Wednesday, May 4, 2011

Finding Forgiveness

Title: Finding Forgiveness
Author: Dana Marie Bell
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60928-496-1
Genre: {M/M}, Shape-shifter, Series
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Publication Date: July 5, 2011

Dave and Ben are mates, something both men have known for many years. Yet, Ben refuses to acknowledge the bond between Dave and himself and Dave refuses to force himself on the other man, leaving both men feeling the loss of not claiming their mate.

Finding Forgiveness is the first book in the Poconos Pack series and although it is a new series, it is a spin-off and therein lies the problem, at least for me. The author wrote it as if everyone had read the last series and had an understanding of the dynamics of the pack. In the beginning, it felt as if I had stepped into the middle of an existing story and had to catch my bearings as I figured out who was who. It was not until the men left the pack for Disney World that I really started to enjoy the story.

The men, Dave and Ben, have a long history that goes back to their childhood. Even with that long history, these two still have secrets, which of course mean there will be many misunderstandings. Watching the men find their way to being mates was very entertaining. Ben has a lot to apologize for and I love that the author did not automatically have Dave ready to get together with Ben, just because the man realized how wrong he had been. These are strong men, both more ‘top’ than anything else, so watching how they settled the important matters, like sex and wedding dresses, was hilarious.

There were a couple of secondary characters I would like to see get stories, so I will be keeping my eyes open and fingers crossed that more will be out soon.

Joanna

Title: Joanna
Author: Roberta Gellis
Publisher: Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419931703
Genre: {M/F} Historical, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Goddess Minx

Joanna is the oldest child of Simon and Alinor. She is next in line to become the Lady of Roselynde and takes her responsibilities seriously. She is so much like her father in most ways and because she loves her mother, she obeys without question. Joanna grew up with Geoffrey, a squire to her step-father, and they have spent a lot of time together during the years of their youth.

Knowing that she is to be Geoffrey’s wife leaves her content in her choice and yet unsure of her deep passion for him. She has not talked with her mother much of what is to be expected between a man and woman, which leaves her a little frightened. Her intelligence and knowledge of King John’s past history and his flamboyant court prepares her to avoid being caught up in any scandal that would be started by those who didn’t like her.

One thing I have noticed since I started reading this series is that most of the characters seem to have a hard time expressing themselves calmly. Almost every time, there is an angry outburst drawn from the wrong conclusions and then laughter or no explanation until a later time.

Joanna is the third book in The Roselynde Chronicles and it’s just as intriguing and filled with suspense, laughter and other emotions as the previous releases. Here I was thinking that life would settle down for Alinor and Ian, Joanna’s parents, but I forgot about the king and queen, who have a deep flare for controlling and/or hating their court. Little do these royal persons they know that they may have met their match in Joanna and Geoffrey, since these two have a bond that is stronger than even they are aware.

The story unfolded to be a little daunting for me with the arrogance of a king who thought that he could manipulate his people without repercussion. When he learns of the deceit from the very person he never expected, it made things even worse. Ms. Gellis is one of my favorite authors and she has opened up for me a world of understanding that could never be closed again. Her storytelling is spectacular with the realness of life during an era that has wars, plots, murder and deceit that could result in unnecessary deaths.

Geoffrey and Joanna really proved to have what it took to withstand all the drama that went on around them. Also they learned much about each other while growing up and after they were married, life became more frustrating for them when they were forced to be apart. I think, if not for the wars started by the king, their relationship might not have gone so well. My reason for that is both Geoffrey and Joanna are two strong-willed persons and instead of taking the time to learn, they expected each other to give in easily.

Knowing all I have read so far, I am looking forward to how this series will continue to play out. There is so much that will be revealed, whether good or bad on everyone’s part, but mostly I look to learn about some of the secondary characters that were affected by Joanna and Geoffrey.

Tuesday, May 3, 2011

Chasing the Mailman

Title: Chasing the Mailman
Author: Amber Redd
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Publisher URL: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-61581-673-6
Genre: {M/M} Fantasy, Paranormal
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

In the years since the death of his partner, Usher Addison has spent most of his time on his horse farm, only going into town for supplies or to drop in occasionally at the local bar. When one of his young horses disappears, he’s worried and then he discovers a series of large wolf-like paw prints on his property, but the local authorities won’t help him. He meets the new mailman, Jarreth Malloray, and while he’d like to be more than friends, Usher has to settle for friendship when he decides Jarreth isn’t gay, despite the mixed signals he’s getting. There’s danger all around, animals and people are dying and Usher and Jarreth don’t know why and if Jarreth reveals his own secret, it could drive a wedge between him and Usher forever.

