes the last to give up, to their determent. 

The author did something with Shakespeare that I would never have thought of, so be warned this plays a very interesting role within this story.  There is also a lot of emotional turmoil, as well as wondering how this will all be resolved.  I enjoyed the ending because I thought the author did a great job of getting the conflict resolved, though she kept you wondering right to the last.   

Though you do not have to read this series in order, to get the most enjoyment, I recommend you read the books in order.

Ben

Title: Ben
Author: Jambrea Jo Jones
Publisher: Total E-Bound
Publisher URL: www.total-e-bound.com
ISBN/BIN: 978-0-85715-923-6
Genre: {M/F} Contemporary Suspense Series
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx 

Colonel Ben Davies has been crazy about his best friend’s twin sister, Maribeth, for a long time. His attraction to the red-headed beauty is only getting stronger and he’s afraid to give in to his desire…that it would destroy his friendship with Fin and his part in the O’Malley family. No matter how much Mari tempts him, Ben can’t give in to his yearning; he has too much to lose. 

Mari won’t take no for an answer and is determined to convince Ben that they belong together. His attitude changes when she’s mugged and her life’s put in danger. Suddenly Ben realizes how much Mari means to him but the question is whether he can keep her safe until they can learn who’s behind the attacks and why? 

Ben is release number two in Jambrea Jo Jones’ series Semper Fi, but it can be read as a standalone.  

Ms. Jones did a nice job developing the personalities of all her characters. The relationships and interactions are believable and progress at a smooth pace. Mari is determined to get her way, Ben is just as resolute they stay friends and the frustration of both is well done. Putting Mari in danger is an unexpected twist during this time. While I thought Ben would be upset, I didn’t think he’d give in to Mari so quickly. Truthfully, I thought it was too quickly, after making such a big deal of keeping his hands off of her. Don’t get me wrong, it worked, it was just fast. 

I enjoyed the suspense aspect of the story...it was nicely done and left me guessing. It was introduced almost off-handed initially but then the incidents and danger to Mari escalates. It gives us a variety of events, is highly descriptive and pulls in Fin, Mari’s brother as a prominent character (and who is the focus of the next book). The villain really is a pathetic kind of guy with an interesting back story of his own.  While there’s a nice ending, I found the resolution of Mari’s and Ben’s life a little too perfect.

The Beast’s Promise

Title: The Beast’s Promise
Author: Amylea Lyn
Publisher: Silver Publishing
Publisher’s URL: https://spsilverpublishing.com
ISBN/BIN:  9781614952374
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, Science Fiction, Series
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph 

Owen’s introduction to the Katrian came about while he was a hostage of Raine’s and Ash’s.  While it may not have started the way he would have liked, Owen can’t help but be drawn in by the Katrians, especially Co-Alpha Chief Maltok.  But Owen has a reason for not mating with the man, one that may keep them apart forever. 

It was not hard for me to give this story a high rating, as it earns every point given.  The Beast’s Promise is the second book in the Outside the City series and picks up shortly after the end of book one.  Readers will remember that Owen was taken hostage by Raine and Ash as they escaped prison and tried to make their way out of the city.  Maltok is Ash’s brother and Co-Alpha Chief of the Katrian.  Maltok is thrilled to have his brother back and the attraction he feels for the young human that showed up with him is a bonus. Like Raine and Ash, the attraction between Owen and Maltok is instantaneous.  As book two starts, Owen is trying to come to terms with the fact that he must leave his mate and may never return, while at the same time, Maltok knows there’s something keeping the young man from accepting him.  The confusion, fear and regret the two men feel as they try to understand what is going on comes across realistically, especially given the mating bond that draws them together.  Misunderstandings occur when Owen reveals his secret, but I liked that while it played into the men’s story, the author did not draw it out too long.  What starts out as a journey back to the city to retrieve Owen’s baby brothers soon changes big time.  I really felt for Owen when it seemed as if his brothers were lost to him, yet the young man pulls strength from his pain which he will need later in the story.   

There are many twists and turns along the way that will keep the reader glued to the story. Readers will be shocked when the truth regarding the city is revealed.  There is also some underhanded work going on by members of the Katrian High Council that not only caused trouble for the men in this story, but is sure to show up in future books.  Pay close attention as there are a few hints at upcoming pairings that will surprise you.   

The Beast’s Promise is another well written book by Ms. Lyn and an excellent addition to the Outside the City series.