Thursday, April 14, 2011

Flesh & Blood

Title: Flesh & Blood
Author: Ethan Stone
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Publisher URL: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-61581-973-7
Genre: {M/M}, Contemporary, Suspense
Rating: Golden Blush Award
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Cristian’s life is going along just fine until one of Reno’s wealthiest is attacked in his own home. What should have been just another case soon has Cristian facing his demons and wondering if he and his lover, Colby, will make it out the other side.

Flesh & Blood is the sequel to Mr. Stone’s In the Flesh and, while I thought the first book was good, I absolutely loved the follow-up. I have to warn you that the topics covered in this story are, at times, very dark and may be difficult for some to read.

From the beginning, Cristian and Colby pull you back into their world and the opening scenes had me a little surprised, until I realized just what was going on. The chemistry between the men is stronger than ever, with Colby finally out to his family and co-workers and it looks like everything is going well. Unfortunately, Cristian’s new case changes all that and this is what makes Flesh & Blood an excellent story. It is hard not to say too much without spoiling the story, but suffice it to say, the subject matter of the case is something that could come out of today‘s headlines. The author was able to make the reader care about all the victims, while at the same time despise the criminals, of which there are many. That this case is going to affect Cristian, in a personal way, is easy to see and slowly the reader learns just what is behind all the rules Cristian tries so hard not to break. I loved that Colby, regardless of how Cristian behaved at times, stood behind his man, although there is one point in the story when the lawyer shocked me.

Although there are a few heartwarming moments between Cristian and Colby, this is a story that is full of angst. While I don’t think I ever cried through a book as much as I did this one, Flesh & Blood became one of my absolute must saves. The twists and turns the story line takes will surprise many readers but they will also keep you reading to find out what will happen next. Cristian and Colby have become two of my favorite characters and I will be reading both In the Flesh and Flesh & Blood again soon.

A Feast of Choice

Title: A Feast of Choice
Author: Kate Steele
Publisher: Changeling Press
Publisher URL: http://www.changelingpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60521-591-4
Genre: {M/M} Vampire
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Toby Heaton awakens to find he is in the clutches of De Valis’ enemy. This enemy has waited hundreds of years to extract his petty revenge on De. To make matters worst, Toby learns that there is an informant at De’s night club, aiding the adversary.

A Feast of Choice is the second book in the Feasts of Fortune series. The well written plot illustrates incredibly sensual lovemaking, rejection, jealousy and heartbreak. In this episode, Toby is forced to be a pawn used to emotionally destroy De. Toby has a reasonable incentive to follow the perpetrator’s demands. However, he shows a lack of trust in the parties directly involved to rectify the dilemma he finds himself in. Toby is ruled by his fear, as well as his misplaced sentiment. Although Toby claims to love De, he still deceives him. Now he must live with the consequences of his betrayal. Toby ignites my irritation with his spineless behavior.

De is courteous, in addition to being particularly compassionate. De loves Toby for the man he is and not because he is a chrysalis child with the power to benefit a vampire. A Feast of Choice is a romantic cliffhanger interwoven with mystery. I look forward to the next installment to see if Toby finds the courage to redeem his self-respect, as well as what measures De will direct towards his enemies. Kate Steele has created a marvelous saga that I absolutely enjoyed.

Love Sexy

Title: Love Sexy
Author: Stormy Glenn
Publisher: Siren Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.sirenbookstrand.com/
ISBN: 1-61034-429-4
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Shape-shifter
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

As Beta of his werewolf clan, Logan Stone is a busy man but it doesn’t mean he isn’t lonely or doesn’t wish for his own mate. It does mean he’s had little free time to seek out his mate but when he unexpectedly spies a set of sexy eyes staring at him during the moon festival, Logan knows he’s been blessed…he’s found the man meant for him.

Finding doesn’t mean keeping, especially after Logan scares his new mate, Love Star, so badly the man runs away, fearing for his life. Logan finds him hiding almost under his nose, but then has to convince Love of the merits of being mated to a dominate and protective wolf. To make matters worse, they’re under attack by a rogue coyote shifter determined to kill them both and if they’re lucky, they might survive and have a chance at a life together.

Love Sexy is the third release in the True Blood Mate series by Stormy Glenn and since characters from a previous release play some important parts, I recommend they be read in order.

The style of this book is typical Stormy Glenn but this time, she’s created some truly unique characters I wasn’t expecting. On first glance, Love seems rather flighty. He’s obsessed with lollipops and wolf ears and tails (fake ones, that is) and Ms. Glenn didn’t reveal until near the end that he had a serious side. Logan, too, is a bit different and when he scared Love enough to run, I wasn’t certain I was going to like him. He was just too over the top dominating. I was almost afraid he had something wrong with him but things turned around quickly, nipping that problem in the bud.

These two had their problems but they are creatively worked out, putting them into a position of solidarity by the time adversity struck, making them stronger as a couple. The plotting is smooth, the passion hot and the action fast paced and dramatic, while still having its fun and lighthearted moments. What more could you want? As far as I’m concerned, Love Sexy makes for a nice addition to the series. Read and enjoy.

Oliver’s Heart

Title: Oliver’s Heart
Author: Lynn Hagen
Publisher: Siren-Bookstrand
Publisher URL: http://www.sirenbookstrand.com/
ISBN: 1-61034-321-2
Genre: {M/M}, Shape-shifter
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Micah knew, from the first moment he saw Oliver, that the young man was his mate. Unfortunately, Oliver has more than a few problems and Micah wonders if a time will ever come when he can finally claim his mate.

Oliver is Blair’s younger brother and was introduced to the readers in Sunshine’s Savior. From that moment, readers knew that the young Oliver was also Micah’s mate. Yet, the two have a couple of major problems that need to be worked out first. The first problem is easy; Micah just has to wait until Oliver turns 18, in order to claim him. The second problem is Oliver’s attitude about gays and his brother are a little harder to overcome. Although Oliver has slowly been working things out, the readers can see the changes he has been making, Micah is slow to notice. More than once, I wanted to smack Micah for being so slow about seeing how far Oliver has come. When Oliver returns home after spending some time at a fair with the rest of the mates, the scene that followed had me in tears. Although everyone knew Oliver was facing many different issues, I don’t think they really understood just how those issues affected the young man.

Oliver’s Heart is a wonderfully written story that helps further the plot of the Brac Pack series. New characters are introduced, the ongoing situation between Cody, Jasper, and Zeus continues to heat up and once again, the mates find themselves in trouble. This is a long running series, 19 books in all, so there are many more mates to be found and I can’t wait.

The Mark of Cain

Title: The Mark of Cain
Author: Cash Cole
Publisher: Resplendence Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.resplendencepublishing.com/
ISBN: 297-200-118-486-2
Genre: {M/M} Shape-shifter
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Gage is on a mission to assure himself that Ross Sanders was indeed not a figment of his imagination. Gage travels from his home in New Orleans to Tahlequah, Oklahoma, searching for the elusive Native American. Months earlier, Gage was shot by intruders while Gage and Ross were in bed together. Instantaneously, Ross shifted into a panther attacking the intruders then disappeared, leaving Gage to question what he saw, as well as his sanity.

The Mark of Cain is the first book in the Mystic Danger series, a superb blend of humor and action. The plot is an exhilarating well paced suspenseful story of unique shifters, greed, murder and mayhem, along with the Native American clan’s own special brand of justice. The intimacy is steamy. The secondary characters are exceptionally interesting. The main characters are believable. The police, as well as the doctors, tried to convince Gage the panther was his imagination, yet Gage has a long scratch, in addition to a bullet wound on his upper body. Gage is a bit sarcastic; nevertheless a rational man who is very much aware of his surroundings at all times. Gage is cautious but not paranoid; he considers the consequences before he acts. Gage could not ignore the feeling that he and Ross belonged together which prompted his search.

Ross is Cherokee; he speaks the native tongue then translates his words for Gage’s benefit. Ross, whose first name is Cain, fell in love with Gage shortly after they met. Cain and Gage dated for at least a week before moving on to an intimate relationship. Cain is an honorable man, as well as a protector. Knowing paid killers are still hunting for both of them, Cain is desperate to have Gage with him so that he can protect his lover. Cash Cole has created an excellent saga that I could not put down until the happy ending. I look forward to the next installment of this series. I thoroughly enjoyed The Mark of Cain.

Inflamed

Title: Inflamed
Author: Mari Carr
Publisher: Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419933707
Genre: {M/F/M}, {M/M}, Ménage, Western
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amazon Nymph

Keri is moving back home after the disastrous relationship with her last boyfriend. She has always had a crush on Max and Shaw but when they worked for her uncle, they became her best friends and refused to make a move on her. Max and Shaw aren’t waiting now that she is back in Texas.

Best friends Max and Shaw are both bisexual lovers who love Keri, but don’t know how she will react when she finds out that they both want to share her. Keri has heard rumors about Max and Shaw and their penchant for sharing women.

Inflamed is the story about a woman wanting to change her life and explore her sexuality. I think all of us at one time want to get very adventurous, but don’t get past the fantasy stage. Max, Shaw and Keri burn up the pages, once they get together.

Ms. Carr gives the readers an inside look at the secrets that people hide, especially when their environment could become very hostile if it is known. The author showed the conflict the two men had, both within themselves and with each other, as they debated how and when to tell Keri that they were bisexual. Inflamed is one story to add to the bookshelf to be read again.

Tuesday, April 12, 2011

Stormy Eyes

Title: Stormy Eyes
Author: Lynn Hagen
Publisher: Siren-Bookstrand
Publisher URL: http://www.sirenbookstrand.com/
ISBN: 1-61034-323-9
Genre: {M/M}, Shape-shifter
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

The men of the Brac Pack are becoming used to their Alpha sending them on missions because of his dreams. Those that are sent out usually end up meeting their mates. When Storm is sent to the wharf on an errand for Maverick, he can’t help wondering if this tim,e he is going to be the one coming home with a mate.

Stormy Eyes is book five in the Brac Pack series and tells the story of Storm and Kyoshi. While Storm is a character that readers will know well, it is Kyoshi who the readers are meeting for the first time. This is a character that not only matches his mate quite well, but also makes a terrific addition to the circle of mates. The sex between Storm and Kyoshi is, of course hot, but it is the rest of this story that makes this a great read. The interaction between the two men, as well as the rest of the pack members, will leave you laughing more than once. Just wait till you get to the mates party scene or when Kyoshi and Cecil have a tiff. I could not help laughing out loud.

When this series first started, I found the first story to be good but a little weak. The author seems to be getting better and better with each new addition. While the books may not be everybody’s cup of tea, those fans of shape-shifter stories, especially the ones in which there is clearly an Alpha in the pairing, will love these stories. The characters are always engaging, whether it is the primary couple in the story or one of the many secondary characters. The author usually throws in a few minor twists to keep the reader entertained and wanting more. Stormy Eyes was no exception to this rule. Enjoy the story; it is definitely one for the keeper shelves.

Bad Company

Title: Bad Company
Author: K.A. Mitchell
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60928-474-9
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Publication Date: 06-07-2011

Columnist, as well as newspaper Editor, Nate Gray is having a drink at a local gay bar when a voice from the past announces "I need a boyfriend." Nate has not talked to his straight former best friend Kellan Brooks since high school. Kellan is plotting revenge on his overbearing father. Kellan believes that Nate will be the perfect collaborator because Kellan's father crushed Nate's family, while climbing the ladder to wealth and power.

Bad Company has a well written intricate plot of emotional chaos, including plenty of humor. Troubled by childhood secrets, jealousy, guilt, control issues and fear of rejection, the characters have a difficult time coming to terms with their true desires. The setting is Baltimore. The intimacy is superb. The characters are convincing. Nate is a perfectionist, always had to be right and would make the facts fit whatever he decided was the truth. He’s sarcastic to hide his pain. Seeing Kellan again brings back Nate’s memories of Kellan’s betrayal during high school. Kellan had gone from feeling like a part of Nate to being a cruel stranger. These betrayals caused Nate to build a wall around his heart, as well as encouraged him to keep his sex life casual.


Kellan is a friendly easygoing man. He’s tried to live up to his father’s controlling demands and in doing so, he lost his own identity. The months living with Nate help Kellan to be his own man, along with discovering the love that had been missing from his life. The original plan for revenge brings about several revelations for both Kellan and Nate as the story unfolds. The gifted K.A. Mitchell has a talent for creating intelligent characters in the mist of turmoil interwoven with side-splitting dialogue. Bad Company also illustrates a realistic view of social bigotry. Bad Company is an incredible romance that I extremely enjoyed.

A Troubled Range

Title: A Troubled Range
Author: Andrew Grey
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Publisher URL: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-61581-830-3
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

The Holden and Jessup families may have ranches situated next to each to each other but the two families are far from neighborly. The elder men, Jefferson Holden and Kent Jessup, hate each other and have for years, but their sons, Haven and Dakota, don’t know what happened to cause such animosity. The younger men doesn’t harbor the same ill will toward each other, especially after Dakota helps Haven out when he’s left stranded alone on the open range during a violent storm. Bringing Haven back to his ranch allows him to meet Dakota’s friend Phillip Reardon, starting a chain of events none of them expected.

Phillip isn’t afraid of admitting who he is or the type of person he’s attracted to and quickly sees Haven is hiding who is really is. The men almost immediately start a hidden relationship, which puts them both under a huge amount of stress. To make matters worse, there’s something odd going on with Haven’s surly father, fencing’s been cut and animals injured and a long held secret finally revealed could ruin all hope of a future with Phillip.

A Troubled Range is the sequel to A Shared Range and as such, the titles should be read in order.

I have to admit this story sucked me in from the very first page. It’s clear from the opening that Haven’s father has a bad attitude toward just about everything in life and that they don’t have a good relationship. It’s also just as readily obvious Haven is nothing like his father…he’s a good man and that he tries his best to stay under his dad’s radar. From here, the plot quickly moves forward when Haven gets caught in a storm and he’s rescued by Dakota, pulling the characters from the previous release into the story when he brings the younger man back to his ranch for safety. It’s a great way to bring the various members together in a believable manner and allows Haven and Phillip to meet and become lovers. Trust me; the sparks definitely fly between these two from the moment they meet.

Mr. Grey has once again used all his creative flair, thrown in some interesting twists and turns, mixed in love, passion and desire with some betrayal, giving you all the things needed to keep your attention from the first page to the last. So if you have a thing for sexy cowboys, romance, mystery and don’t mind a little angst, then I think this story will make for an entertaining addition to your growing pile of Andrew Grey keeper reads.

Mandarin Orange: Sweet and Sour

Title: Mandarin Orange: Sweet and Sour
Author: TC Blue
Publisher: Torquere Books
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerebooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-61040-191-3
Genre: {M/M}, Contemporary
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Riley is comfortable with his sexuality and could care less whether anyone is gay or straight. Riley figures growing up with a gay uncle taught him to accept the differences in people. When the young man he believes to be his uncle’s latest boy toy shows up, Riley can’t seem to keep his thoughts from drifting to his sexy new neighbor. Before long, Riley is wondering just how straight he is and why someone like Kelly would hook up with his uncle.

One of the reasons I love TC Blue’s books is because of the way the author is able to make the characters so believable. Neither of the men in Mandarin Orange: Sweet & Sour comes across as perfect; Kelly is a little leery about trusting, especially the signals he keeps getting from his new friend and neighbor, Riley. Riley is cocky and has absolutely no filter between his brain and his mouth, which makes for some very funny moments. Watching them work around their insecurities and uncertainties will keep the reader entertained. These two are hot together, yet the author does not allow them to automatically reach their happily ever after once they fall into bed. They have more than a few road blocks to clear before they are ready to become a couple, yet their journey is one that comes across realistically.

There are also several wonderful secondary characters that help the men find the true love they have been searching for. The twinkies three brought a smile to my face more than once. This is an easy book to recommend and I am sure fans of this author will love Mandarin Orange: Sweet & Sour.

Griffin’s Treasure

Title: Griffin’s Treasure
Author: Lynne Connolly
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: http://www.loose-id.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60737-967-6
Genre: {M/F} Paranormal Shape-shifter
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Goddess Minx

Josh Friedland is concerned about his younger brother Laurie, who has been missing for four months. They are both stars on an International soccer team. They have also lived secret lives as griffin shape-shifters and they work for Department 57 as covert operatives. Businessman George Skeffington purchases the team and asks Laurie to visit him, who disappears after he’s there for a few days. Josh has always has a connection with his brother and knows that he is not dead, just missing. He suspects that Skeffington is involved somehow, and when Skeffington’s stepdaughter is asked to keep an eye on Josh, his theory is confirmed.

All Chana wants to do is to get away from her stepfather, moving on to start a new life completely. She has been used since she was twelve years old and needs her freedom to live on her own. There is only one person who has shown her more attention and love but she is not so trusting of Josh’s intentions.

Griffin’s Treasure is as great a story as the other books I have read in this Department 57 series. I am very excited to finally learn more about Josh, the griffin, being that I love griffins. I learn more each time I read one of the books and the secondary characters add a special touch, along with a show of unity among the group of Talents.

Ms. Connolly’s paranormal stories are spellbinding, suspenseful and have kept me more focused on each story until the end, wondering what would happen next. It is truly a surprise for me when I learned what was going on in the mind of the stepfather, who turned out to be a heartless villain. He didn’t even care who he hurt or killed to gain his goals and regardless of what he wanted, some of them were beyond his reach.

Josh and Chana proved to have more of a bond than they both suspected. As the days progressed with them spending time together, more of the truth came out behind their motives for working together against her stepfather. Josh used his bad boy appearance to the public but behind the scenes, he is a sweetheart finding his way through life. Chana learns so much about herself and she’s upset when she find out a few things have been kept from her. I really liked her because she never gave up on being a free soul.

This is an enjoyable book, and I hope it leaves you wanting to learn more about the Department 57 characters as I do.

Half-Blood

Title: Half-Blood
Author: Amanda Steiger
Publisher: Changeling Press
Publisher URL: http://www.changelingpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60521-608-9
Genre: {M/M} Werewolves
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Haden lay in bed, his brow burning with fever. The fevers and headaches were the least serious symptom of bond deprivation sickness; the worse was yet to come. Attempting to find relief for his feverish body, Haden crashes his motorcycle while riding down the mountain road. The next day Haden finds himself in the care of Richard Thorn, a powerful full-blooded Folk male who stirs Haden’s half-human and half-Folk blood like no one ever has before.

Half-Blood is an expressively emotional romance of two lonely wounded souls searching for happiness. The short story is well written. The setting is Maine. The intimacy is sensual. The characters are convincing. Haden knew that one day, he would have to take a mate. Unfortunately, his pack mates hated him. He consistently endures humiliation at the hands of the pack. Haden grew up not trusting anyone. HIs human mind is extremely wary of Richard’s kindness, while his wolf accepts Richard as a bond mate.

Richard chose not to be a member of any pack. He was not looking for a mate, yet he understands exactly what Haden is going through. Unknown to Haden, Richard had been watching over Haden long before the accident. Richard is the solution to Haden’s dilemma, if only Richard can convince Haden to let go of his fears. Amanda Steiger has created a splendidly touching saga that I enjoyed immensely.

Shane’s Fury

Title: Shane’s Fury
Author: Stephani Hecht
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Publisher URL: http://www.extasybooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-55487-826-0
Genre: {M/M}, Shape-shifter
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Shane fell in love, something a leopard is never supposed to do. Now his mate has been taken and the rest of the coalition is beginning to wonder how far Shane will go to get his panther back.

Shane’s Fury is the tenth book in The Lost Shifters series and according to the author’s website, it’s the continuing tale of Shane and Trevor. This is a hard book for me to review. While the story was good, it picks up shortly after Trevor was taken, I also came away from it feeling a little let down. Fans of this series know that Shane is an intense character who comes across as someone with little or no feelings. His precision in killing is well known to all around him. The abduction of his mate sends him close to the edge and readers are shown classic Shane behavior. Trevor’s experiences are also revealed to the reader and I could not wait for Shane to rescue his panther and destroy Orion for what he was doing to the couple.

As I stated above, I was also a little disappointed in the book, not because it was bad, but because I was expecting this to be a continuation of Trevor’s and Shane’s story. However, there was so much going on with Riley and Colin, secondary characters in the series, that it almost felt as if Trevor and Shane had suddenly become the secondary couple in their own story. While I love seeing former characters come back, and new ones introduced, I felt this time it kept Shane’s Fury from living up to its potential.

Canine TLC

Title: Canine TLC
Author: Deirdre O'Dare
Publisher: Amber Allure
Publisher URL: http://www.amberquill.com/AmberAllure
ISBN: 978-1-61124-048-1
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Gary Sanchez credits a therapy dog as aiding him with his recovery while in the hospital. He understands how important those visits were and decides to pay the experience forward once released. Adopting Angie was the first step in that process. Gary soon learned that his special canine had enough love and patience to aid those in need and to help him with the next stage of his own recovery.

Doctor Mirman Hamardi vividly remembers his life as a child. The love and support his mother gave him helped Mirman to achieve his dreams. His attraction to Gary comes as a surprise after their initial meeting, but he cannot deny enjoying their time together. Will his past trauma be too much for him to accept Gary and Angie in his life, or does Angie have enough magic to heal one more wounded soul?

Canine TLC is Deirdre O'Dare’s latest release in the Canine Cupids series. The importance of healing mentally and physically, learning to be patient with others and learning to face fears were important messages throughout the tale. Mirman hit on how scars aren’t just visible and it made me sit down to access how many scars I’ve hidden in my lifetime and how I should try to heal those wounds instead of letting them fester.

The story has a positive message but Deirdre throws us a bone and adds a touch of erotic spice. I’ve come to enjoy reading this series. I never know which subject matters will be touched on and I’m always guaranteed a good read. Those who’ve enjoyed the series may wish this tale was a bit longer, as do I, but it’s packed full of what we’ve come to love.

Monday, April 11, 2011

Sheriff Found

Title: Sheriff Found
Author: Joyee Flynn
Publisher: Siren-Bookstrand
Publisher URL: http://www.sirenbookstrand.com/
ISBN: 1-61034-261-5
Genre: {M/M}, Shape-shifter
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Toby’s pack is in trouble and when his Alpha sends him out for help, the last thing Toby expected to find was his mate. While Toby is thrilled with this new change in his life, the problems with his pack still exist. Toby doesn’t realize that the issues facing his pack are worse than ever. Will the little beagle’s mate be able to help or will he lose his family so soon after finding his mate?

Sheriff Found had me laughing from the beginning. The shifters in this new series are not your typical wolf or feline; instead, the pack is made up of puppy shifters. While that may come across a little hinkey, fans of shape-shifter stories will understand that there is a difference between the characters in human form and in their animal form. The author also does a wonderful job explaining the ins and outs of the pack, which answers any questions the reader may have. As for the main characters in Sheriff Found, I absolutely fell in love with Toby, who even in human form has all the characteristics of a hyper puppy, and Randall, who makes the perfect Alpha for Toby. The way the shifters mark their mates not only had me laughing out loud, but also made me wonder how the author came up with that particular idea. The chemistry between the men comes through clearly, as does the deep love that springs up almost at once.

Since this is just the first book in the Hiding Hounds series, there are a few loose ends that are sure to be addressed in future stories. During the course of Sheriff Found, the author introduces two secondary characters who will soon be back in their own story and I can’t wait. This has all the earmarks of a fun series that readers will be reading over and over again.

Wylder Magick

Title: Wylder Magick
Author: Camille Anthony
Publisher: Changeling Press
Publisher URL: http://www.changelingpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60521-612-6
Genre: {M/F}, Paranormal, Interracial
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amazon Nymph

Morven thinks she is no match for Elias so she runs, after she finds out he thinks she’s his mate. According to the rules, Elias must find her within one year of their mating or he loses her forever. Unfortunately, for the Council of Magick, Elias is the most powerful warlock of them all and is also the Council’s enforcer.

I enjoyed reading Wylder Magick, however, I would have liked a little more information about the way the ruling regarding mates came about. The book concentrated on Morven and Elias separately, and let the reader know the consequences of deceiving the one you love. Once the two came together, the chemistry between them is hot. I thought it interesting that their daughter was born a puppy and the reason behind that.

The secondary characters that made up the Council of Magick were interesting, and I enjoyed the rivalry that was between some of the Council members. I will be reading this lighthearted story again.

Seven Minutes of Seduction

Title: Seven Minutes of Seduction
Author: Afton Locke
Publisher: Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419932977
Genre: {M/F} Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amethyst Nymph

Eliza Worth has no problem with a little hard work. What she does have a problem with is her boss. The man obviously thought she was a machine and nothing ever pleased him. Maybe her letter of resignation would make him happy. It would certainly make Eliza’s life easier. She had to get away from the sexy jerk as soon as possible.

When an old co-worker invites Eliza to a party, it seemed like the perfect opportunity to relieve some stress. After agreeing to play one game before going home, Eliza finds herself locked in a dark room with a stranger. The mystery man does things to her that leaves Eliza weak in the knees and fantasizing more about her boss.

Eliza never lost her cool when he was being demanding, and that made Zach Taunton want to rip off her clothes that much more. Was it desire he glimpsed in her eyes? Work was consuming so much of his life that Zach had no time for anything else, even the mixer he’d just been invited to. Discovering that Eliza was going to be there quickly changed his mind.

I wish everyone’s work day could end as seductively as it did in Seven Minutes of Seduction. This story takes an average day and makes it one of the most memorable that Eliza has ever had. Being unappreciated at work is a feeling with which many of us are familiar. Poor Eliza has the added burden of secretly salivating each time Zach is around. I loved the fact that her attempt to get Zach out of her mind placed Eliza directly in his arms. It was a bit shocking that she didn’t figure out Zach was the man in the room with her, however, considering the circumstances I can understand. I probably wouldn’t be able to remember my own name, after those seven minutes of heaven. There was a bit of a power struggle between Zach and Eliza but in the end, they both win. They make a wonderful team and I think their story will put a smile on your face.

Talker's Redemption

Title: Talker's Redemption
Author: Amy Lane
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Publisher URL: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-61581-742-9
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Tate “Talker” Walker’s life has been a rocky road riddled with one boulder after another but he survived it all. The latest event, that Talker calls “The Worst.Date.Ever”, has more of a grip on him. Even with his boyfriend Brian Cooper’s help, he still has a hard time facing the truth and calling the event by its true name.

Talker and Brian soon learn you can’t escape the past. The things that you may want to bury and forget will soon resurface and if you aren’t lucky, people can get hurt. Will this be the nudge Talker needs to finally face the pain?

Talker's Redemption is Amy Lane’s sequel to Talker. The trauma and fear Talker experienced was felt in each line of this sequel. His desire to not want to face the problem was understandable. But his strength, when it was required, left me pumping my fist. I knew in that moment he wouldn’t willingly become anyone’s victim or allow others to treat him unjustly again. Watching that pain transform into a source of power for Talker to tap into was priceless. Ultimately, his decision and determination to be Brian’s protector was a candid glimpse and pure love and devotion. Those moments made the story that much more enjoyable for me.

Talker's Redemption has a few erotic moments that express the caring and passion of this young couple. I love the road Talker and Brian decided to travel together and hope there is more about Talker in the future. The author has done a great job bringing us this sensitive subject while entertaining us at the same time. Wonderful story, Ms. Lane!

The Perfect Balance

Title: The Perfect Balance
Author: Trina Lane
Publisher: Total E-Bound
Publisher URL: http://www.total-e-bound.com/
ISBN: 978-0-85715-496-5
Genre: {M/M/F} Contemporary
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

When Miranda Harper’s emotionally abusive husband steps over a line she can’t ignore, she leaves her loveless marriage and moves across the country to start a new life. Moving to Boston gives her the chance for friends, a challenging job and real love but it also means opening her heart and learning to trust again.

Doctors Chase Pruitte and Victor Burns have been lovers since medical school and have even occasionally brought a woman into their bed, but they’ve never found one they could mutually commit to. All that changes when Miranda enters their lives and they realize she’s absolutely perfect for them. All they have to do is convince the deeply wounded woman to give them a chance.

The Perfect Balance is release five in Trina Lane’s Perfect Love series and can easily be read as a standalone.

It’s obvious from the beginning that Miranda has suffered greatly at the hands of her abusive husband and Ms. Lane did a nice job expressing her fear and emotional anguish…her skittish nervousness. Miranda’s a very likable woman and despite her desire for Victor and Chase with her deeply rooted problems, I actually expected her to resist another relationship much longer. But unless I totally missed it, the idea of Miranda needing counseling was glossed over. Not just by Miranda herself but by the two doctors in her life.

Chase and Victor make a great couple and they need Miranda to complete their trio, making them a family. They’re kind, tender, loving, supportive, passionate and willing to give the woman they love whatever time she needs to work through her trust issues. I also appreciated how they slowly introduced Miranda to the physical pleasures her husband had denied her all during their marriage—and their thoughtful actions only made me like them more.

There are a couple of interesting twists regarding the ex-husband near the end that make a big impact on her life so look for those. And don’t forget about the satisfying ending. Read and enjoy.

His Client


Title: His Client
Author: Ava March
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: http://www.loose-id.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60737-928-7
Genre: {M/M} BDSM, Historical
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Madame Delacroix's brothel offers a host of services. Nathaniel Travers has become a frequent visitor over the past five years; his itch only scratched by one of the many who offer services at the brothel, Jasper Reed. Their connection has flourished over the years and allows Nathaniel to divulge information he knows cannot be shared with others. Their late meals and conversations have come to mean a great deal to him, but is it enough to help Nathaniel release the feelings he harbors for his best friend, Peter?

After a decade of working at the brothel, Jasper Reed finally has enough means to close this chapter of his life. His only reason for staying has been the visits from Nathaniel. Jasper made the ultimate mistake and fell in love with His Client. Nathaniel’s reaction to news concerning Peter makes Jasper face a truth he never wanted to admit, that the love he feels may never be returned.

Will Jasper get the love he so desperately deserves, or is he destined to enter his new life in the country alone?

Ava March’s historical novels are definitely some of my favorite stories. His Client takes us back to Madame Delacroix's brothel. The staff knows how to do more than just keep their clients sexually charged. They invoke emotions strong enough to fuel their desire for fulfilling relationships with like-minded men.

Jasper’s love of someone deemed unattainable isn’t a new storyline but the presentation makes it well worth the read. It was easy to see that Nathaniel cared for Jasper. Until the veil was lifted from his eyes, he had no idea how deeply those emotions ran. I wasn’t sure if he would let the best thing in his life get away but was happy with his final decision.

The BDSM is light and chock-full of imagery. I could hear the ripping and panting with each sentence. See the stained lips and almost smell the lust floating in the air. I definitely enjoyed His Client and would recommend it to those who read the genre.

Pretty Kitty

Title: Pretty Kitty
Author: Desiree Holt
Publisher: Total E-Bound Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.total-e-bound.com/
ISBN: 978-0-85715-495-8
Genre: {M/F} Paranormal, Shape Shifter
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Rose Nymph

Ever since she was victim to a vicious attack by another member of her pack when she was coming into her first heat, Aisha McClellan has been stuck in limbo. Cast aside by those who should have guided her through her ordeal, she is unable to shift and free the leopard within. The selfish men she keeps reaching out to, in hopes of filling the void, just leave her feeling even more exasperated. If it wasn’t for the connection she feels with the local barman at the club she frequents, she would be completely alone. She needs to find the cat who will finally scratch that itch that has been bothering her for so long.

Max Rogan’s had to sit back and watch as the shifter he’s been fantasizing about for the past 6 months battles her demons from across his bar. Desperate not to lose Aisha’s friendship, he’s turned a blind eye to her dalliances with the local cliental, all the while knowing that it’s a fruitless endeavor on her part. Only he can satisfy her, body, mind and soul.

In Pretty Kitty, a nice sense of anticipation and longing is created between the two main characters with obvious chemistry. The idea of someone kind and strong silently watching out for you, patiently waiting for the chance to be able to prove himself to you, is very erotic to me. I wasn’t disappointed by the way Aisha and Max’s relationship developed; Aisha being able to share her past with him in the hopes of explaining her behavior strengthened their bond greatly. The imagery of someone stuck on the outskirts, not able to feel part of either the human or shifter world, was very well done. I like how the emphasis is on Aisha’s recovery as she moves on from her ordeal and I was very satisfied by the conclusion to this part of her story. As for the future, I see nothing but arousing possibilities for the nine lives of this Pretty Kitty.