My understanding is that this author writes under two different names and that Amber Redd is the one used for her M/M romances. Anyway, whatever the name, this author is new to me and Chasing the Mailman is her newest release. I have to say that I wouldn’t really classify this as a romance since a more-than-friends relationship between Usher and Jarreth doesn’t occur until near the end. Up until then, Usher is so confused about Jarreth’s sexuality that he rambles about his feelings toward the man to the point of distraction. He also accepted Jarreth’s lies about his not being gay for the majority of the story far too readily…I don’t know that I could be so forgiving or so quickly.

It’s a suspenseful tale and this portion of the story kept my attention as I tried to figure out who was behind the attacks and why. The fear of Usher, and his neighbor Hanna after what had happened on their ranches, was handled well, expressing their fear in a realistic and believable manner. There were hints sprinkled throughout regarding the identity of the killer but it wasn’t until the end that I finally put all of the pieces together. The confrontation scene is filled with drama after the Sheriff arrives and while it’s handled pretty well, the mother with dementia being involved in the death of the killer was rather odd and unbelievable.

Crimson Moon

Title: Crimson Moon
Author: Carol Lynne
Publisher: Total-E-Bound Books
Publisher URL: http://www.total-e-bound.com/
ISBN: 978-0-85715-479-8
Genre: {M/M}, Vampire, Paranormal, Series
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

During the course of his job, Gunnar is attacked and turned by a rogue vampire. Now, the one time Alpha werewolf must deal with the loss of his wolf and his new need for blood. It is only with the help of Ramiro that Gunnar has any hope of surviving.

Crimson Moon, the newest book in the Neo’s Realm series, is full of twists that help move the series forward. War appears to be just around the corner, unknown curses are revealed and an old enemy is confronted. During all this, Gunnar has to deal with all the new changes that were forced on him. The confusion, fear and anger that Gunnar goes through is not only understandable, but comes across realistically.

Standing by his man the whole time is Ramiro, the Vampire King’s head of security. Ramiro knows what it is like to be turned against your will and hopes to be able to help the proud wolf. As much as Gunnar would like to deny it, there is a strong chemistry between them, which is easy to see. While it was easy to understand Gunnar’s misgivings, there were more than a few times when I wanted to shake him for his stubbornness. Once they get together, watch out as the passion between them is hot.
Crimson Moon is an excellent addition to the Neo’s Realm series. I loved the introduction of Gaia’s curse, as it explains the many things about Sema. The strength of the characters continues to grow from one book to the other, with unexpected twists thrown in to keep the reader entertained. Readers are sure to enjoy each new book as it comes out and, as the stories are closely linked, it is important to read them in order.

The Shifter and the Dreamer

Title: The Shifter and the Dreamer
Author: Crissy Smith
Publisher: Total E-Bound
Publisher URL: http://www.total-e-bound.com/
ISBN: 978-0-85715-476-7
Genre: {M/F} Contemporary, Shape-shifter, Mystery
Rating: 3 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

When Sheriff Katy Rose realizes a serial killer has come to her town, she has no choice but to call the lead FBI agent working the case. That’s puts her back into contact with Special Agent Cameron Morris, the man she loved but left behind, in order to hide her unique family gift.

Cameron had his own secrets and had every intention of going after Katy when the time was right. Knowing she’s in danger brings out all his protective instincts and he knows that no matter what, Katy is meant to be his mate. The questions are can they trust each other enough to reveal their secrets and can they stop a madman before he kills again.

The Shifter and the Dreamer is the first release in Crissy Smith’s new paranormal series, Secrets. The death in the opening pages started this story off with an intensity I wasn’t expecting for a mystery of its short length and I had high hopes with the concept, but it fell a little short. The story quickly shifts focus to the relationship of Katy and Cameron, but I had trouble feeling their connection…the chemistry binding them together.

The other thing I had trouble with was Katy’s attitude to her gift. It was clearly something that all the women in her family had, so why hate it so much…so why refuse to have children. This was just one example of a loose end that wasn’t completed and left me with questions.

