Tuesday, September 20, 2011

Rugged Glimpse

Title:  Rugged Glimpse
Author:  Edith DuBois
Publisher:  Siren Bookstrand
ISBN:  1-61034-764-1
Genre:  {M/F/M}, Shape-shifter, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph 

Because of an incident with her former boyfriend, Elena arrives in Savage Valley to try to jump start a new career.  Joseph and Caleb see her and realize she is their mate, but will have to convince her to stay. 

Rugged Glimpse is the first book in the Rugged Savage Valley, Colorado series.  This book is a little intense, emotionally, as Elena tries to start over.  The mating situation with the bear shifters is different than some stories about other shifters.  I thought the author did a beautiful job trying to explain how a bear could lose his mate before he actually claimed her.  Once Elena, Joseph and Caleb get together, things heat up. 

Land use issues are at the heart of the suspense in the story.  While everyone tries to keep Savage Valley rural and a safe haven for shifters, as well as bringing some modernization to the town, residents want to keep developers out.  This author kept me up reading most of the night with this story.  I couldn’t wait to find out how some of Elena’s issues resolved and how she would accept Joseph and Caleb, once she found out they were shifters.  I look forward to reading about the rest of the shifters in future stories. 

The publisher indicates to the reader that there are two different series within the Savage Valley, Colorado collection; I found reading this story that it references The Pride of Savage Valley, Colorado series quite a bit in this story.  In this reviewer’s opinion, a reader needs to read both series concurrently, with the first book in the Pride series being read first before reading Rugged Glimpse.  There is a lot of crossover in this story with that one. 

Publisher Note: There are two different series in the Savage Valley, Colorado collection. The Pride of Savage Valley series by Helena Ray is mountain lion-shifters. Rugged Savage Valley by Edith Dubois is bear-shifters. Each book features a different romantic trio or quartet. Even though the two series take place in the same setting with crossover characters and share an external story arc, each of the series can stand alone.

No comments: