Saturday, August 15, 2009

Letting In The Light


Title: Letting In The Light
Author: Fae Sutherland
Publisher: Amber Allure
Publisher URL: http://www.amberquill.com/AmberAllure/
ISBN: 978-1-60272-554-6
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Rowan is a happy-go-lucky drifter who follows his own heart. When the young man makes a morning delivery to the town's recluse, he is instantly intrigued. Even the man's rudeness can’t stop Rowan from thinking about him.

Finn can’t believe the delivery kid stood up to him like he did. Unable to get the kid off his mind, he gives him a 'booty call' and as they say, the rest is history.

Those who love May/December romances are sure to enjoy Letting In The Light by Fae Sutherland. The characters, Rowan, the overly confident, cocky, young drifter and Finn, the older, reclusive author come across realistically. Their attraction is instantaneous and the sex intense. While their relationship does not always flow smoothly, neither does the author bog it down with a lot of angst. I truly enjoyed this story and can not wait to read more from this author.

Instinct


Title: Instinct
Author: Jessica Freely
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: http://www.loose-id.com/
ISBN: 978-1-59632-946-1
Genre: {M/M} Shape-shifter Paranormal
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

Joam is a varnal shapeshifter. He grew up in a small, isolated community and only recently lost his virginity to Blake, a young hustler passing through town. The two quickly became inseparable and are on the run from a power-hungry man who wanted to use them as part of a ritualistic sacrifice. Despite the uncertainty of their existence, Joam can’t keep his hands, and other body parts, off his lover and lifemate, the man driving him out of his mind with desire.

They have more problems than just worrying about being recaptured by the evil Walsh and his henchmen. Joam’s varnal powers are becoming more erratic. He’s shifting without warning, endangering Blake’s life by draining his sexual energy every time they make love. When they’re almost taken by the police, they’re rescued by a group of people dedicated to helping varnals and the humans they love. But the people and circumstances at the farmhouse refuge aren’t as they appear, and if Joam and Blake can’t break away before it’s too late, one or both of them could end up dead…or worse.

Instinct is the second release in Jessica Freely’s ongoing Awakening series and it begins within hours of where Virgin left off. For being together such a short time, Joam and Blake are devoted to each other and Ms. Freely does a nice job describing their ever-growing intimacy and dependence.

Even if these two didn’t have death hanging over their heads, life still wouldn’t be smooth sailing. Blake’s survival as a hustler has left him with deep feelings of insecurity and Joam is young, inexperienced and has out-of-control shifting issues, giving both young men enough emotional baggage to sink any relationship. Yet, the author skillfully negotiates the lovers through their travails, making them stronger personally and as a couple.

The scenes in the farmhouse are the best as Ms. Freely guides our guys through the minefield of pain, insecurity, uncertainty, fear and most importantly, their love. I’m always thrilled when an author manages to surprise me, so I’ll say right now, I wasn’t expecting the ending, and who the villains were going to be. Not to mention there’s a few new characters introduced, and Blake’s newly discovered magical powers…all this should make the next release intriguing.

Publisher's Note: This book contains explicit sexual content, graphic language, and situations that some readers may find objectionable: Anal play/intercourse, exhibitionism, same-sex practices (f/f, m/m), ménage, sex while in shifted animal form, violence (rape of hero by villain), voyeurism.

Windows in Time


Title: Windows in Time
Author: M. Jules Aedin
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Publisher URL: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-61581-026-0
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Jonah broke his leg as he was trying to get rid of his ex's junk. While he is stuck at home, his sister has hired one of her nurses to look in on him while she is on vacation. Expecting to see some woman show up in a nurse's uniform, Jonah is a little shocked by what he gets.

From the photos in his boss's office and the stories she would tell, Liam was already a little infatuated with Jonah. When a chance to meet and care for the man came up, Liam jumped at it. As the two spend time looking into Jonah's unusual neighbor, their feelings and need for each other grows. Yet, for reasons of their own, each is hesitant to make the first move

Author M. Jules Aedin brings us an outstanding book with a feel of Hitchcock's Rear Window. Centering around two couples, one in 1957 and one in 2007, the story bounces back and forth from one couple to the other. While one couple may move at a little faster pace than the other, they are each equally strong. The mystery that involves these two couples will hold the reader’s attention, as much as the romance does.

I do not want to say too much for fear of giving away anything that will ruin this wonderful story. Windows in Time will keep you enthralled from the beginning. In fact, I began to resent any interruption that pulled me away from this book, which leaves you reaching for the Kleenex on more than one occasion. Get Windows in Time. You won't be sorry!

Lion’s Bower




Title: Lion’s Bower
Author: Margaret L. Carter
Publisher: Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419921223
Genre: Medieval Fantasy / Magic {M/F}
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Rose Nymph

When her brother Galen doesn’t return home from his journey to the nearby sorcerer’s domain, Diera decides there’s no option but to go after him; his baby daughter’s life depends on it. Diera is sure Galen has been captured by the sorcerer so plans to offer him a deal – if he lets her brother go with the lifesaving elixir for the baby, she’s take Galen’s place as the sorcerer’s prisoner.

Her relief, when the sorcerer agrees, soon dissipates as she realizes she’ll never see her family and friends again, for she is sure she’ll be slain by the wicked magician. Much to her surprise, it isn’t her blood that he wants but her body. Diera is about to find out that eating fruit from a magical garden doesn’t go unpunished…

I absolutely loved reading Lion’s Bower, with its fantasy and magical setting plus some of the most erotic scenes I’ve read in some time. The magical influence on Diera’s sexual appetite was thrilling to read. The sex never felt out of place and actually added substance to the characterization. I feel that the author got across the kind, caring nature of Diera and the tortured, misunderstood aspects of the sorcerer very well in a short space of time. The writing and plot flowed easily from the rescue mission of Galen to Diera keeping her end of the bargain with the sorcerer to the eventual decision Diera has to make regarding her future. If you are a fan of the genre, I definitely recommend Lion’s Bower and if you’re not, this is the perfect place to start.

Beg For It


Title: Beg For It
Author: Minx Malone
Publisher: Ellora's Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419923593
Genre: {M/F} Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Milo Hamilton and his best friend, Mya Taylor, are ad executives whose competitive nature keeps things interesting at work. Milo has plans for his best friend and is ready to kick their relationship up a notch. He wants Mya in his arms, his bed and in his life as more than just a friend or a casual sexual encounter. The order doesn’t matter as long as it all happens. Milo plans to make the woman who owns his heart Beg For It and demand more.

Minx Malone is an author I plan to watch for in the future. Beg For It has the perfect combination of wit, sensual lovemaking and a believable plot that makes it a great story to read. Milo is runway model striking, with a strong work ethic and an even stronger attraction to Mya. He sees an opportunity to win over the woman of his dreams and goes for it without a second thought. As I learned more about his character, I found myself respecting him more and standing in his corner cheering him on. Mya reminds me of a woman who has allowed society to tarnish how she views herself. I was a tiny bit upset with her, because Mya didn’t see her true beauty and worth. I was happy that Milo had no trouble helping her clear the fog from the mirror and take a closer look. The story starts out full throttle and continues that way until the very end. I recommend Beg For It to those who enjoy the genre.

Thursday, August 13, 2009

Love Me Knots


Title: Love Me Knots
Author: Dee Tenorio
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: # 978-1-60504-666-2
Genre: Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Cipher Prose Nymph

David Ellison and Krista James have a marital contract. But, lately Krista wants more. When a life-changing event occurs, she wonders if David will ever love her and decides simple compatibly is no longer enough.

David has never been one to convey feelings and actually finds them quite confusing to put into words. When his fiancé up and leaves him, he knows he must figure out how to express his love for her or lose her forever.

This book took me on a journey of laughter, tears, sizzling passion, confusion and fuzzy-warm love. I found the characters well defined and rich. A short story with a well defined story line and a lot of bang. An enchanting quick read.

Myrra’s Choice


Title: Myrra’s Choice
Author: Eve Jameson
Publisher: Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419914300
Genre: Paranormal. {m/f}, Suspense
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amazon Nymph

Myrra is caught in an explosion and tossed over a mountain. Brett finds her after having a vision about her and nurses her back to health. Myrra refuses to let any man control her even during sex.

Brett is trying to avenge his brother’s death by finding the man in charge of the weapons smuggling ring. The military thinks Brett is dead, and he is staying that way as he extracts his revenge and gets closer to finding the head of the ring.

Myrra’s Choice was different from the previous books in this series. This story was more about the relationship between Brett and Myrra, who is the Captain for Wyc’s personal guard. This fact and events during her childhood keep her under tight control. Brett breaches her defenses. The suspense and action in this book kept you on your toes. I liked the way Ms. Jameson let their relationship evolve and the way she lets you see Myrra slowly coming to trust Brett.

Brooke’s Sanctuary


Title: Brooke’s Sanctuary
Author: Eve Jameson
Publisher: Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419906091
Genre: Paranormal, {M/F}, BDSM
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amazon Nymph

Brooke is the second of four sisters that are being searched for since her mother disappeared from lIyria. Brooke’s husband is killed by the mob and she ends up being protected by Rordyc Kilth.

Brooke drives Rordyc crazy as she refuses to open up to him and let him both help and protect her. It seems she is being hunted by the mob, as well as the Sleht.

Brooke’s Sanctuary is the second installment of the IIyrian Destiny series. This was a little bit different because the enemy in this story was actually human and the Sleht were mentioned in the background as a threat. Brooke is very insecure, having grown up with no family and constantly holds back because she feels she will be left by the wayside, once Rordyc fulfills his obligations to IIyria. Rordyc and Brooke burn up the sheets with sex so hot, you could melt ice in a blizzard. I can’t wait to read the next one in this series.

Man to Man


Title: Man to Man
Author: G. A. Hauser
Publisher: Phaze Books
Publisher URL: http://www.phaze.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60659-172-7
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Going to work and seeing his ex-boyfriend every day soon causes Josh to realize that it is time for a change. Trying out for a position as lifeguard on one of California's many beaches means a lot of hard work and study, but Josh thinks it's just what he needs. The fact that he meets Tanner is just an extra bonus.

Tanner is getting over a divorce and doesn't have any desire to start dating co-workers but if he doesn't get laid soon, he may just have to. Watching the new recruits, he is impressed with Josh and is glad to be mentoring him, once training is over. Now if he can just figure out why he can't get Josh off his mind.

Man To Man, book one of the Hero series, has just joined Naked Dragon as one of my favorite G. A. Hauser books. This story gives us a peek into the lives of California's lifeguards as Josh, a young man in need of change, leaves the life he knew to become a lifeguard. After making it through the grueling training, he is paired with Tanner. The chemistry between these two is so strong and instantaneous that it is hard to believe they made it through their first shift together. The author pulls the reader along as Tanner fights his growing feelings for Josh, and Josh tries to decide if it is worth pursuing a relationship with a 'straight' man. I cheered when Tanner, not only comes out, but lets his co-workers know just who Josh belongs to. Fans of Ms. Hauser will love this new book and anyone thinking of trying her will find this a great book to start.

Gaven


Title: Gaven
Author: J.C. Owens
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: http://www.loose-id.com/
ISBN: 978-1-59632-955-3
Genre: {M/M} LGBT Fantasy Paranormal
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Gaven has known loneliness and pain, as few have experienced. The attack and then death of his people has Gaven wishing for a quick death by the Masarians’ hands, but what he receives is a father and a new way of life. To gain an enemy as a father is a tough pill to swallow, however to learn that he is to take a male lover is worse than death. Gaven struggles with the changes in his life, but will he be strong enough to endure what is expected?

J.C. Owens’ Gaven took over my senses from the first sentence. Reading this book through Gaven’s eyes while experiencing the sights and sounds of his surroundings, I could do nothing less but feel his fear and pain. To have everything you considered home taken in a blink of an eye pulled at my heartstrings, almost as much as the realization of what the Masarians’ ritual to becoming a warrior would mean to Gaven. Here is an opportunity to have what he wanted the most, a family and friends to love him but was the price to high?

I’ll admit some of the characters had my blood running cold, and I could understand each of Gaven’s actions and reactions. I could also feel that moment when he finally decided what was more important to him; his pride or an end to his lonely existence. The theme of the story slightly reminds me of Greek history, in particular the Cretan rites, where older men were in charge of training. While I’m not sure if J.C. Owens used this particular part of history to create Gaven, it reminded me of the rites with a twist of having consenting adults go through the process. There were a few tense moments for me, but again the author’s fantastic writing ability handled my discomfort by smoothly transitioning into another scene. This was a fascinating story and I plan to keep J.C. Owens on my list of author’s who shouldn’t be passed up. If you haven’t read Gaven, pick up a copy - you are in for a treat.

Monday, August 10, 2009

Miami Steam


Title: Miami Steam
Author: Chantal Verlaine
Publisher: Liquid Silver Books
Publisher URL: http://www.liquidsilverbooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-59578-558-9
Genre: Contemporary {M/F} Crime Thriller
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Rose Nymph

Rebecca Challenger is a reporter for the Miami Star newspaper and is constantly on the lookout for that one big story to get her to the top. She’s paid her dues, including working with a certain stubborn, journalist-hating cop to get to the bottom of crimes, all in the hopes of getting where she really wants to be – features writer. Helping to catch the “Night Knifer”, a sadistic, crazed serial killer targeting certain women’s “clientele” could be just what she’s looking for.

Detective Rick Gonzalez has never liked reporters, ever since one of them single-handedly ruined months of undercover work. In his mind all they ever do is misquote people, sensationalize events and report information inaccurately. If it were up to him, he wouldn’t be sitting opposite Ms Challenger, allowing her to see confidential reports on the killer’s motives. Yet there she is, looking as beautiful and ravishing as ever. He knows deep down the chief is right – if Rebecca’s on board, information about the killer will spread rapidly and hopefully they’ll catch a lead. Rick doesn’t have to be happy about it though, or pleasant to the woman, however much his body reacts to her.

As Rebecca and Rick find an uneasy alliance, they start to see the spoils of their hard work and Rick doesn’t seem quite so cold towards her anymore. As feelings start to intensify, Rebecca thinks maybe she and Rick could make things work after all, until she hears some unpleasant rumors about the detective. How could she have been so stupid? She’ll have to keep her focus though, as it seems the serial killer has found his next target…

Miami Steam is an exciting story packed full of suspense and electricity between two strong, stubborn characters. The background to both characters was set up nicely, the uneasy truce they have is realistic and setting the scene for romance. I loved the mixture of a police department and newspaper office and there was plenty of drama in both settings. The serial killer plot played out nicely, with twists and turns keeping me guessing. The chemistry between Rick and Rebecca was scorching and it was fun to ride along with them as they learned more about each other. The style of writing was easy to read but felt a little clichéd at times and the fact that Rebecca was willing to base her relationship with Rick on the gossiping of strangers didn’t really sit well with me. However, Rick did call her on this when they eventually started talking honestly and it was enjoyable to follow their ups and downs until the very end.

Berdache




Title: Berdache
Author: Lena Austin
Publisher: Aspen Mountain Press
Publisher URL: http://www.aspenmountainpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60168-223-9
Genre: Western {M/M} {M/M/F}
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Red Wolf returns from hunting and finds another man in his wife’s lodge. Realizing that he has been divorced, he takes his hunting bounty to his friend Lizard, who is the tribe’s much respected male two-spirited shaman. Red Wolf is not upset with his wife for choosing another; his anger comes from the stigma of being disgraced in the eyes of the tribe, but Lizard knows the true cause of Red Wolf’s troubles and welcomes him into his lodge so that he can convince the proud warrior to take the shaman training, before all is lost.

Berdache is a story of mutually spiritual and physical love, as well as the connection between human spirit and animal spirit guides. Because Lizard is a male Berdache, embodied with the female and male spirit, he is honored by the Choctaw and other tribes. Lizard is also gifted with all manner of healing which elevates his status to a much-sought-after shaman. The one thing that is missing from his life is being allowed to express his love for Red Wolf.


From early childhood Red Wolf has been instilled with the ways of a warrior. It is not until he is rejected by his wife and a visit to the beautiful Chickasaw slave named Born in Moonlight that Red Wolf becomes aware of his true destiny. The amazing Lena Austin delivers a love story interwoven with some of the Native American cultural beliefs of how love is a dual joining of mind and body, in addition to how destiny is foretold by the spirit if we choose to follow the path. Berdache is an extraordinarily heartwarming and well written saga that I thoroughly enjoyed.

Nowhere Diner: Finding Love


Title: Nowhere Diner: Finding Love
Author: T. A. Chase
Publisher: Amber Allure
Publisher URL: http://www.amberquill.com/AmberAllure
ISBN: 978-1-60272-552-2
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Timothy Gapin decides his hometown in Minnesota is too small for him and his newlywed former lover. Keeping their affair a secret wasn’t as painful as facing a future without the love of his life. However, Tim proves he’s made of stronger stuff and gets on a bus heading away from his heartbreak.

Long-haul trucker Bernie Capley is usually pursued and not the pursuer. Discovering the attraction he feels for Tim is mutual, makes Bernie want to take his time and get to know the younger man. Tim knows Bernie is hiding something and while he’s nervous about giving him a chance, Bernie finds ways to keep his fears from escalating. Has Tim found a place to call home?

T. A. Chase’s Nowhere Diner: Finding Love is the first book of the Nowhere Diner series. We watch this story unfold through Tim’s view, but that doesn’t mean we aren’t privy to the other characters feelings. I could sense their anguish, love, pain, and uncertainty, thanks to T. A. Chase’s excellent writing style. These fascinating characters keep the story flowing from the first line to the final period. Everyone has their own unique reason for being in the diner and we gain just enough input to hope for future stories, where they find love and happiness.

Tim finally examines his past and begins his healing process. Bernie’s story isn’t quite what I expected. Not having a clear angle on his motives or motivation made the story more interesting. After Bernie shares his past, it all began to click into place for me. I finally understood what propels him and why he refuses to take life for granted. I gained more respect for him after each passing chapter, and knew that Tim was in safe hands. T. A. Chase has written another fantastic story and I am looking forward to reading the next book in the Nowhere Diner series.

Schooled


Title: Schooled
Author: RaeLynn Blue
Publisher: Phaze Books
Publisher URL: http://www.phaze.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60659-175-8
Genre: Contemporary I/R {M/F}
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amethyst Nymph


Harper Perry had a throbbing headache from working through a Parent/Teacher conference. As always, getting in touch with the parents of her worst student was impossible. They never came to these events. Harper was giving up hope when she spotted a man with grayish blue eyes and tight jeans.

Nathan Pearson is a construction worker and father, who has a strained relationship with his son. Though he was gone for many years of the boy’s life, Nathan is back and wants desperately to be the best father he can. Talking to his son’s teachers seems like the best place to start with a positive change.

Harper was drawn to Nathan, even though she was concerned about dating the parent of a student. After meeting the language arts teacher, Nathan is positive about wanting to bury himself between her caramel thighs. Still, he was hesitant to approach Harper with his true feelings. Nathan needed something good in his life, and he knew that Harper was perfect. How could they stay away from one another, when the attraction was so intense?

The road to “happily ever after” is often paved with bumps and potholes. Being in love doesn’t erase the harsh facts of reality, but at the same time, reality doesn’t have to dampen the happiness of a couple. Schooled is this kind of story and RaeLynn Blue is an expert at making real people and real life enticing and hot. A construction worker with a tainted past and a middle aged teacher had me praying and cheering at the same time. Yes, I was thrilled that Harper found love, but honestly I was so much happier for Nathan. Between his ex-wife, his son and his past, Nathan had a lot of difficulties on his plate. The ex-wife is a piece of work and if I could have jumped into the pages and strangled her, I would have. To see a good man dealing with such a mundane life broke my heart. When Nathan met Harper, I literally saw the sun shining on him and I felt Harper open her mind. I felt hope blossom as if I were a main character in this story. It was touch-and-go for a while, but Harper was able to forgive Nathan and even make progress with his son. If you’re a true lover of romance and you don’t read Schooled, then you deserve to have your reading license suspended.

Flight


Title: Flight
Author: Nicki Bennett
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Publisher URL: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-61581-007-9
Genre: Fantasy / Paranormal {M/M}
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Rose Nymph

Varan may have broken free from the violence and cruelty of his captors but he’s been left scarred by the atrocities he has seen; his own family falling victim to the slavers. Now, alone on a strange, dangerous planet, the searing heat and lack of food and water threatening to be the end of him, all Varan can do is try to survive each day as it comes. All hope seemed lost until his path took him to an exotic creature lying injured in the barren desert. Varan never realized how alone he felt until he had someone to care for once again and slowly, he and his new companion learn to work together, each of them finding the will to live and love again.

Flight is the story of love being found when least expected, in a setting full of vivid and fantastical imagery. Varan’s loneliness and heartache is subtle, his strength of character to survive admirable. When he meets his future companion, Varan’s relief and surprise at his own emotions were captivating, the chemistry and deepening relationship between them a joy to read. The style of writing allowed me to immerse myself in a story so well written that I didn’t even notice that for a majority of the story there were only two characters involved. The blossoming romance between the pair alone was enough to keep me reading but add to that, an interesting plot of alien races, foreign technology and the threat of an ominously absent villain and the result was a wonderful experience of escapism.

My Brother’s Keeper


Title: My Brother’s Keeper
Author: Abigail Roux
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Publisher URL: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-61581-045-1
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Mystery, Suspense
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

The owner and director of The Country Club of Coral Gables, Reggie Bainbridge, dies unexpectedly after weeks of what everyone believes is excessive alcohol ingestion. His death leaves his two sons, Brayden and Addison, to deal with picking up the pieces. That means running their lucrative business, smoothing ruffled members feathers and dealing with two inquisitive detectives when they come knocking on the door with accusations of murder. Someone in their wealthy, exclusive circle of friends and clients is playing a masterful game of chess, moving pieces in a seemingly random pattern to keep one move ahead of the police. As the investigation continues, Addison and Brayden realize that if they don’t want to end up in jail for their father’s murder, they need to start playing the game. What is the reason for their father’s death? Is the culprit a stranger or someone they know? Is the murderer a country club member, an employee or could it even be one of the brothers? The police are intent on an arrest, making the two brothers pawns in a game they need to win at all costs.

My Brother’s Keeper is a complex mystery/suspense, filled with numerous interesting characters and so many twists and turns that sometimes I couldn’t keep them straight. It starts as so many books of the same genre do, with the death of the victim, Reggie Bainbridge, the arrogant and overbearing father of Brayden and Addison. I admit I didn’t know what to expect at the beginning of this book. The sons appeared to accept that their father had drunk himself to death, and seem surprised, when the police showed up on their doorstep with the information that anti-freeze poisoning had killed him. From this point on, the twist and turns begin.

I’m not going to divulge the circumstances of why the disagreeable Reggie was murdered, the clues the police follow or even what they do to the brothers. That would give away too much of the plot and more importantly, the ending. Suffice it to say, that when the identity (or identities) of the perpetrator(s) is/are revealed, I wasn’t expecting it, not at all, which I loved. I want a mystery writer to keep me guessing, and call me crazy, but I don’t necessarily want the plot to be so straightforward that I can figure out who the villain is. To me the sign of a good mystery/suspense writer is the ability to develop strong/intriguing characters, a realistic and plausible scenario and a method of death not frequently used. Then wrap it up in a well-written, complicated plot that leads me on a fast-paced rollercoaster ride, as I follow the suspects and police, trying to figure out the villain before the end.

Please do be aware that if you’re expecting lots of hot M/M sex, you’re going to be disappointed. Aside from a rather small scene between Addison, his boyfriend, Micah, and some cocaine near the beginning, there isn’t any. References to being gay, yes, more sex, no. This book is truly, what it says in the genre heading, the gay relationship playing a minor insignificant role.

Bad Angels: Burn


Title: Bad Angels: Burn
Author: Belinda McBride
Publisher: Changeling Press
Publisher URL: http://www.changelingpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60521-259-3
Genre: {M/M} {M/F} {M/M/F}, Paranormal, Dark Fantasy, Urban Fantasy
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

For over a century, Rex Clark and Rion Hunter have lived as lovers. Rion hates sharing Rex with the succubus Anahita but he begins to view her differently, after she comes to Rex’s aid. Rion knows he could have lost his lover more than once if it hadn’t been for Anahita’s help.

A local doctor, Noemi Gastineau, is helping Rion care for Rex’s injuries. The accident adds to their list of unanswered questions. Noemi sheds light on the demon currently causing havoc in the area; however, Rex must first heal before they can eliminate the threat. Their mutual attraction adds to the mystery surrounding Rion’s past, but it won’t dampen the fire burning between them.

Belinda McBride’s Bad Angels: Burn is the second story in the Bad Angels series. Over the years, Rion and Rex’s bond has strengthened. They still only want the best for one another and are willing to make sacrifices for love. I was pleasantly surprised to see Rion give Anahita the credit she was due for her efforts in saving Rex. Anahita, tossing pride aside and concentrating on Rex’s health, helped me gain respect for the succubus. Noemi is a strong character with more than a few of her own unanswered questions. Her personality compliments the couple’s, while adding spice. The twists and ending will have you begging for the next installment. I found Bad Angels: Burn more than enjoyable, thanks to the well-written plot and sensually laced encounters.