The secondary characters of old friend Clint and sister Allysa are nice additions, helping to round out the plot, giving it a little extra creative flair. The killer made an additional appearance near the end where a few small pieces of information were added, also giving Cameron the chance to come in and save the day. I’m curious as to where Ms. Smith is going with the next release.

Dressed to Thrill

Title: Dressed to Thrill
Author: Kimberly Gardner
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: http://www.loose-id.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60737-992-8
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Oliver had been looking forward to fun in the sun with his boyfriend and hopefully, a hotel management job offer. However, things did not go according to Oliver’s plans; they were so much better than Oliver ever dreamed possible when Oliver meets Drew.

Dressed to Thrill is a fantastic humorous feel good short story. The plot has a touch of emotional drama, which rounds out the overall storyline. The setting is Key West Florida, the Mecca of gay spring breakers. The characters are credible. Oliver is a shy, good-natured romantic young man. He enjoys the simple things in life. After watching a drag queen performance, Oliver realized guys in dresses were a real turn on for him. Oliver is enchanted by this one particular drag queen, who gave a lap dance.

Drew is a seductive talented young man, with dreams of becoming a singing star. He operates the family business by day and performs at a nightclub in the evening. Past rejections have prompted Drew to be guarded about revealing his dual career. Oliver and Drew are well matched in personality, as well as their desires. The intimacy scenes generate an inflamed body effect, necessitating the reader to seek out a cooling item for immediate use.

Kimberly Gardner has created an outstanding incredibly enjoyable saga. I quickly became extremely fond of Oliver and Drew.

Redemption

Title: Redemption
Author: Stormy Glenn
Publisher: Siren-Bookstrand
Publisher URL: http://siren-bookstrand.com/
ISBN: 1-61034-441-3
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary, Shape-shifter, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Three years ago, Rogan Owens was confused about his sexuality and because he refused to acknowledge the bond with his mate, he lost Julian. Since then, he’s tried to do the best he could by coming out of the closet and taking over as Alpha of his mate’s pack. When he accidently discovers that Julian’s alive, Rogan’s thrilled but doesn’t understand why he stayed away. After they have a confrontation, Rogan’s devastated and just when he’s convinced Julian will hate him forever, his mate decides to come back. Unfortunately for the lovers, someone doesn’t want them together and is willing to do just about anything to keep Rogan and Julian apart. If they don’t discover what’s going on, they could both end up dead.

The newest release in Stormy Glenn’s True Blood Mate series is Redemption and since some important portions of the story contains characters from the previous releases, I recommend they be read in sequential order.

I must admit that the blurb for this shape-shifter story intrigued me from its first reading and I wasn’t disappointed. The story begins with a prologue that’s set three years before Chapter 1 and sets up what rips Rogan and Julian apart. It’s not often you see two mates having to work their way back to each other and I appreciated this unexpected creative twist. The author did a very nice job working them into a mutually desired second chance together. Good job, Ms. Glenn.

The two villains of this piece, Valentina and her father, Elder Belikov, are well constructed, and easy to hate because of what they do to Rogan and Julian. I was a little disappointed we didn’t get to see then stand in front on the council for judgment and sentencing. That omission…that dangling thread left me feeling a little unsettled and I would have preferred a definite acknowledgment of their fate. I look forward to the next release in the series.

Take Me On

Title: Take Me On
Author: Zenina Masters
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Publisher URL: http://www.extasybooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-55487-840-6
Genre: {M/F/M/M}, Shape-shifter, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amazon Nymph

Xefir, Artur, and Naedar arrive on Worrik looking for their mate. Reesha has gone on vacation because she needs to recharge by being alone. Reesha doesn’t know when her mates may find her so she unaware that the men have arrived. During a storm, the men stop to help due to the damage to her house.

Take Me On is the fifth book in the Four Ever More series and had an added twist this time. While there was not as much drama and suspense in this story, the fact that the clones, or blenders, are shape-shifters made for an interesting take about the clones. The race that contributed the dragon genes were looking at this set as an experiment to see how they turned out. I was left wondering whether the children would have the dominant dragon genes.

Each book in this series can be read alone, though I think the reader will get more information about the clone sets if they read the books in order, as interesting tidbits show up unexpectedly.

Mere Mortals

Title: Mere Mortals
Author: Erastes
Publisher: Lethe Press
Publisher URL: http://www.lethepressbooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-59021-043-7
Genre: {M/M} Historical, Mystery
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Crispin Thorne has become the ward of Philip Smallwood. When Crispin arrives at Smallwood’s island home, located at Horsey Mere in Norfolk, he discovers he is not the only ward. Myles Graham and Jude Middleton are there before him. All three young men have similar backgrounds, as well as similar looks, so why is Philip Smallwood giving them a new future?

Mere Mortals is a mystery with a touch of romance. The well written plot features wonderful descriptions of the setting, in addition to the etiquettes of the era. The characters are believable. Crispin is friendly, a romantic given to flights of fantasies. However, he is very cautious about revealing too much of his history at boarding school. Crispin is immediately attracted to Jude, in addition to being wary of Myles. Jude is an insecure flirt, very needy of all the attention from everyone in a room. Myles gives the appearance of being gruff, yet he is exceptionally sharp and well aware of the household’s secret activities. Myles is attracted to Crispin, nevertheless he remains quiet, giving Crispin time to realize the truth regarding Jude. None of the young felt worthy of the aristocratic behavior bestowed upon them by the servants. Nonetheless, they all worked hard to gain Phillip’s approval. Phillip is an enigma.

As the story unfolds, each piece of the puzzle exposes Phillip’s personality, as well as his true objective for the young men. Erastes has created an impressive tale filled with suspense, a touch of intimacy and a dash of humor. I was especially surprised by the dark turn of events in the storyline. Mere Mortals is an incredibility enjoyable story.

In the Shadow of the Sun

Title: In the Shadow of the Sun
Author: Aislinn Kerry
Publisher: Amber Allure
Publisher http://www.amberquill.com/AmberAllure
ISBN: 978-1-61124-096-2
Genre: {M/M}, Vampire, Historical, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Seth is a priest on a mission. During the Beautiful Festival of Opet, Seth plans on killing the pharaoh. Will he be able to do it, or will Aten bend the young priest's will?

Aislinn Kerry’s In the Shadow of the Sun is the newest addition in Amber Allure’s multi-author Masquerade series. Set in ancient Egypt, the story puts an unusual twist to the old vampire story. With the author's vivid descriptions, it is almost possible to see scenes like the priests and pharaoh entering the room. In the Shadow of the Sun is also told from Seth’s point of view, yet the snappy dialog between Seth and Aten keeps the story from having that one-sided feeling that can sometimes occur. While the two do have sex shortly after meeting, Seth’s original reason for being there causes him some confusion. Aten and Seth do have a lot of chemistry however, and the author showcases that fact wonderfully. Fans of the vampire genre will also appreciate the fact that the author has changed vampire lore some, as Aten’s strengths and weaknesses don’t follow the old party line. These are two characters I would love to see come back in a longer story.

Imperfect

Title: Imperfect
Author: Cassidy Ryan
Publisher: Total E-Bound
Publisher URL: http://www.total-e-bound.com/
ISBN: 978-0-85715-515-3
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Detectives Zach Gibson and Logan Armstrong are partners, and working together isn’t always smooth and stress free, which makes their personal relationship difficult. So difficult they don’t even know what to call their off-duty connection…but at present, it works and neither is willing to make a change.

When Zach’s grandfather asks them to investigate the theft of a ring off the hand of a deceased friend’s hand, it opens up some painful memories for Logan that’s he’s tried to keep hidden for years. When the secrets come tumbling out, he’s forced to deal with the pain of the past that kept him from moving on with his life.

Imperfect is a fast paced and intriguing little novella that grabbed my attention from the beginning and kept it until the end. Both Zach and Logan are interesting men and the author did a nice job developing their unique personalities in its short length. Their relationship is as volatile as it is intense, and they spend time aggravated and yelling at each other or at other times, in a passionate embrace. There’s also deep pain hovering in the background of Logan’s life…a family tragedy and hurt feelings that the author deals with nicely. Overall, the story is a quick and entertaining read, even if the portion of the story dealing with the stolen ring is handled rather quickly.

The Covenant

Title: The Covenant
Author: Evangeline Anderson
Publisher: Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419933189
Genre: {M/F}, Paranormal
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amazon Nymph

Sumner has been hunting a demon since his wife was killed three-hundred years ago. This demon has been hunting witches every 75 years to drain their power. Kaitlyn is a descendant of a witch that tried to help Sumner at one time and the most powerful witch in her area. Both are attracted to each other, but Kaitlyn is very reluctant to trust him.

The Covenant had some interesting twists, especially toward the end. The author either has a very good understanding of Wicca or she did some excellent research. The different rituals she described would do any Wiccan proud; though she did not indicate what tradition she was showcasing since she indicated there was a coven involved. This information was central to a big portion of the story.

The relationship that Kaitlyn and Sumner have is up and down because Kaitlyn is so afraid of loving someone, due to her history. I think most of us have faced the issue of wanting to love someone but not allowing ourselves to do so. I thought the author did a credible job in creating a different take on vampires and witches. Kaitlyn’s grandmother reminded me of mine while I was growing up and kept waiting for the other shoe to drop, which it did. Though this is the first story I have read from this author, it won’t be the last.

Monday, May 2, 2011

Scents

Title: Scents
Author: Jocelyn Michel
Publisher: Changeling Press
Publisher URL: http://www.changelingpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60521-582-2
Genre: {M/F} Paranormal, Humor & Satire
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amethyst Nymph

Ruling a billion-dollar fragrance industry is a piece of cake for Sasha St. Claire. She’s the best at what she does as a businesswoman and vampire. Her day of meetings and planning the next werewolf assassination takes a nose dive when everything electrical in her office dies.

Tripp Stefano is more than a nonchalant maintenance man. He’s also the notorious Stalker, a werewolf who has several vampire kills under his belt. For months, Tripp’s been working for Sasha’s company and waiting for the perfect opportunity to kill her.

Sasha and Tripp each have a job to do but all they can think about is ripping each other’s clothes off. Mind blowing sex first and assassination after. That was the new plan. After the connection formed between the couple, would either of them be able to complete their mission?

I fell in love with Scents, the second story of the Assassins in Lace series, before I finished the first page. How could I resist these lethal, lustful opposites who attract? Tripp picked some interesting moments to divulge information to Sasha that he conveniently forgot to mention, which had me grinning from ear to ear. His easygoing arrogance is a total turn on, because he uses it to push all of Sasha’s buttons. Sasha thinks she has the upper hand, but she fell hard for Tripp the very first moment. That kind of unexpected chemistry appeals to me more in this story because Tripp and Sasha are sworn enemies. Hopefully by the next installment in this series, the couple will find a way to kiss that isn’t fatal. But, I have to admit that Jocelyn Michel has found sensational substitutions for French kissing that will leave readers as breathless as I was when I finished this amazing story. I will never look at the maintenance man in my office the same after this.

Going The Distance

Title: Going The Distance
Author: Anah Crow & Dianne Fox
Publisher: Amber Allure
Publisher URL: http://www.amberquill.com/AmberAllure
ISBN: 978-1-61124-057-3
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary, Interracial
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Benaiah Day and Jess Leonard’s relationship is at a standstill. Ben wants them to move past this current state and believes they need some time alone. An upcoming conference in New York seems to be the perfect opportunity, so Ben extends an invitation to Jess.

Jess doesn’t feel he has the time for the trip, and isn’t too happy about Ben’s ex attending the conference. While he knows Ben wouldn’t travel those waters again, he doesn’t put anything past Andrew to at least try to regain Ben’s affections.

Will Jess take Ben up on his offer or will the couple remain in their current rut?

Going The Distance is the sequel to Driven To Distraction. I was hoping to see more of this couple and got my wish. Jess’ children are still adorable and his mother is still full of wisdom, capable of lifting the blinders off her son’s eyes. Jess seems stronger and more determined in this release. Ben knows that his future is nothing without Jess and the children and wants to share his world with them. Jess finally understood just how remarkable a man Ben really is and wasn’t willing to hold punches for a change. The men are definitely working towards their future happiness. There is a touch of drama in the story to add spice, and the couple’s sex is as electrifying as ever before. If I wasn’t sure if I disliked Andrew from the first tale, I was positive by the end of this story.

There is still a great deal to come for this couple but will the authors pen it for us is anyone’s guess. I found Going The Distance to be an enjoyable read and look forward to reading more stories from Anah Crow & Dianne Fox in the near future.

Dragon Food

Title: Dragon Food
Author: Emily Carrington
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: http://www.loose-id.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60737-976-8
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Mark is a negotiator for SearchLight, an agency tasked with protecting humans and paranormals from each other. Sent to Florida to look for a possible water dragon, Mark unexpectedly becomes the newest master for a thousand year old genie.

Dragon Food is an interesting story, set within a world where paranormal creatures are not unusual. There are a variety of characters in the story that ensure the reader is entertained. Luke is a genie, but not your typical three wishes kind. Much to Mark’s discomfort, Luke is going to be around until the two men can discover what Mark’s ‘happiness wish’ is. Mark is very complex and right from the beginning, the reader knows something in his past has left him deeply scarred. Both men worry about their growing feelings for the other, but Mark’s fears of intimacy causes more than a few problems. The author takes all this into account and works the men gradually into a relationship, lending a realistic feel to the story.

As the men try to figure out how to handle Mark’s wish, they must also deal with locating a hungry water-dragon, Mark’s abusive ex and finding out who is stalking Luke. As the reader would expect, this leads to a few hairy moments but makes for some interesting reading.

Dragon Food is a well written paranormal story with just enough twists to keep it fresh.

Devils on Horseback - Gideon

Title: Devils on Horseback - Gideon
Author: Beth Williamson
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60928-429-9
Genre: {M/F} Historical Western
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Gideon Blackwood has watched his fellow Devils on Horseback find love. Each has a woman that matches their spirit, drive, determination and temperament. Gideon, however, has no room in his life for the matchmakers who want to make sure the last bachelor in the group is married off. A quick trip to escape the drama turns into anything but when Gideon meets Chloe Ruskin.
Chloe has a job to do. With the safety of her grandmother and two orphans in her hands, she doesn’t take that job lightly. Chloe isn’t sure about the big cowboy who wants to help her family get back on their way. Unfortunately, she has no choice but to take Gideon up on his offer of assistance.

When Chloe’s family goes missing, Gideon is determined to get them back and will not allow her suspicious nature to run him. Has Gideon finally found his match? Has Chloe found a man worth trusting?

Beth Williamson delivers a healthy dose of action, suspense, drama and love in Devils on Horseback – Gideon. The story is well laid out. The couple’s introduction leaves little doubt that Chloe is a woman of strength and determination and Gideon has finally found a woman who can make him lose that cool persona. Their passionate moments ignited the pages. As each fought to regain control of their hearts, it was already clear it was a battle that was not meant to be won.

There were a few moments that tugged at my heartstrings with the pain and suffering evident by the actions and tones of those around. But as always the Devils prove what family is and how it can pull you through the hardest of times.

Ms. Williamson created a wonderful series with a host of fantastic characters. I’ll definitely pick up more books from this author in the near future.

Deck the Sub, a Hammer Story

Title: Deck the Sub, a Hammer Story
Author: Sean Michael
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerebooks.com/
ISBN: none listed
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary BDSM
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

The Christmas holidays are rolling around again and Marcus has something special planned for his sub and lover, Jim. He declares a week off from work and other commitments so they can spend some quality time together. Jim’s not opposed to stretching his boundaries but he’s just not certain about using candles to do it. Can these two come to an agreement and get their holiday off to a fun and joyous start?

Deck the Sub, a Hammer Story is the latest look into Sean Michael’s series that revolves around the world of BDSM. This time the story focuses on the long established partnership of Marcus and Jim as they celebrate the Christmas holidays as only they can…with candles and wax this time. From the beginning pages it’s obvious that this Dom and sub are just as crazy about each other as ever and the passion and sex is still hot…hot….hot.

Emerald Mountain

Title: Emerald Mountain
Author: Victor J. Banis
Publisher: MLR Press
Publisher URL: http://www.mlrbooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60820-33-8
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

A reporter for The Weekly Banner, a gay newspaper located in San Francisco, travels to Ohio to gather facts about the mysterious Peter Simon.

Emerald Mountain is a fascinating psychological quick read with religious overtones. The story, or memories, of Simon is narrated by the reporter. Simon is hailed as a gay messiah, performing miracles. However, Simon’s only memory is of the asylum in Ohio. After the reporter returns to San Francisco, he and Simon become lovers until happenings lead to Simon’s disappearance. Now here is where the mystery comes in; was Simon an illusion conjured up by a burned-out reporter or was Simon real because the reporter chose to believe Simon was real?

Victor J. Banis has created an intriguing teaser that inspires reflections on moral reality versus pious illusion. Emerald Mountain is an intellectual reminder of society’s obstinate burden continues to be what we don’t identify with we fear, what we fear, we try to destroy.